We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingswood Hotel Citywest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kingswood Hotel Citywest to your Saves list
Kingswood Hotel Citywest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingswood Village, Nass Road, Dublin 22, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel Citywest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just back from the Meldron Hotel Citywest yesterday. Had a lovely stay, staff were lovely and helpful. The snack menu in the hotel was fab all the food was lovely and well presented. Food in the bar across the way was lovely too, great value for money! Was worried about the position as alot of reviews said the hotel was very far away from dublin city centre. It wasnt as bad as made out to be. It cost about 20-25 euros and the laus tram stop was just up the road which is a straight road and the girls have a map at reception if needed. Loved my stay the rooms were gorgeous and quiet and had no hassle at all. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh F, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel Citywest, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kerri M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your feedback with the team here also.

We look forward to welcoming you back...hopefully soon!

Regards,

Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    83
    56
    24
    16
See reviews for
55
98
20
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cloghroe, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

went to the maldron hotel with 10 friends
the bedrooms were adverage size, tv had good channels, room was dull, beds were plain and the entire room smelt like smoke when we requested a non-smoking room.
breakfast was good enough, asked for a wake-up call and we recieved it
overall a mediocre experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, clean spacious rooms.
Nice breakfast good selection & variety. Secure parking.
Great restaurant Kingswood House right next door.
Only negative very small residents bar.

Room Tip: Pick a room not over the kings woods bar as can be noisy till early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have booked a Hotel in Dublin City Center but when we arrived it was terrible therefore left for an alternative to get some rest. We found this hotel on booking.com it was around 12 at night we still payed the full price also were asked to pay up front which was fair enough the hotel was deserted as we had some drinks and snacks in reception area. The rooms are nice and clean it's a new enough hotel with safe and free parking. The only bad comment is the breakfast was terrible nothing fresh the chef would go to the buffet and add 2 or 3 more sossages or rashers.
The fruit salad was gone off for sure even the looks of it. Otherwise it was ok

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Our room was facing the motorway, the room was very warm even with heating off. When I opened the window I couldn't have a conversation with my children due to the excessive noise from passing traffic, reception gave me a fan which was fine but not really my idea of a comfortable stay.
The hotel and room was very clean and the bar food and service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room we had was a large double room, lots of natural light. Big bathroom, clean towels. Room had a good amount of space as it was a bit away from the elevator. Easy check in and parking. There was a party in the adjoining function room so we wandered out and the people were nice and friendly! It was a Saturday night so I would recommend requesting a quiet room if you don't intend to join them until approx. 1am. There is a luas tram which brings you to the city centre but we did not use this service. Overall, you are in your own little hotel community far outside the city near the motorway, which suited us fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphoe, Donegal, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Firstly I must say that the room was very nice, and very clean. The breakfast was also lovely.

On the Friday night we went for dinner to the Kingswood Restaurant. We could not have a drink in the bar as there were two private functions on. We had to sit in a small dark room that smelt of bleach.

Because of the two functions there was loud music playing to around 1.30 that night which prevented us from sleeping.

We ate in the city centre on the Saturday night.

On the Sunday night we went to the Kingswood Restaurant at 7 o clock, only to be told that we could not eat there as it was booked out. We went to reception to see what the situation was . They handed us a take away menu and told us to choose from that. Otherwise the nearest restaurant was a half an hours walk away. They said the The Kingswood was a separate company, and that was beyond their control. It states clearly in the website that there is a bar and restaurant.

We wanted to have a few drinks on thee Sunday evening also but could not go to the bar as there as another private function-A Traveller Christening. We had to sit in the reception area of the hotel and walk to and fro for drinks.

If that was not bad enough we were awoken around 1.30 by the travellers fighting outside. The Gardaí were also there.

We made our dissatisfaction know to the manager on the day we were leaving but she did not do anything , or even apologise for our horrendous stay at the hotel. We were not the only people who complained on that morning, the manager described the meeting room as her ‘board room for the day’.

So two terrible nights sleep and no dinner on one evening was not a very successful stay?

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and never have had an experience like this. Dominoes and a Chinese takeaway delivering to a hotel is not very appealing place.

I would never recommend any of my family or friends to stay in your hotel again

Room Tip: Don't get a room opposite the Kingswood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh F, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel Citywest, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Aisling B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor.

Our guest feedback is really important to us here as is allows us to constantly review our standards & procedures and make improvements where necessary.

Since your review I have been in contact direct with you via email and spoke your boyfriend on the phone.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingswood Hotel Citywest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Hotel Citywest

Address: Kingswood Village, Nass Road, Dublin 22, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel Citywest)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#40 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingswood Hotel Citywest 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb hotel in Citywest is located on the Naas Road (N7), just 9 KMs from Dublin city centre. The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. The bedrooms are spacious and modern and have all the expected amenities. Stir Cafe serves breakfast each morning & evening meals Monday-Saturday from 5.30Pm-9pm. Enjoy a drink from our bar and relax in our lounge area. The Hotel has free WiFi access throughout the building. The Kingswood Hotel Citywest is accessible for travelling to the South, Dublin Airport and the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kingswood Hotel Citywest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Dublin Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingswood Hotel Citywest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.