We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griffith House

Save Saved
You added Griffith House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griffith House
125 Griffith Avenue | Drumcondra, Dublin Dublin 9, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
München
1 review
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Griffith house B&B is situated between the city centre and the airport, and in walking distance of croke park stadium. The location of this bed and breakfast is simply suberb. I found Ou Maguire to be very helpfull, and went above and beyond to make sure our weekend in Dublin was pleasant, for example dropping us to restaurants when they were too close to get a taxi, yet too far to walk in the irish weather. However during our stay, the B&B was full, so prior to breakfast we had to book a table with the maguires stating what time to expect us at in the morning. With this the breakfast was delicious, and large- highly reccomending the full irish breakfast. The house is very tastefully decorated, and the room we stayed in was spacious and bright. I would also like to commend Ou on how clean she keeps the house, especially our room. With a flat screen tv in the room, I found the room to be great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
20
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

A very pleasant stay indeed. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean, comfortable and exactly as represented on the website photos. Handy location too. We had a rental car and we braved the drive into Dublin (although it's very easy and saves a lot of parking hassles to take the bus). Having said that we went straight back to the car hire place and took out extra insurance at the end of our first day, as we experienced a fair bit of maniacal driving! Ou McGuire, our hostess was absolutely lovely. She was at great pains to let us know we needed to book a time for breakfast, as the dining room couldn't accommodate all the guests at once. She gave us a few time slots to choose from, so it absolutely was not a problem. The breakfast was lovely and a perfect start to our Irish travels.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We had a great stay here - the room had lots of space & was very clean. Location excellent - a lovely 5 min walk to the bus stop along a tree-lined street. Because this B&B is not right on a busy street, it was really quiet at night.

Breakfast was wonderful, Mrs. Maguire is a true hostess. She went above & beyond by offering to keep my husband's bulky golf bag at their house while we toured around western Ireland for a week.

We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Mrs Maguire's breakfasts
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The room was quite clean, spacious and comfortable, with ensuite, tv and coffee/tea making facility.

We had Irish breakfast at this BB. We were also offered to make use of the kitchen facilities because we had an early departure. The hosts were helfpul how to go to the city centre and get back to the BB.

The BB is located about 20-25 minutes away from O Connell street by bus. There is a bus stage in the vicinity of this BB. You ll have to go on your left, turn right at the first zebra cross and you ll find the bus stage. You'll have to ride bus no 123 and prepare exact fare (1.50 Euros for an adult and 75 cents for a child) otherwise you won't be allowed to get on the bus.

  • Liked — nice location, spacious room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

This B&B was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there in June 2007. It is approx. half-way between the airport and city centre and took about 20 minutes to get there from the airport. The room and bed were fine and the ensuite clean. We had a full Irish breakfast + cereal each morning. Overall we were very happy with Griffith House and we'll stay there again next time we are in Ireland.
I'm enclosing a photo of our room.

  • Liked — Great location, nice and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

The location of this B&B is fine, it's on the right side of the city for the airport and the airport bus runs very close. The main drawback is that the dining room doesn't have enough tables for the number of rooms and so don't expect to get a breakfast, I found a lovely coffee shop round the corner which did a good breakfast, even so it's disapointing.

But it's clean, on a nice tree-lined street away from the crowds within easy reach of the city and so decent value for money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The lack of breakfast facilities
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

The Griffith House is just outside of Dublin, but only a block from a bus stop which can take you into city centre (you don't want to drive into Dublin!)

The rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable. Hostess helpful. Coffee was great! Our family of 5 stayed here in 2 rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Griffith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffith House

Address: 125 Griffith Avenue | Drumcondra, Dublin Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B built at the turn of the century, has been tastefully renovated with only comfort in mind; from its private gardens to its comfortable rooms. Approved by the Irish Tourist Board since 1994 and our family home since 1981. Located on Griffith Avenue in Drumcondra, which is 10 minutes by bus from city center (bus every 7 minutes), 15 minutes by bus from Dublin Airport, 10 minute drive from Dublin port with easy access to M50. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Griffith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffith House Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffith House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.