We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun to your Saves list
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 11, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Madrid
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We were looking for a cheap airport hotel. This place is halfway between the airport and the city center, which are about 7 miles apart. The taxi driver was very surprised this was labeled an airport hotel; but it is pretty easily accessible (it was a 15 euro cab ride from the airport). There's also a bus stop practically right in front of the hotel, and it's a 1.60, 20-35 minute ride to the city center.

Ballymun is not the nicest area, but it's evident that there's a lot of work in progress to try to improve it. The hotel itself is in the nicest area of it, with a handy shopping center (including a supermarket and a Little Caesar's) right across the way. We didn't feel unsafe at all. Service was pretty good. Rooms were clean and comfortable, although there was no hairdryer and some minor fixes would be good for the room we stayed in, 409 (the bathroom light flickered and the toilet paper holder was hanging by one screw, causing the roll to fall off). Overall, it was amazing value for the price we paid (cheaper than a hostel!).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
Hi There,

Thank you for writing your positive review about our hotel.

The area of Ballymun is currently under a multi billion euro regeneration project. In the last year a new fitness centre & new shopping centre was built in the area.
I have notified the hotel manager of the few issue you listed with your room.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    160
    103
    55
    52
See reviews for
86
171
51
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a long weekend in Dublin. Stayed on the 4th Floor which was probably quieter than the lower floors although we still got woken in the early hours by doors banging and revellers shouting out to each other.

Room was clean though and nicely decorated, although they had only left enough towels for 1 person even though the room had been booked for 2 people and there was only 1 mug for tea/coffee.

The hotel is about a 20 minute bus journey from Dublin city centre. And 10 minutes from the airport. A taxi from/to the airport will cost about 15 euros. If travelling to Dublin by airplane and you are staying 3 days, then it is definately worth buying the 3 day 'Freedom Bus Ticket' for 25 euros from the airport which allows you to travel on the airlink buses to and from the airport into Dublin and be able to use the 'hop on-hop off' city tour bus for the 3 days. And as you can't check into the hotel until 2pm then if you arrive in Dublin in the morning as we did then take your luggage into Dublin and use the left luggage facility at the 'Global Internet Cafe' on O'Connell Street not far from the bridge, which will cost you 3,95 euros as opposed to 6,75 euros at the airport. Plus you can get either Bus 4, 4a or 13 to the hotel.

The best part of the weekend was our visit to the Guinness Storehouse and well worth a visit.

Highly recommend eating at 'Mexico to Rome' which offered a variety of Mexican, Spanish and Italian food, and a very traditional Irish restaurant 'Gogarty's' both on the main Temple Bar Street.

All in all it was a very enjoyable weekend and the guinness really does taste better over there!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay in Dublin.

Please accept my apoligues for the lack of towels etc.
I have noted this with the general manager.

We do hope to see you agian soon.

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Booked this for some ridiculously low rate on Expedia for a weekend in Dublin. It's very posh for a travelodge - the service etc is pretty much no frills but still pleasant and helpful. Great rooms (better than many top class hotels). Can be some, er, eclectic customers like the guy who was playing an accordion at 8am but that's groups I suppose.

Most of the very negative reviews here are a bit harsh. It's not in D4, but some of the write ups make it sound like the Shankill Road in 1982 with sniper crossfire. It's fine, and the bus stop is only twenty metres from the front doot.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
Hi there,

Thank you for writing your positive review about our hotel. They are always welcome!
We are glad you could avail of our great offers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Me and 5 other girls [ all 21] booked to stay at the hotel for 2 nights a while ago so only paid 39 euros per room per night! BARGAIN!

reading previous reviews we were a bit worried about the area as just 6 young girls could be dangerous however there is little to worry about as long as you keep safe as you would do anywere! the area surrounding the hotel is what i would call rough..... most of the people looked quiet scary and intimading. One night we wanted something to drink so popped to the tesco [ opposit the hotel] inside the center was very dark and full of wierd men however no one actually said anything to any of us . id reccomend staying in groups of 3 or more if you are going out at night.however in the daytime it is fine and much similar to regeneration/suburbs areas in most citys in Uk like bham and manchester.

we arrived at the hotel at 9am and asked to get early check in for one of are rooms[211] so we could go i get changed and go out ...this only cost 10 euros which is fab!!! [expecially divided by 6] the room as gorgeous!!!!!!!!! we were expecting the normal travel lodge standard of a sofa bed but there was a double and a single bed in the room , lovely and comfy!!!!! a thin screen tv , iron and ironing board, table and chairs etc.. lovely decorated!!!!!
&coffee and tea making facilities.The showers were always hot and really powerful. we all commented on how nice it was !!!
the heating in the rooms are fab you turn the dial to whatever level you want. :)


the only problem was each room only had 2 towels and 2 cups although we did book for 3 adults but a quick chat with the [very friendly!] reception staff and this was sorted in no time :) as well as extra teabags/milk etc

The second room[215] was as nice as the first one except it looked as if the irnong board had been ripped off the wall [ just screws left] but we just used the other rooms.also when you had a shower the water seemed to get alllll over the floor [ maybe a crack in a tile or something[?]

the staff at the hotel are soooo polite and helpful :):) i cant fault them at all!!! the young blonde short haired cleaner is a credit to the place she was so nice and even gave us her own mug from the staff room in the morning when we needed a spare! [ if the manager reads this please pass on are good review!]

the hotel was super quiet so you got a good nights sleep , and even though we came back at 4am one night probably a bit loud the staff remained lovely!!!

we did not use the food facilities or the bar so cannot comment on them.

the buses are regular and cheap we all bought a 25 euro 3 day pass from the tourist info for all dublin buses and the tour bus which usually costs 15 euros anyway! id reccomend it you learn alot about dublin and get to see the city :) the ticket can also be used on the night bus which we used the night we went out . the number 42 i think it was :) and runs all fri and saturday night [ much cheaper than a cab!] and on the air link so you save alot of money!


id reccomend the cafe in town for breakfast! 4 items plus toast and coffee or tea al for 4.95!!!!!! its on o'conner street opposit primark on the corner :) bargain and always lovely we went there every morning!


go to the Guinness storehouse it was one of the higlights of the trip even though none of us usually drink it haha! it is well worth the money! and the pints are cheaper in the bar than most places in dublin! after looking round we stayed in the roof top bar [ FANTASTIC views of the whole city- just amazing!] all afternoon and the women working on the bar even got everyone to sing happy birthday to us twice!!! [ 3 of us were celebrating turning 21] You recieve a free taster [ 1/4 of a pint halfway up the tour then another full pint at the top ....my friends commented how nice it tasted , much more smooth and light than in the uk!!

we gota taxi from the airport to the hotel and it cost us 60 euros[ only took ten mins!]! which we thought was alot but hey! you cannot get a bus striaght to this travel lodge but you could get a bus to town then gtet a bus from town to the hotel if money was tight.

overall we all had an amzing time in Dublin and many thanks to all the staff at the travel lodge :) we shall be back :)

  • Liked — the rooms were fantatstic like a 4star i stayed in recently! and the staff!!!!!!!!!! a credit to the place!
  • Disliked — the location [ forgot to add its 15 min bus to town]
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, responded to this review, February 17, 2009
Hi Girls,

Thank you for taking the time to write your postive review about our hotel.
They are always welcome!

As you said in your review the Ballymun Area is currently under regeneration. In the last year there has been excellent work completed including a new gym, swimming pool and a shopping centre.

I've sent your comment regarding room 215 to the hotel manager. She advised me the Ironing board in this room has already been fixed. She will ensure our maintanace man checks the shower tiles.
Thanks, we can not improve unless we get feedback from our guests.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. They are greatly appreciated.

Finally, Did you really get charged Eur60 from Dublin Airport to our Hotel? Usually the most it costs in a taxi is Eur14.
If you would like me to look into this further for you please do not hestitate to contact me at the hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields - North East
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

A group of 5 girls aged 19 to 23 stayed at this hotel for a cheap weekend away. Couldn't find anything to complain about! When we arrived, the check in was fast and the receptionist was really nice! She even re-arranged the rooms so our party were next door to each other. The rooms were beautiful and well sized. Couldn't believe it was a travelodge. You can get the number 4 bus from Dublin City centre for 1,60 which takes about 20 minutes and drops you off pretty much at the door! If you're getting a taxi into the centre, will cost about 15,00. Receptionists are very patient with drunk people - even giving out takeaway menu's so you can order in! Thanks for the great stay!!

Oh by the way... if you're going to Dublin City centre from the airport, you can get the public bus for 2,20 rather than paying 6,00 for the coach. Much cheaper!!!

  • Liked — The quality of rooms and the nice staff!
  • Disliked — Location.. not the best but public transport on your doorstep!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, responded to this review, February 5, 2009
Hi Guys,

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
All our staff really apprecate your kind words.

See you again soon,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

I must preface this review by saying that we've spent ten days in Ireland and everywhere we've stayed so far has been wonderful. Until, that is, we arrived at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun. This was the only place we booked throughout our stay without checking reviews prior. Be warned. We were lured by the cheap rate and it's proximity to the airport as we had a very early flight the next morning. If you stay here, whatever you do, do not follow the directions on the hotel website. Totally inaccurate. So inaccurate that we ended up in the back of beyond and had to stop off at another hotel to ask directions. Hilariously, we bumped into two other couples who were experiencing the same problems (all of us brandishing the directions we'd printed off the internet). We then drove in convoy after deciphering our own directions. We arrived at Ballymun to quite disinterested service 'making a note' of our feedback re directions. It took us over one hour to get to a place which is only ten minutes away from the airport! Granted, the rooms are brand spanking new and lovely, which is one point in it's favour, but the water in our (first) room was undrinkable, although the one we were moved to was absolutely fine. The bar/restaurant was gougingly overpriced (not to mention low on atmosphere with dreadful service), which is fine if you've got the money - but if you have....spend it at the Radison SAS which is GENUINELY a hop skip and a jump away from the airport (and where we had a very pleasant meal). The location was also pretty scary. There was a random horse wandering the streets outside the hotel! There were also lots of aggressive young people who were totally 'out of it' and pretty dire flats right behind the Travelodge. I felt for the staff, as for the most part they were pretty friendly and were having to deal with a lot of flak from unhappy customers both as we checked in and when we checked out. It was a very disappointing last night in Ireland for us - but fortunately we're big and ugly enough not to let it taint our view of an otherwise gorgeous country!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodeg Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, responded to this review, February 5, 2009
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We can never improve unless we get feedback from our customers.

Can you contact me at the hotel and advise me what website you took the directions from? I will ensure the information is corrected immediately. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused to you.

The Ballymun area is part of a milti billion euro regeneration project. The flats you seen are due to be demolished soon.Over the past couple of months there has been excellent work completed. The area itself has come so far over the past couple of years. We are really looking forward to what is to come in the future.

Please contact me if you would like to discuss further.

Kind Regards,
LIsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed in this hotel on the last night of our visit to Dublin as it was closer to the airport than our other hotel. It is a new travelodge so everything was clean and pleasant. We had an early flight in the morning so we were able to book a taxi from the free phone at reception which was ideal. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean with fresh towels and bedsheets. Had a great sleep as there was absolutely no noise at all from outside which was nice. The area surrounding is obviously undergoing redevelopment so I think when it is finished, it will make a large difference. It was ideal for getting to the airport and I would maybe consider staying there and travelling into the city centre in future as it was cheaper and better quality than the accommodation offered in the city.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — The surrounding area
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, responded to this review, February 9, 2009
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write your postive review.

The Ballymun area is part of a Multi billion euro regeneration project. There have been a lot of fantasic work already completed in the area in the last year. Ballymun Regeneration Ltd is working with the community to develope and implement the Masterplan for the physical, economic and social regeneration of Ballymun.

See you again soon,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun

Address: Shangan Road | Ballymun, Dublin 11, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun is ideally located 4 km from Dublin Airport and 5km from Dublin City and offers spacious modern rooms at budget prices. The hotel operates a shuttle bus service to/from the airport every 20 minutes for €3.00 Per passenger. Stay in Dublin for less this year, for business, catching a flight from Dublin Airport or visiting Dublin City for shopping and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun Hotel Dublin
Dublin Travel Lodge
Dublin Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dublin Airport Ballymun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.