We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and good jacuzzi and sauna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin Kilmainham to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland (Kilmainham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and good jacuzzi and sauna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Rooms were nice. Bus journey into the centre of Dublin. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    420
    123
    49
    24
See reviews for
223
492
62
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
snnrwd64
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I visited Dublin in October for the dublin marathon and stayed a night at the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham. The stay was nice and we enjoyed ourselves. With the Hop-on Hop-off bus stopping right in front of the hotel it is a very conveniant location. It is quiet at night around the area but they have some excellent pubs across the street from the hotel. I would recommend staying here..it was quite enjoyable. The porter Brian did an excellent job recommending places to see while in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We drove from the Dublin airport straight to the Hilton and it was a nice, short drive. They have a covered garage for your car, and a stop for the Dublin Hop On, Hop Off bus is right across the street. The hotel is a little outside of the city center which is what we wanted. The rooms were nice and they have a great buffet breakfast. This hotel was perfect for our 1 night in Dublin and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for two nights with some friends. We were very happy with the hotel -the rooms were great - the only thing not so good was the spa area - you had to wear hats if you wanted to go in the pool (which was tiny so we didn't bother) Our stay was made far better than it might have been by the helpfulness of the porter, Brian. He found out what we were interested in and directed us towards lovely places and restaurants and (very wisely) away from some of the most crowded areas on a football match night!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We booked this for 1 night, for a 'quick' weekend city break, and got an good rate of around £70 a night, for room only. On arriving to check in, was treated very quickly

Hotel was around 20-30minute taxi ride from the airport and 10 minute taxi ride from the city centre. Check in was quick and efficient, offered free WiFi and was given advice on how to get around - as the weather was quite bad with a lot of snow and ice we were pretty limited to walking or taxis, which for such a short visit you do not mind. I had expected, as Hilton Honors silver card member (now gold) to be maybe offered an upgrade, but no problem as there were a lot of tourists around.

Room was a good size, very clean and bathroom modern, with a great powerful shower.

Stay was very pleasant and good Hilton standard, if you were on a very short trip and had lots planned, I would maybe look closer, but if you have a bit of time or not a busy itinerary you could do a lot worse. My only gripe, was the excessively long check out queue and seemed very dis-organised (only 2 of the 3 or 4 desks were open.)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Second time around in this hotel. Disappointed that the first family room was very small indeed and we were put into a more appropriate sized one after requesting it., still not a great size though. Considering the hotel was not busy, it would have been good PR to give us the better room from the off. The overnight parking for guests is a complete rip off and a lot of hassle, getting tickets checked at reception and again at the car park. Overall the ambience of the hotel, location and friendly staff counteract these negativities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulsterIE
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

My wife and two friends were really looking forward to our 3-night stay in Dublin. When we arrived to our room, the a/c wasn't working. Front desk said to give it awhile to react. No good. Phoned again and they sent a technician!. No good. They moved us to another room on another floor, away from our friends but with working a/c. The room had a really foul smell near the bathroom; whilst the a/c worked it was extremely noisy, a vibration in the unit.The fridge didn't work, but they got it going for us and the room door gave the most unearhtly groan every time it was opened. All this was not what we expected from a Hilton. Then on our second and third mornings, the hotel allowed a company to carry out job interviews an a room further down the corridor. Chairs lined one side of the corridor for over 24-rs. (Potential fire hazard?) This also was untidy, unprofessional and slightly off-putting for hotel guests. Funny how we needed our room key to operate the lift for the upper floors for security purposes yet the general public had access for interviews. This is a hotel that boasts any number of conference and meeting rooms which one would think would be better suited for interviews.
Despite all this the hotel itself was fine, if clinical and the breakfast was top rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#28 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dublin city, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is just minutes by car from the city center and a short walk from Heuston Intercity Railway Station. This 4-star Dublin hotel overlooks the Kilmainham Gaol and the surrounding area is home to some of Dublin's premier attractions including the Guinness Brewery, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Old Jameson Distillery. Close by for sporting events is the famous Croke Park, The O2 Arena and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.