We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin Kilmainham to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland (Kilmainham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Great hotel in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel Hilton Kilmainham is great! Friendly staff, great rooms and a marvelous breakfast. We stayed here during four days and had a great time. The swimming pool with hydromassage is a great surplus, after a long day of walking in Dublin.
Transport is no problem at all. There is a bus stop at Emmet road (5 minutes walking from the hotel) and a stop for the hop-on hop-off bus in front of the hotel. By the way, with a freedom ticket (3 days) you can take all the buses you need. From the airport you can take the Airlink bus to Houston station. Its a 15-20 minutes walk to the hotel from there. There are also many taxis who can bring you to the hotel. We would recommend a single ticket with teh Airlink because the freedom ticket provides also a retour with the airlink to the airport. . There are also many taxis who can bring you there.
When we checked out, a very kind taxidriver offered to bring us to the station. We let go our first plan to go by foot and did not regret it at all. It was a short ride and a great experience. A very warm, kind and heartly man! If you have the opportunity to catch this taxi (taxi had a sign of Hilton hotel in front of the car) to the station or airport: do not doubt! You will immediately experience the hospitality and warmth of the Irish people! As he said himself, there's a saying in Ireland: "We do not know strangers. Only friends we didn't met yet!"

Room Tip: After booking on the website of the Hilton, you can choose for an upgrade option. For little money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    419
    122
    49
    24
See reviews for
223
492
60
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, this hotel was e130 for the one ngt stay with breakfast included & I'm pretty sure this was a deal my husband got! Not much atmosphere I'm guessing its mainly used for business stop offs!

Room was basic but when we checked in they gave us a free upgrade which was good, after only being in the room for an hour the door knocked & a heavily pregnant house keeping lady barged past me into my room to leave an envelope on the table she didn't say why she was there who she was and didn't wait to be invited in she was coming in regardless! This was quite rude!!

Food is typically overpriced e16 for a burger, come on!!

We ventured outside to the right to a cafe called lime green cafe very nice food here we both got a sandwich & salad with coffee for e12 for both!!

The hotel has a nice small pool area with jacuzzi the guys at reception at the gym were very nice.

You can get the 13/40 bus into the city centre the bus stop is 2mins walk from hotel!

Breakfast was so average the fruit salad was half fresh half from a tin, I just don't get why a 4* hotel should serve tinned fruit. Not a great selection!


Overall it's a typical over priced irish hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay on a business trip. Would come here again. Walking distance to lots of places to visit. Breakfast was excellent, it was buffet style but had really fresh, good food. I had Wi-Fi, and we took a double decker ride from across the street which was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights over Easter.

Check in was good, staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Free wifi in the hotel a bonus.

On our first night my partner and I got no sleep due to the temperature in the room, it was extremely hot. The following morning we realised the air conditioning unit was broken. We spoke to the very helpful mikhail at reception who promised to have the maintenance department sent up whilst we were out! When we returned we were informed maintenance had fixed the problem. However, all they had done was move the temperature dial, this was not good enough as the air con unit itself was broken! We informed mikhail that the problem had not been fixed, he informed us as to the lack of communication he had had with the maintenance team and advised we move rooms. This was helpful however an upgrade might have been nice the inconvenience and incompetence of the maintenance team.

Another issue was with the room service at breakfast, in the end we paid for room service which was 20 minutes outside the timeframe we requested and which was missing items we had asked for.

We ate lunch upon leaving the hotel and this was, we felt, reasonably priced and very very nice.

Would we return? Maybe, but not before looking elsewhere first

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Thebigfeller

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.
I was sorry to see you had an issue during your stay with the air conditioning and your room service. I was delighted to see you enjoyed your meal.

I do hope you will return to hotel on your next trip to Dublin.
Kindest regards
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We arrived on Saurday afternoon at The Hilton Hotel Kilmainham . We had booked with Secret Escapes .We had an upgrade to a better room with a lovely view. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfasts were delicious . We had two evening meals in the hotel which were excellent .We would defiantly come here again . The hotel is not in the centre so you do need a taxi into the centre of Dublin . The hop on hop off buses stop outside the hotel so that is very useful. The jail is opposite ( well worth seeing ) and the Art gallery opposite has lovely gardens to walk in . Great live music to listen to at the Temple Bar area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sleep 4-5 hours and you wake up a new man... very clean rooms, well decorated - give a very comfy feeling. Staff needs to work a bit on communication skills. Breakfast is very good but it can be a bit better to match with the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here Easter Monday for one night. Check in was smooth and the receptionist was friendly, giving my son a lolly. Very knowledgeable about the local area. I was here for a family stay with my wife and son for my wife's 30th. On arrival to our room we found a little selection of cakes and a card wishing my wife a happy birthday. Thought this was a nice touch.
We done the guinness tour and returned to use the pool. The pool was lovely and child friendly with excellent staff. We then had a light meal in the bar. Steak sandwich was perfectly cooked as asked and soup with mash available for my son. Wife had the burger which too was tasty.
Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and had such a range, buffet style, from fruit to my favourite, the full irish.
Checkout wad fast and friendly, a big thanks to the receptionist who gave my son an Easter egg as we left.
The small touches mean an awful lot to a family with young kids and I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 208 which had a view of the gaol. Nice room with all the necessities needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dublin city, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is just minutes by car from the city center and a short walk from Heuston Intercity Railway Station. This 4-star Dublin hotel overlooks the Kilmainham Gaol and the surrounding area is home to some of Dublin's premier attractions including the Guinness Brewery, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Old Jameson Distillery. Close by for sporting events is the famous Croke Park, The O2 Arena and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.