We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standard Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin Kilmainham to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland (Kilmainham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #42 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“standard Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice hotel, good food, good location across from the historic Kilmainham jail (which is worth touring) A little outside of downtown so walking to sights can be time consuming. What you would expect from a Hilton, they did not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sharon C
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great as many tourist sites are within walking distance from the hotel. The Hop on/ Hop off bus located at Kilmainham Gaol which is situated directly adjacent to the hotel is also a great way to tour the city if your time in Dublin is limited
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    471
    145
    57
    28
See reviews for
250
541
67
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've spent a lot of time in this hotel for business and overall find it very good. The staff are very friendly, helpful and approachable. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The leisure facilities are good, although the pool is a little small, not many hotels in Dublin have any pool. The food is of good quality, if a little on the expensive side. The hotel is located opposite the Kilmainham Gaol, which is definitely worth a visit. It is a little way out of the city centre, but if you like a walk then there is a lovely park you can walk through to head towards the city and then pickup the tram the rest of the way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Simon G

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay.
I am delighted to see you enjoy your frequent stays with us. Thank you for mentioning our proximity to Royal Kilmainham Hotel and the hydrotherapy pool it is very popular and a real treat for our guests.
I hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Kilmainham in Dublin and the service we received was superb. It was conveniently located near the Guinness Storehouse and made for a nice location to walk around Dublin. The ladies who worked the reception desk were professional, helpful, courteous and downright friendly. As they were the first Dubliners we met (with the exception of the idiot behind the Hertz rental desk but that's another story....) they really made us understand the warmth of Ireland. When we return, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a key for the balcony door as they are typically locked and need a key to open and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Joe M
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try and do our utmost to provide guests with a pleasant stay. I am delighted to see you got a balcony room, it is lovely to sit out in the evening and watch the sun set over the Dublin Mountains.
We look forward to welcoming you when you return to Dublin

Kind regards Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is modern and nicely designed. My room was large and well equipped - twice the size of a typical London hotel. I had breakfast each day - good buffet with full Irish breakfast, hot muffins etc. The room was quiet, even though my room faced onto to the road I was not bothered by the noise. The hotel is opposite Kilmainham Jail (a major historical site) and beside the Kilmainham Hospital (now an art gallery). The hotel is about 3-4km west of the city center, on the banks of the Liffey. There is a tram line (Luas) nearby or you can even walk into town (which I did when it was not raining).So a good business hotel if your meetings are near by, a little out of town for tourists.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear martin m
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast buffet has recently been upgraded with extensive food options and we are happy you enjoyed it .Our location is great as many tourist sites are within walking distance from the hotel, such as Kilmainham Gaol which is situated directly adjacent to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here during the summer. Good value, really clean inside, terrace/bar outside was bit grubby but not dirty, just needed more regular glass collecting/cleaning of tables.
Bedroom - spotless, comfy beds, immaculate bathroom, complimentary toiletries in abundance.
Breakfast - loads of choice and friendly staff.
Location - walking distance to St. James Hospital and train station. Easy to find.
Would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Lival

Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is always encouraging to receive such kind words and it is appreciated by all the team. We continuously strive to ensure our guest’s needs are paramount and I am glad to see that this is what you have experienced.
We hope to welcome you back when you are next in Dublin.
Kind regards Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this Hilton for our trip to Dublin. It is on the west side of town and out of downtown. There is a bus stop a block south on Emmet road which is very convienent to take into downtown. We walked frequently though and it probably took us 20-30 minutes depending on how far east you were going. The hotel itself was clean and the room and bed was very comfortable. We had a 2nd floor room looking out onto a street and I didn't hear the traffic at all. There is wifi or a plug for broadband internet. The bathroom was nice but until you get the hang of it the shower might be a little messy. There is only a glass partition (which swings out by the way so don't hold onto it!) instead of a shower curtain so the first day I think we got the entire bathroom floor wet. Just make sure the showerhead is angled down all the way! We didn't eat there so I can't comment. But there is a great bakery down the street that we got breakfast at daily,,,,,,scones, croissants, tarts...(i believe it turns into Suir Rd....walk straight out of hotel, cross road and keep going south for 1 block, 4 star pizza is on your left, cross road and it will be up a few stores on your right).
The front desk staff was very accomadating too. We got an early checkin and they called a cab for us when we were leaving. FYI we got the 3 day Freedom Dublin bus pass. We used it to take the Airlink 747 bus from the airport to the Heuston Rail station which is a mile from the hotel. You could walk it to the hotel but since we had a lot of bags we just grabbed a taxi to the hotel. Then you can use the same bus pass for any other local dublin bus throughout those 3 days.
The only bad part was we didn't have time to take a dip in the pool. It looked really nice and the workout facility looked nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Jmarcopolo

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great as you get a quite night’s sleep, while the madness in the city centre is just a short distance away We also are blessed as there are many tourist sites within walking distance, such as Kilmainham Gaol which is situated directly adjacent to the hotel and the Phoenix Park.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights during a coach tour of Ireland. The hotel is modern, with large well appointed rooms. The hotel is well maintained, and the staff are very helpful. The hotel is not centrally located however, and requires either a taxi or the tram to get to the city centre. Overall however this is a nice hotel to stay at while visiting Dublin.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#57 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#20 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Family Hotel in Dublin
#38 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dublin city, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is just minutes by car from the city center and a short walk from Heuston Intercity Railway Station. This 4-star Dublin hotel overlooks the Kilmainham Gaol and the surrounding area is home to some of Dublin's premier attractions including the Guinness Brewery, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Old Jameson Distillery. Close by for sporting events is the famous Croke Park, The O2 Arena and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.