We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning is a must!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Save Saved
You added Hilton Dublin Kilmainham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland (Kilmainham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #30 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Air conditioning is a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a good 4 star hotel with all the qualities of a 4star! Rooms ,food, bar and spa facilities are all flawless.10 out of 10. This hotel loses badly on location from city centre,it is a 30 min bus ride into town. Luas tram service is a15 min walk away. There are no nearby restaurants or pubs. Kilmainham jail is across the road and a must visit for any visitor to Dublin.There was a group of 4 in our party all with own rooms, nobody had air conditioning that worked! Mucky humid nights in stuffy hotel rooms is not the stuff 4 star hotels should condone. Hilton badly fell down here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Avail
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay.
I am sorry that you and your party encountered AC issues in your room, we have recently upgraded our system but with the recent heat wave unfortunately they were unable to cool enough, please be assured this has been rectified. Our proximity to Kilmainham Goal is ideal and the hydrotherapy pool is very popular and a real treat.
I hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    360
    104
    46
    20
See reviews for
185
418
53
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Accommodation was good, upgrade was ok, spa & leisure facilities very good. Restaurant a little disappointing choices were a little limited and waitress was unable to cope with the numbers (ie party of 14). The tour buses were on strike which impacted on our weekend break overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice modern hotel and very pleasant staff especially at reception. The staff in the restaurant/bar were a bit over stretched as we stayed for the Ennio Morricone concert and the hotel was full.
We waited quiet a long time. It is close to Heuston rail station and has easy access to city centre via public transport. The area seems pleasant and felt safe.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter and I landed in Dublin just as a heat wave went away, for which we were grateful. The Hilton here is nice. The beds are comfortable and there is a spa, which we took full advantage of almost every day of our stay.

We bought LEAP cards and used local transportation to see the sites. On the day before we left we had to do laundry. There is a laundry place nearby. Once we had that task accomplished, we visited Kilmainham Gaol, then spent the rest of the day soaking in the spa.

My only beef about our stay here is the expense of the meals. The breakfast was 18 euros, which I felt was excessive. We got a 6 euro break for our first breakfast because I am a HHonors member. I believe this should have been extended every day of our stay. The food in the restaurant is good, but expensive. Nearby there is an Irish pub, an Italian restaurant, Chinese food, and pizza. Having the mini fridge in the room made it easy to bring back leftovers from our lunches to have for dinner or even breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Hotel as we were taking part in the Rock N Roll 1/2 Marathon, we could have stayed longer it is the perfect hotel. From our arrival at the Reception area we were met with friendly, professional staff, the bedroom was perfect. We had our evening meals in the Cinnamon Restaurant which served excellent food by lovely staff who made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We also enjoyed our breakfast which was a selection of fresh fruit, bread, hot and cold foods it was 1st Class. We used the leisure facilities which were also 1st class and very well maintained and kept clean. The hotel is a little way out of the city but we didn't mind the walk as the weather was excellent and we got to see another part of the city which we wouldn't have otherwise. Perfect location for Phoenix Park, The Guinness Factory and the Kilmainham Prison Tour. We have no fault with this Hotel we will be back and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Conor S
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast buffet has recently been upgraded with extensive food options and we are happy you enjoyed it .Our location is great as many tourist sites are within walking distance from the hotel, such as Kilmainham Gaol which is situated directly adjacent to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good value for money, clean , efficient and very convinient for our needs. Parking a bit limited on a busy night. Also bar service was inexperienced and poor , could not deal with a reasonably busy bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from one night here.

It's a lovely hotel, immaculately clean and maintained very well.
The room was very nice, kind of what you expect of a Hilton really though. The mini-bar was broken in our room, so no drinks etc, which was awful to discover at 4am & dying for a drink of water!

Pool area was fab, well worth a visit to.

We had dinner in the restaurant and this was where I really felt it wasn't up to standard. We reserved the table for 9 o'clock & it wasn't ready so we waited, nice couch area for waiting. Nobody took drinks orders let us see a menu etc while we waited. When we did get seated it was a lovely quiet table for two but they were so slow, took ages to take our order, probably 9.45 before we ordered food, we ordered wine at the same time - it didn't arrive until after we got our starter, little things like butter being put on the table & breads arriving 10 mins later - just not what you would expect from a hotel like this. Still they were friendly & the food was very tasty. I really enjoyed the ambiance just service took away from it.

Breakfast was lovely, same thing of waiting for somebody to come and seat us though! Great selection for breakfast, not just Irish breakfast, lovely fruits, pastries, muffins, yoghurts cereals etc.

All in all we had a lovely time and couldn't fault the actual hotel but would probably head into the city for dinner if I were staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dublin city, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is just 10 minutes by car from the city center and a short walk from Heuston Intercity Railway Station. This 4-star Dublin hotel overlooks the Kilmainham Gaol and the surrounding area is home to some of Dublin’s premier attractions including the Guinness Brewery, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Old Jameson Distillery. Close by for sporting events is the famous Croke Park, The O2 Arena and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.