We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab time at The Hilton!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin Kilmainham to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland (Kilmainham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Ranked #32 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fab time at The Hilton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at The Hilton for a three night break in January. We got a good deal through booking on their official website offering a discounted rate for advanced purchase. We upgraded to a deluxe room for a small supplement and so glad that we did! The room was spacious with a king size bed, living area, a huge bathroom with a walk in shower and bath and to top it all off - a balcony! Liked the complimentary bath robes and slippers however was surprised no water or biscuits provided in the room? Breakfast was a good selection of fresh juices, cereals, breads, pastries, home-made muffins, fruits, yoghurt and buffet style cooked breakfast. The bar was a good atmosphere, playing the English football and the bar food was delicious. We never had dinner in the hotel restaurant as we chose to eat out in Dublin every night. The spa is very good, pool not very big and you have to wear a swimming cap?! But perfect if you just want to relax in the jacuzzi or sauna. The hotel is not in the centre of Dublin, it would take you 45 minutes to walk to the centre or 5-10 minutes in a taxi however taxi's are expensive roughly 12-15 euros to the centre and some of them put a 6 euro charge on the meter before you've even set off - cheeky!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe Room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    433
    128
    50
    24
See reviews for
224
508
64
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Room was very clean, comfortable and in good condition. Dinner and breakfast were both of a high standard as was the customer service throughout our stay. One of the staff at breakfast, that showed us to our table, was a little abrupt, but overall, it was a very enjoyable stay and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in Kilmainham for 3 nights in January, Got to say didnt expect much, having stayed in Hilton Hotels before, but this one really stands out, The room was fantastic it was spotless and very large, the bathroom had both a bath and shower, that knocked you over if you wanted it too, We ate There as well, the food was excellent with a varied menu, and the prices were very reasonable, If I did have one grumble it was the breakfast was abit on the cold side, but only on the first morning. The hotel is situated about 3kms from city centre, but the Luas (tram system) is only a 10 min walk from hotel, and the Pub opposite was without doubt the friendliest I have been too. I will be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is just a great place to say on a business trip. Service is excellent, food (well only breakfast tested) is just what I can expect to start nicely a day (quality, real fruit juice, good bacon and eggs - just the coffee, with is still an English coffee... would be good to offer some espresso for international travelers ;-)

Price is great (paid only 100 GBP that day).

Gym is a real one, large, lots of people actively working their body here ;-)

Will surely keep this address for my next stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked and paid 4 days because we expected to get the usual Hilton-service level as we had in the past in other cities. The reception staff and the welcome were ok but not really want we expected. The worse experience was in the Hotel bar: we waited 15 minutes and nobody took an order, after this wasted time we asked twice the bartender and he shouted "you need to take your orders with somebody else, I am not in charge for your table". This is a civil servant mentality and not the behaviour of a 4 star staff member.
Location of the Hotel is not really in the center, so you need everytime a taxy to get in and out.
The wellness-area is not up to date, smells bad and the 2 saunas are not worth to enter.
Positive is the breakfast and the rooms (even though there is no ventilation in the bathroom).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed there two weeks in late november 2012.
The hotel is 2.5km from the city centre, which is quite a long stroll to take on foot; fortunately, while pricey, dublin bus comes to a help, with many buses to and from the centre.
The hotel building is nice and new, in a new development. The corridors smells kind of funny, but the rooms are odorless.
The room we had were very large, with a decent sized desk which could fit two laptops with two people. The beds are king sized, a nice extra since irish have smaller beds than the continental people. The bath is new and looks like a prebuilt unit from Italy, shipped and placed.
Other facilities includes a business room, a mini-welness gym and a small SPA, which is really a hydromax and a sauna.
The breakfast is quite rich on the salty side, but is somewhat poor in the sweet/continental side.
The wi-fi in the hotel room is really abysmal: it's cappet at 30kbps, a speed that you would have been deemed acceptable 20 years ago. Talking to the manager, it seems that they are working to replace the connection, so it could be better in a short while.

Room Tip: Specify BEFORE arriving if you want a double or a twin: we chose a twin, and while we were uniting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through a special deal with Travelzoo, and it was worth EVERY penny. As part of the deal we were upgraded to a room with a view - which was fantastic. We were on the fourth floor and looking out across the city so the view was outstanding. Also included was the buffet breakfast...fantastic! Everything you could possibly ask for was included. We filled up sufficiently so we grabbed some fruit and some muffins from the buffet to keep us going through the day. The rooms were excellent, very spacious and the en suite bathroom was amazing - included a large shower as well as a bath/shower suite. Staff were incredibly quick at cleaning the rooms - it was cleaned as we attended breakfast on the first day. The hotel is wonderfully situated. From the airport, we got the Airlink bus (booked through the Dublin Bus website @ 6 euro each) to the last stop at Heuston station. If you leave the station through the exit beyond platform two, turn right and walk to the end of the road, turn left and you will approach the hotel - a 10 minute walk. Directly opposite the hotel is the Kilmainham Goal (apparently a brilliant tour but we didn't book ahead so were unable to go in - ENSURE YOU BOOK THIS IN ADVANCE). Because of the close proximity of the Goal there was a bus stop immediately outside of the hotel for the tour buses (we also booked this via the Dublin bus website as you receive an online discount - normally 18 euro each, we bought tickets for 15 euro each). In addition the Guinness storehouse is only a 10 minute walk away from the hotel and is VERY easy to get to. Reception staff were excellent and very helpful. If you need to book a taxi to the airport, book through reception as they have a special 25 euro deal with a taxi firm, otherwise it could be up to 30 euro. In terms of city centre, we arranged a taxi into town on a Saturday night and it was 8 euro.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing out on to the front of the hotel to get the best views of Dublin. The fourt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Dublin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dublin city, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is just minutes by car from the city center and a short walk from Heuston Intercity Railway Station. This 4-star Dublin hotel overlooks the Kilmainham Gaol and the surrounding area is home to some of Dublin's premier attractions including the Guinness Brewery, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Old Jameson Distillery. Close by for sporting events is the famous Croke Park, The O2 Arena and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.