We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Save Saved
You added Hilton Dublin Kilmainham to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland (Kilmainham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €87
Ranked #33 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in Kilmainham for 3 nights in January, Got to say didnt expect much, having stayed in Hilton Hotels before, but this one really stands out, The room was fantastic it was spotless and very large, the bathroom had both a bath and shower, that knocked you over if you wanted it too, We ate There as well, the food was excellent with a varied menu, and the prices were very reasonable, If I did have one grumble it was the breakfast was abit on the cold side, but only on the first morning. The hotel is situated about 3kms from city centre, but the Luas (tram system) is only a 10 min walk from hotel, and the Pub opposite was without doubt the friendliest I have been too. I will be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    344
    99
    45
    20
See reviews for
177
401
52
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is just a great place to say on a business trip. Service is excellent, food (well only breakfast tested) is just what I can expect to start nicely a day (quality, real fruit juice, good bacon and eggs - just the coffee, with is still an English coffee... would be good to offer some espresso for international travelers ;-)

Price is great (paid only 100 GBP that day).

Gym is a real one, large, lots of people actively working their body here ;-)

Will surely keep this address for my next stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked and paid 4 days because we expected to get the usual Hilton-service level as we had in the past in other cities. The reception staff and the welcome were ok but not really want we expected. The worse experience was in the Hotel bar: we waited 15 minutes and nobody took an order, after this wasted time we asked twice the bartender and he shouted "you need to take your orders with somebody else, I am not in charge for your table". This is a civil servant mentality and not the behaviour of a 4 star staff member.
Location of the Hotel is not really in the center, so you need everytime a taxy to get in and out.
The wellness-area is not up to date, smells bad and the 2 saunas are not worth to enter.
Positive is the breakfast and the rooms (even though there is no ventilation in the bathroom).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed there two weeks in late november 2012.
The hotel is 2.5km from the city centre, which is quite a long stroll to take on foot; fortunately, while pricey, dublin bus comes to a help, with many buses to and from the centre.
The hotel building is nice and new, in a new development. The corridors smells kind of funny, but the rooms are odorless.
The room we had were very large, with a decent sized desk which could fit two laptops with two people. The beds are king sized, a nice extra since irish have smaller beds than the continental people. The bath is new and looks like a prebuilt unit from Italy, shipped and placed.
Other facilities includes a business room, a mini-welness gym and a small SPA, which is really a hydromax and a sauna.
The breakfast is quite rich on the salty side, but is somewhat poor in the sweet/continental side.
The wi-fi in the hotel room is really abysmal: it's cappet at 30kbps, a speed that you would have been deemed acceptable 20 years ago. Talking to the manager, it seems that they are working to replace the connection, so it could be better in a short while.

Room Tip: Specify BEFORE arriving if you want a double or a twin: we chose a twin, and while we were uniting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through a special deal with Travelzoo, and it was worth EVERY penny. As part of the deal we were upgraded to a room with a view - which was fantastic. We were on the fourth floor and looking out across the city so the view was outstanding. Also included was the buffet breakfast...fantastic! Everything you could possibly ask for was included. We filled up sufficiently so we grabbed some fruit and some muffins from the buffet to keep us going through the day. The rooms were excellent, very spacious and the en suite bathroom was amazing - included a large shower as well as a bath/shower suite. Staff were incredibly quick at cleaning the rooms - it was cleaned as we attended breakfast on the first day. The hotel is wonderfully situated. From the airport, we got the Airlink bus (booked through the Dublin Bus website @ 6 euro each) to the last stop at Heuston station. If you leave the station through the exit beyond platform two, turn right and walk to the end of the road, turn left and you will approach the hotel - a 10 minute walk. Directly opposite the hotel is the Kilmainham Goal (apparently a brilliant tour but we didn't book ahead so were unable to go in - ENSURE YOU BOOK THIS IN ADVANCE). Because of the close proximity of the Goal there was a bus stop immediately outside of the hotel for the tour buses (we also booked this via the Dublin bus website as you receive an online discount - normally 18 euro each, we bought tickets for 15 euro each). In addition the Guinness storehouse is only a 10 minute walk away from the hotel and is VERY easy to get to. Reception staff were excellent and very helpful. If you need to book a taxi to the airport, book through reception as they have a special 25 euro deal with a taxi firm, otherwise it could be up to 30 euro. In terms of city centre, we arranged a taxi into town on a Saturday night and it was 8 euro.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing out on to the front of the hotel to get the best views of Dublin. The fourt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Immaculate, friendly staff & excellent food - would highly recommend this up market hotel.
The only slight downside for us was the location, not within walking distance of the main shopping area/Temple Bar etc. A taxi from Temple Bar back to the hotel cost 10 euros. We purchased a two day pass for the Dublin Bus tour which has a stop just across the road from the hotel (near the goal) The tour was excellent & we were also able to use the hop on hop off facility instead of using taxis back & forth to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Taking a late anniversary break we decided on the Hilton as its away from the city. We wanted a relaxing break with a few nice walks (Irish Museum of Modern Art & Kilmainham Gaol).

The room was very average, nothing special but was comfortable and clean. The main selling point for this hotel should be the pool! I best describe it as what you'd install if you won the lotto. Intimate, yet spacious. Hot tub and a number of other facilities including sauna, steam room and gym.

For us the pool was the icing on the cake and made for a lovely relaxing afternoon. We didn't want to hit the city, but be aware the walk to the nearest luas line is at least a good 15 minutes.

I'd stay here again if looking for a quiet break, if looking for a coy shopping destination I'd pay the extra and stay closer to town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dublin city, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is just 10 minutes by car from the city center and a short walk from Heuston Intercity Railway Station. This 4-star Dublin hotel overlooks the Kilmainham Gaol and the surrounding area is home to some of Dublin’s premier attractions including the Guinness Brewery, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Old Jameson Distillery. Close by for sporting events is the famous Croke Park, The O2 Arena and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;