We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited using Tesco reward vouchers & was highly satisfied.Immaculate hotel excellent food & friendly helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin Kilmainham to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland (Kilmainham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #43 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visited using Tesco reward vouchers & was highly satisfied.Immaculate hotel excellent food & friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Immaculate, friendly staff & excellent food - would highly recommend this up market hotel.
The only slight downside for us was the location, not within walking distance of the main shopping area/Temple Bar etc. A taxi from Temple Bar back to the hotel cost 10 euros. We purchased a two day pass for the Dublin Bus tour which has a stop just across the road from the hotel (near the goal) The tour was excellent & we were also able to use the hop on hop off facility instead of using taxis back & forth to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    473
    146
    57
    28
See reviews for
252
542
67
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Taking a late anniversary break we decided on the Hilton as its away from the city. We wanted a relaxing break with a few nice walks (Irish Museum of Modern Art & Kilmainham Gaol).

The room was very average, nothing special but was comfortable and clean. The main selling point for this hotel should be the pool! I best describe it as what you'd install if you won the lotto. Intimate, yet spacious. Hot tub and a number of other facilities including sauna, steam room and gym.

For us the pool was the icing on the cake and made for a lovely relaxing afternoon. We didn't want to hit the city, but be aware the walk to the nearest luas line is at least a good 15 minutes.

I'd stay here again if looking for a quiet break, if looking for a coy shopping destination I'd pay the extra and stay closer to town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in this very friendly hotel, hotel and bar staff were excellent in every way possible. Rooms were well equipped with all you would need for your stay. Breakfast was probably the best I have had in any hotel I stayed in, food was hot and a very big choice. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we will return in the very near future. I would like to thank all staff for our stay. Happy new year.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent a 2 night stay in this hotel with an under 2 year old and have to say from start to finish was very impressed. I knew of the hotel although never was in it and we go away every new years day for a break to start the year courtesy of out Tesco Clubcard vouchers we gather up over some of the year and pick a chain and destination to spend them on. We were treated to a fantastic top level room with huge floor to ceiling windows stretching something like 18 feet high! room 526 to be exact so along that row must be all the same. The only minor niggle was the wire mesh i guess for visual look from the outside that existed a foot or so outside the window that did somewhat take the impact of the top floor view away but then gave greater privacy still allowing a view. The bed was very comfortable and a great kingsize with good levels of cleanliness evident. I have stayed in many Dublin hotels and with a child feel this hotel beats any previous visits. Haing the lift a few meters from your room and from your catr in underground also with a child is a godsent and was very helpful although pricey like most things in Dublin at an extra €12 per night but worth it. The breakfast experience also excellent with good standard, heat and variety to suit any normal needs of a person. I will also hopefully find the bar on here to give it a separate review as warrants it due to quality and service especially a young girl there both evenings who acknowledged our return on the second night and said appreciated it which thought a nice touch and her service was exceptional. The living well pool part of the hotel open to non residents as well as hotel guests was very good in terms of service, cleanliness and heat!. I have been in hotels where although say suitable for young kids they are not as too cold for them. This one was perfectly heated and very stylish with various areas of jets etc in which to relax as well as swim against and in 2 parts. Steam room and sauna also available and good. Gym also available and everything need and all machines on my visit in good working order. Only tiny negative is was given 2 versions of how to exit carpark with ticket the first of which gave me a message needed to pay €5 after already paying but this was corrected when had to go back up to desk again and would not mention it except for fact day before when at desk for directions another person came with same issue so may be something needs to be addressed. This was the only very minor detail of a perfect stay and will highly recommend this place in the future to those looking a destination as although not city centre only a ten minute walk to the Luas tram line and not much further to the Storehouse. Only a 5-10 minute walk to Pheonix Park and the Zoo and directly beside Kilmainham Gaol and the Museum of Modern Art and their gardens etc makes this a perfect location easily got to from all areas for business or leisure travellers.

Room Tip: As mentioned row from 524 up wards is above the front door so at high level have great city and beyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

great hotel ,staff very pleasant staff, can't fault this hilton. the bar food is very good and well worth a visit. the hotel rooms are well kept with everything you need,bathrooms are spotless with great showers ,we went to the hilton just after christmas there was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and would return again as it's a great base to explore dublin If you are parking your car there is a 12 euro, as we got this hotel at sale price i can't complain but still thing you should not have to pay for parking

Room Tip: check out the hilton web page for a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Comfortable hotel within easy access of the city centre. Great Irish breakfast to set you up for the day. Get a great rate if you book through the Lidl Store site not only for this hotel but for other hotels in Ireland. The bar is good and if your a tourist take a look at Kilmainham Jail across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel is in great location for sight seeing with Kilmainham jail straight across the road and sight seeing tour buses passing by the front of the hotel. The Luas is a 15minute walk from the hotel and there's a bus just a 5minute walk away to get in to the city centre. Was disappointed with the snack menu in the bar and the food we got wasn't much better (didn't eat in the restaurant was fully booked with Christmas parties). There's also a charge for the car park of €12 euro.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#20 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,836 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Dublin
Hilton Dublin
#57 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.6 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,096 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dublin - Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Kilmainham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Kilmainham

Address: Kilmainham, Dublin D8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Kilmainham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#38 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Kilmainham 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Dublin city, the Hilton Dublin Kilmainham hotel is just minutes by car from the city center and a short walk from Heuston Intercity Railway Station. This 4-star Dublin hotel overlooks the Kilmainham Gaol and the surrounding area is home to some of Dublin's premier attractions including the Guinness Brewery, Phoenix Park, Dublin Zoo, the National Museum and Old Jameson Distillery. Close by for sporting events is the famous Croke Park, The O2 Arena and the Aviva Stadium at Lansdowne Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Dublin Kilmainham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Kilmainham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.