We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel..great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kildare Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kildare Street Hotel to your Saves list
Kildare Street Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   47 - 49 Kildare Street | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel..great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

All the staff go out of their way to be friendly and even opened the bar late at night especially for us. Excellent bar, great atmosphere, lovely breakfast all in all good value. Room a bit dated but clean and well maintained. Would recommend. Location perfect for accessing any part of Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review.
We appreciate and encourage all feedback from our guests as your perspective is essential to achieving and maintaining the best possible standards.
I will pass your comments on to the staff who, i'm sure, will appreciate the feedback.
All the best and see you soon,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    93
    44
    25
    15
See reviews for
41
35
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Will be staying again , staff were brilliant and helpful. Food and drinks as well as staff in the ATtached pub were great!

Price was reasonable and we were only minutes from the centre of Dublin , I will be staying again on my next trip

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted that you had a good experience here and we very much look forward to your next visit.
All the best,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, including the barkeeps at the attached pub. We asked for dinner recommendations and they were always right on. The location is ideal for seeing Dublin on foot. We walked everywhere. Stayed in a triple--two twins and a double--with our two teenaged sons and it was perfect. If you have a street view just be sure to ask the pub to turn off the outdoor speakers after 9 or it can be a constant soundtrack to your attempted dreams. We had a room overlooking the Trinity College green and it was great. Tea and biscuits were replenished daily--and munched within minutes--and the housekeeping was attentive if not always consistent in the timing each day. All we had to do was ask!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you guys for your very kind comments. It was great to meet you and i hope you will stay with us again. Maybe on the next lecture tour??;-)
All the best,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed last Saturday night. My double room was comfortable and quiet well worth the price. We ate in the attached bar, food was excellent and reasonably priced.

This is a lovely old building which (like myself) may have seen better days, this should not put you off. I will have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: if you have limited mobility ask for the first floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review which i think reflects perfectly what we can offer here at the Kildare. We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
All the best,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this family run hotel for one night while in Dublin. We took the bus from the airport which put us a about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and is located directly across from Trinity College. The owners were great very friendly and helpful for planning our day in the city. The hotel itself has a lot of old charm with basic amenities and no lift. We stayed in a family room on the top floor, our double bed was comfortable but my girls stayed in the twins which were not (probably time to get rid of these mattresses)! This room did have a lot of space and plenty of hot water for a shower. We would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review.
We appreciate and encourage all feedback from our guests as your perspective is essential to achieving and maintaining the best possible standards. Thank you for highlighting the issue with the single beds in your room and sorry for the discomfort caused. This has now been rectified.
I hope this won't deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Thank you again from all at The Kildare Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here for one weekend night with friends. The location is excellent whether you're Irish and just on a break in Dublin, or an international tourist visiting to see the sights. It's right in the city centre, but not an area where you'll be disturbed too much outside noise. The Blarney Inn is really designed for tourists, but can be good for a beer or some music before you set off. Club Nassau is a good spot for the 30+ (I would guess) person who wants to stay out for a bit of 'clubbing'.
Lastly, I found the staff very friendly and helpful, and the price was good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review.
Delighted you all had a good experience and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
All the best,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A party of 5 ladies travelled to Dublin for my 40th birthday celebrations - The Kildare is in a great location with a pub & nightclub on site (The Blarney Inn & Club Nassau) - we had the duplex room which consisted of a 2 floor suite which could sleep up to 6 comfortably - 2 bathrooms, 1 with shower/bath. We did not have the breakfast as a local told us @ the 7 Euro brekkie at the Kilkenny a few doors down (really great & recommended!!) but the hotel was great - clean (although a few bits of mould in the bathroom), very friendly staff (we stayed in the Blarney until after 3am) a little noisy from traffic & clubbers but that is to be expected. Our flight home was not until the evening but the hptel were very happy to lock our cases away until we returned from a final few Guinness's!! Thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-ORiordan, Manager at Kildare Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi guys,
So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the Duplex Room suited your needs. Sorry about the damp, this has been addressed. Kilkenny do indeed have a great breakfast but we are very proud of ours too which is also €7 when booked in advance and also includes a full buffet and unlimited Tea & Coffee. next time you visit you will have to try it.
Thank you once again for booking with The Kildare Street Hotel and thank you also for your review.
All the best,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kildare Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildare Street Hotel

Address: 47 - 49 Kildare Street | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kildare Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kildare Street Hotel is a budget hotel located in Dublin city centre. Our Dublin Hotel accommodation offers guests clean comfortable rooms at very reasonable rates. If you are looking for cheap hotels in Dublin our hotel is ideal, you'll find the hospitality warm and friendly; and the atmosphere bustling.The hotel has been recently refurbished; the reception area and bedrooms have all been redecorated with modern furnishings. More facilities are now included in the rooms – tea / coffee making facilities and bathroom toiletries. Wifi is available in the Hotel free of charge.Our staff will be happy to help you plan excursions, arrange taxis and help you with your luggage.Early & Late check outs available and FREE WIFI is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Kildare Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kildare Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.