We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip to Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abrae Court Guesthouse

Abrae Court Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abrae Court Guesthouse to your Saves list
Abrae Court Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland (Rathfarnham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Trip to Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had chosen this hotel for our weekend trip because it was the cheapest hotel with good reviews that I could find - and because I instantly fell in love with the victorian style. All my expectations were fullfilled (and surpassed actually). The rooms are nice and clean and have everything you need, the service is excellent (very nice, very helpfull and they are really going out of their way to help you with everything you might need). The breakfast ist very good as well (and at the same time much cheaper than everything else I've seen so far in Dublin). I'd definitely choose this hotel again. Thanks a lot for the nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
26
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Following a friend's recommendation, I stayed at the Abrae Court Guesthouse on two occasions in September and October. The rooms and toilets were compact yet nice and clean; there's free and fast WiFi; and did I mention delicious breakfast with many options including kosher. There's a bus stop close by (it's less than half an hour to get to downtown Dublin). Nearby there's an excellent steakhouse (JD's, 4 Rathfarnham Road, Terenure, Dublin 6W). Upon my second arrival in Dublin, it felt like coming home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep it's ok. Upon arrival, Monica informed us the credit card machine was broken and we would have to pay in cash. Would like to have known in advance. It's the tiniest room I've ever stayed in. The shower has no water pressure and the toilet was difficult to flush. The first night, someone left the emergency door open and it started banging in the wind about 5am.,waking us up. I finally got up and went down the hall to shut the door. The rooms are clean but, a bit rundown. Breakfast was good for the price but, definitely not as pictured in the brochure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed June 2012 for 2 nights for the Westlife Farewell Tour (Friday 22nd to Sunday 24th) on Trivago it's advertised as being in the Centre of Dublin (it's not) on arrival we were asked for payment before being shown to a small twin room, the rooms are very old fashioned but clean, didn't pay for breakfast or use the living room as it was a base while we explored Dublin & watched Westlife. The number 15 bus stop is near to the b&b & takes about 25 mins to get into Dublin or a taxi for€7. Rathgar has some lovely little shops & restaurants but sadly the b&b is rather far but if you don't mind being out the way & are on a budget its for you but i won't return however DUBLIN is FAB & can't wait to return :-)  

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Abrae Court Guesthouse and had a WONDERFUL experience. Nina and Monica (sp?) were wonderful hosts! They were very accommodating with excellent service and assistance. We keep kosher and they offered a kosher breakfast option which really helped our trip. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. Everything worked rather well (we did have a slight issue with the hot water in the bathroom sink, but it did not detract from our stay). Though the rooms are a bit small, it didn't present a problem either. The living room area is a nice place to sit and relax as well. Overall this is an excellent place to stay if you need to be in Rathgar. There is a VERY convenient bus stop to bring you right into the Temple Bar area of Dublin... only about 10-15 minute ride away. I'd stay here again and certainly can recommend it to my friends and associates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have only praise for this lovely, warm guesthouse. Nina, who took over management around 3 years ago, and Monica, are a wonderful combination and made us feel so at home and welcome, in their own gentle way, without being at all obtrusive. The guesthouse is a short bus trip from the centre of Dublin, the prices were very fair, the best we had in Ireland, and Nina and Monica felt like old friends within minutes. The guesthouse is clean and friendly with a lovely lounge for guests, the beds were very comfortable and the street was quiet. We slept so well. As observant Jews staying in Dublin over the Jewish Sabbath (we chose the guest house because of its proximity to the Synagogue and good reports on Trip Advisor), it was a pleasure to discover that Nina and Monica knew what to do to make our stay pleasant, like leaving an urn with hot water and tea, coffee and milk (This in addition to the tea and coffee and kettle in the rooms). Because we cannot eat a traditional Irish breakfast due to dietary limitations, Nina offered us the option of a kosher breakfast for E6.50 each, which we enjoyed. I cannot fault this lovely place. If we're ever back in Dublin, without a doubt, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have no issues with the place itself BUT it is hard to find if you are traveling by car. The good news is that once you get there, a bus stop is but a few yards (meters) away, and the bus drivers are very friendly and helpful. The heart of Dublin is only about 15 minutes away.
The room was older and smaller than some of we have used, but it was clean, comfortable, and the staff was friendly. I would go back there - if I can find it (again).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
6.0 mi away
Kingswood Hotel Citywest
Kingswood Hotel Citywest
#68 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,089 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#71 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel
4.1 mi away
Aspect Hotel Dublin Parkwest
4.7 mi away
Ibis Dublin
Ibis Dublin
#96 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrae Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrae Court Guesthouse

Address: 9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Rathfarnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrae Court Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Abrae Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abrae Court Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.