We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water but great breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abrae Court Guesthouse

Abrae Court Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Abrae Court Guesthouse to your Saves list
Abrae Court Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland (Rathfarnham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“No hot water but great breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in may as part of a big family gathering for my husband's granny's birthday. We booked about seven rooms and the process was a bit ridiculous. My mother and aunts in law visited and booked in person on a trip home. We each confirmed our rooms by phone as requested. When my uncle in law called to confirm in April and there was utter confusion with our bookings. Apparently they have different systems (paper book) that don't always tally. Anyway, the ladies were really nice and it was all sorted.

When we arrived we found that some of us had much nicer rooms than others. Ours was nice but the hot water was non existent. We asked for it to be fixed but it didn't really work. But the room was clean and tidy. Everyone else had lots of hot water so we were unlucky.

The breakfast was amazing, really delicious, lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble. It was a birthday breakfast for granny and we had the whole dining room to ourselves with no rushing and all the service we needed. Delicious.

Overall, we would stay again due to convenient family location and good food, but be more specific about which room when booking.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
14
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed here on 2 occasions, and can thoroughly recommend this hotel...very friendly and family run. The rooms are well appointed with very comfortable beds.

This hotel is located in a quiet residential area of South Dublin and is a short distance of about 20 minutes by a frequent bus service to the city centre. Off-street parking is available on a first come first served availability as spaces are limited, however there is ample on street Pay and Display parking adjacent. There is a very spacious drawing room on the hall level where you can relax to read or just chill out.

Breakfast is available in a dining area off the ground floor. The staff are very obliging and if asked, can provide food to meet your dietary requirements, e.g. kosher. For dining out, there are several local restaurants within easy walking distance. Also lots of local shops, a bank with ATM, and pubs.

Room Tip: Free Wi-Fi available, request password.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We wanted to stay close to my elderly parents - who are too old to cope with us and the four kids. Abrae came up as perfectly situated. Although it was strange staying in a hotel in the neighbourhood where I grew up, Nina and Monica made us feel so much at home. Full marks for the cooked Irish breakfast, the coffee refills and the complementary scones! And for letting us keep our little dog (Nina took pity on us when she saw him and we were just about to leave him with my sisters). Free wifi and comfortable rooms, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were really nice, helpful and friendly. The house was beautiful but definitely in need of a lot of refurbishment. Room clean but very old fashioned decor. Very quiet area so I had a great sleep. Lovely location in Rathgar. Not very near town so you would need to get a taxi or bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

lovely welcome from Monica and her little son .very friendly. Rooms clean tidy and nice and cosy. great location . and quiet at night .
everything you need in the room is there .have already been there about 4 or 5 times and is on my permanent list .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Its a lovely place located in a residential area. The managers are quiet warm any always asking if you needed any form of assistance. There are taxis at all times and the bus always runs by; there is a bus stop about 10 meters from the guest house. On first view the guest house has a Victorian look but the inside and rooms are modernised - beautiful rooms. + not more than 20 meters are convenient stores, restaurants and pharmacy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abrae Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrae Court Guesthouse

Address: 9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Rathfarnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrae Court Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Abrae Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abrae Court Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.