We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abrae Court - the Personal Touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abrae Court Guesthouse

Abrae Court Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abrae Court Guesthouse to your Saves list
Abrae Court Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland (Rathfarnham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Abrae Court - the Personal Touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We wanted to stay close to my elderly parents - who are too old to cope with us and the four kids. Abrae came up as perfectly situated. Although it was strange staying in a hotel in the neighbourhood where I grew up, Nina and Monica made us feel so much at home. Full marks for the cooked Irish breakfast, the coffee refills and the complementary scones! And for letting us keep our little dog (Nina took pity on us when she saw him and we were just about to leave him with my sisters). Free wifi and comfortable rooms, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
24
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were really nice, helpful and friendly. The house was beautiful but definitely in need of a lot of refurbishment. Room clean but very old fashioned decor. Very quiet area so I had a great sleep. Lovely location in Rathgar. Not very near town so you would need to get a taxi or bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

lovely welcome from Monica and her little son .very friendly. Rooms clean tidy and nice and cosy. great location . and quiet at night .
everything you need in the room is there .have already been there about 4 or 5 times and is on my permanent list .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Its a lovely place located in a residential area. The managers are quiet warm any always asking if you needed any form of assistance. There are taxis at all times and the bus always runs by; there is a bus stop about 10 meters from the guest house. On first view the guest house has a Victorian look but the inside and rooms are modernised - beautiful rooms. + not more than 20 meters are convenient stores, restaurants and pharmacy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here over Jewish New Year and chose it because of it's location near the Synagogues, Rathgar is nice little place and plenty choice for eating out. The guesthouse is run by lovely people friendly and very helpful, we had the Kosher breakfast which was very nice a cheese and fruit platter, kosher cheese and bread. They are very aware of the dietary requirements and most helpful. Decor is a little shabby but as this is a very large Victorian villa it kind of adds to it's charm, bed was very comfortable, and we had very good nights sleep, the area is quite so no noise problems. Driving through Dublin was also easy when we arrived (it was Sunday) and we managed to squeeze in a visit to the Jewish museum and a visit to family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you don't mind taking a bus/taxi to get near st stephens green (dublin city center) this is a great place.
although on arrival, our reservation had been lost, Monica immediately taken care of us giving us a room.
Our room (a twin room) was big enough for the two of us, the beds were comfy and the neighborhood is really silent at night so you can sleep very well.

Monica is the best !

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building doesn't have windows that can open
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
6.0 mi away
Kingswood Hotel Citywest
Kingswood Hotel Citywest
#72 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#4 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,991 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Dublin
Ibis Dublin
#97 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#80 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dublin Skylon Hotel
4.6 mi away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#87 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrae Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrae Court Guesthouse

Address: 9 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Rathfarnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrae Court Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Abrae Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abrae Court Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.