We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle but no sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Dublin Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel Dublin Airport to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santry Cross, Ballymun Road, Dublin 11, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Lille, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shuttle but no sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this hotel for a short rest to catch an early flight. Rest we had none. Loud people, loud street noises were keeping us awake pretty much all night.
The staff was OK, not excessively sympathetic but did their job well.
The room was starting to get a bit old, some joints were quite used and the flooring started to wear. A garbage bag was missing in the bathroom, garbage that was broken anyways.
It was a clean room.
But, the price was OK, and we got our plane on time. Maybe asking for a quiet room is possible.
We would have liked to rest more...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mespil, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.
May I offer my apologies regarding your experience due to the noise you encountered and do hope that this did not cause too much inconvenience to your stay
May I add that our staff would have been more than happy to move you to a quieter side of the hotel if you had asked as we do try our best to facilitate our guests needs to the best of our ability.
I will also pass over your comments to our accommodation manager as regards to the garbage facilities in the bathroom.
We were happy to see that overall your stay with us was an enjoyable one as regards to the shuttle service and appreciate your comments also as to the staff doing their job well.
We once again apologise for any inconvenience caused and do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    166
    137
    44
    23
See reviews for
85
169
57
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinsale
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Close to the airport with a free shuttle this hotel booked on ebookers was a good value for the two nights. Due to a plane schedule of early out and late back to the U.K. we found the Metro suited our needs for comfort and cleanliness. Landscaping was a bit rocky and boring but I sure did sleep well and we found a great park and restaurant(the Mandalay) to walk to upon arrival. Staff was helpful and the shuttle worked well. We will stay here again for the quick out and back to Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mespil, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments regarding your stay with us
We were delighted to see your stay was an enjoyable one and also happy to see you will return to us again in the near future which we look forward to
Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in order to catch a 7am flight to Rome. We caught the coach at 5.30am as 5am was booked. The coach Transit Van Type has room for 12 people. Price is euro 4 per person single. Car parking for a long stay is possible at Euro 4 night.

The hotel is functional . Cold looking from the outside and inside it is furnished with practical furniture.
We had an evening meal which was served by a charming waitress and which we thoroughly enjoyed. A good start to to a holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and their is no better or worse rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mespil, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us

We were delighted to see that overall your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we do hope to see you again in the near future

Just to add our shuttle bus costs €2 per adult children are free and this covers your return trip

Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Maior, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked the hotel and the tickets through e-dream and in the advertisement they described the room of an apartment from the apart-hotel. So we thought we had the possibility to have our breakfast , but we couldn't becuase our room wasn't an appartment after all. The shuttle must be paid and in the ad it wasn't clear. In what concerns the service, it was ok. The rooms were confortable, clean, the bathrooms were clean too. As we were a group of 13, we could manage to see different rooms, all of them were clean, despite the size. In general terms, the staff was polite and helpful. The meals we had at the restaurant were tasty and not too expensive. The WiFi worked properly. No one from the group complained about the noise. Next time I'll try another hotel closer to city centre, because we spent some time and money in the buses to the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mespil, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us
May I firstly apologise if you were misguided in any way from your booking and I will look into this matter at once.
However we were delighted to see that overall your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you were happy with the standards of all rooms and bathrooms and with our staff and our services in general including the food in our restaurant and the wifi service.
just to note our shuttle bus is €2 per person and this covers all adults who use the facility to and from the hotel so the €2 covers the return trip and children are free

We hope to see you again in the near future
Kind regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Patricia, a receptionist at the hotel is possibly one of the nicest people we have met in Dublin. She went above her job description, and helped us in any way she could. I would stay at the Metro again simply because of the kindness Patricia showed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and comments regarding your stay with us and especially regarding our staff member Patricia who I will gladly pass over your comments to

Once again thank you for the positive feedback and we do hope to see you again in the near future
Kind Regards
Maria Mc Donnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Overall: Reasonably cheap hotel that delivers value for money. We'll definitely use again.

Pros: Breakfast was excellent, room was compact but reasonably clean and adequate, beds were comfy, bathroom spacious and clean. WiFi worked fine. We slept well between midnight and 7.30 am when traffic noise increased.

Cons: Bedroom carpet was scruffy and stained. Room door was ill-fitting with a sizeable gap that made corridor noise audible. No air con and as the hotel is at a busy crossroads there's a lot of noise if the windows are opened. The air extractor fan in the bathroom was either ineffectual or broken.

Room Tip: Rooms facing apartments are probably quieter. Other side overlooks busy crossroads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us

We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and do hope to see you again in the near future

I will liase with our accommodation manager regarding the comments you made involving the maintenance of the room and have this rectified as soon as possible
once again thank you for your comments on your stay

Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Dublin Airport

Address: Santry Cross, Ballymun Road, Dublin 11, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel Dublin Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport is a 3 star hotel located within 7 minutes of Dublin Airport via airport shuttle and only 20 minutes from the city centre, the hotel comprises of 88 guest rooms, Rueben's Restaurant & Cafe Bar, 4 dedicated meeting rooms and secure car parking. All rooms are fitted with a power shower, hypnos beds, work desk, TV/DVD player and complimentary internet access via Wi-Fi & LAN. Rueben's Restaurant serves a cooked breakfast daily, light lunches and evening meals/bar snacks until midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Metro Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Dublin
Days Hotel Dublin Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.