We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap cheerful did the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Dublin Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel Dublin Airport to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santry Cross, Ballymun Road, Dublin 11, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cheap cheerful did the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A one night stopover between London and Poland we wanted a hotel that had an early shuttlebus back to the airport and this ticked all the boxes. It was only later my Irish Husband told me it was supposedly a bit of a dodgy area. oops!

The hotel itself was nice,we checked in painlessly and though a bit further out and not near anything we sat in the bar, when we did wander we found a garage that had a hot snack bar and so bought chicken, wedges and sausage sandwiches back to our room as we had an early check out.

The room was large and comfy and we had a good nights sleep before leaving on the first shuttle bus back to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us

We were delighted to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that everything was up to standard
Whilst there is not much to do right outside the hotel just for a mere 10 minute walk you can visit Omni shopping centre which has two levels of floor shopping many take aways and cafeterias and also a large omniplex cinema, also not too far from the hotel is a beautiful park with a river which many of our guests have previously visited and were delighted with this. Our hotel is also a 5 minute walk to the nearest bus stop which you can avail of a number of buses which can take you to Dublin City Centre were there is plenty to do especially during the summer season any of our staff memebers will only be too happy to assist in recommending where to go and what to see whilst staying with us here at the hotel.
Overall we were delighted to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and do look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    152
    122
    42
    22
See reviews for
78
147
50
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Good hotel to spend the night before you fly, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, shuttle bus to take and pick you up. Restaurant good choice of food and again friendly waiting staff, they have a breakfast to go that you can order the night before. If arriving late the bar can be closed, but they have vending machines for coke etc. you can park your car at the hotel while your away which is fantastic, saves any trouble at the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here with us at the Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
We were very pleased to see that you were delighted with your stay and availed of all our amenities from the car parking to shuttle to restaurant and bedrooms.
We are delighted to offer parking to all our guests at a reasonable rate when flying off which I do agree saves the hastle of airport parking and transfers etc.
Also after our restaurant closes in the evening yes we do provide the availability of a vending machine for small snacks and cold drinks and also teas and coffees

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The softest pillow in any hotel and great staff.
Full Irish breakfast a perfect start to the day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us

We were very happy to see that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you loved our Pillows! This can make so much difference to a good nights sleep and then to wake up to a lovely cooked breakfast just a great way to start the day as you say

Once again thank you for your positive feedback and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here on our return from holiday recently and it was really lovely. Room was very spacious comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and really nice to the children too. The breakfast was huge too- great for the men!! Rates and parking were very good value, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us

We were delighted to see that your stay was an enjoyable one and happy to see your comments regarding our staff and their kindness towards your children

We do look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at the Metro Hotel for a couple of days. The hotel had put on a shuttle bus to take you from the airport to the hotel, when you arrive collect your luggage an head to the free phones over on your left, near an orange coloured food shop. The bus driver came an took us to the hotel, we ate in the restaurant that evening, which the meals and drinks was good value for money. Our room was clean and comfy. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. There is a bus stop close by, where you can hop onto an go into the city to go sightseeing an go to Croke Park. This hotel is value for money, if you want 5 stars go to the Hilton, I would recommend this hotel, and we look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments and very positive feedback regarding your stay with us
We were delighted to see that you were happy with all our facilities from the shuttle to the restaurant and bedroom, may I also thank you for your positive remarks regarding our staff which I will gladly pass over as we do pride ourselves in our highest standards of customer care.
We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future and delighted once again that ebverything was to your satisfaction
Kind Regards
Maria Mcdonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere over the Rainbow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed in the metro hotel for one night recently. Nice comfortable hotel , perfect for a short overnight stay when travelling to Dublin airport. It is only 10 minute drive max to the airport and is a perfect location at a much better price than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and remarks regarding your stay with us
We were delighted to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and also that you availed of all our ameneties

We do look forward to having the pleasure of your company in the near future

Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed at the Metro Hotel for a full week. It's a no-frills hotel, comfortable beds, clean rooms and friendly staff.

Rooms are adequate, older TV's with limited channel selection, bathrooms are stocked only with liquid soap (well, aside from towels and toilet paper) so don't forget to bring your own shampoo. Rooms also have safes and free wifi. At a cost of 47 euro per night, you can't go wrong!

Hotel is located in Ballymun, which use to be a rough part of Dublin. We never had any issues during the entire stay.

Restaurant food is good and they serve up a decent pint.

Shuttle takes you to and from airport. Looking for a decent, cheap place to crash? This is it! Looking for a lavish hotel with a pool and spa, look elsewhere...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us

We were delighted to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and do hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Maria McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Dublin Airport

Address: Santry Cross, Ballymun Road, Dublin 11, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel Dublin Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport is a 3 star hotel located within 7 minutes of Dublin Airport via airport shuttle and only 20 minutes from the city centre, the hotel comprises of 88 guest rooms, Rueben's Restaurant & Cafe Bar, 4 dedicated meeting rooms and secure car parking. All rooms are fitted with a power shower, hypnos beds, work desk, TV/DVD player and complimentary internet access via Wi-Fi & LAN. Rueben's Restaurant serves a cooked breakfast daily, light lunches and evening meals/bar snacks until midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metro Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Dublin
Days Hotel Dublin Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Dublin Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.