We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT MISS IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour

1916 Rebellion Walking Tour
23 Wicklow Street | The International Bar, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
00 353 86 85 83 847
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #13 of 171 Tours & Activities in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“DO NOT MISS IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Absolutely fantastic tour, very informative, with the usual Irish wit and sentiments. Regardless where you are from, rain or shine it is a must do when in Dublin. We are new Irish, there were natives in the group as well as foreign tourists and we all enjoyed it. Lorcan is a superbly knowledgeable and entertaining fella. Thank you so much for the great time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    30
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Kilda, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must do in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I took this tour on my last day in Dublin, as it seemed from an outside observer with little knowledge that so much of Ireland's history was tied to this event. Our guide, Lorcan, was phenomenally engaging and passionate about the subject and provided us with an outstanding overview of the 1916 Rising, in addition to a good overview of the city. I can't recommend this tour highly enough, especially for travellers wanting to escape the usual tour herds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Lorcan is a tour guide who is pssionate about his job, and he knows a lot about his Ireland's history!

The tour was amazing, i would go for it again in the future. If you are interested in the history of Ireland then go for this.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wow ..... history lesson plus !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A fantastic tour ..... Pat was our guide and he was so knowledgeable.
I'm from Australia, so my knowledge of the 1916 uprising is scant (to say the least!), but only one way to learn ....

We walked the square, the park, and to the Post Office, places I walk everyday when in Dublin .... what an eyeopener to walk it with Pat - I had no idea about the rich history in the streets....

Some of the lane ways are going to be demolished for a shopping centre ........... so get there before this part of Irish history is lost forever ...... (how this can happen is beyond me !!)

Tour is advertised as two hours ... but allow three - to allow some browsing time, before or after at the bookshop !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Wind that Shakes the Barley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fantastic tour with a knowledgeable guide. The guide, Lorcan Collins, is the author of the well-written book on James Connelly. TIP: Watch the film, The Wind that Shakes the Barley, before coming to Ireland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1916 Rebellion Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.