We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leeson Bridge - A little gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeson Bridge House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Leeson Bridge House to your Saves list
Leeson Bridge House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-Free Breakfas
Ranked #40 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Leeson Bridge - A little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Leeson Bridge Guest House on a weekend break to Dublin. Apart form the Aircoach from the airport (which stops about 10 metres from the hotel) we didn't use public transport or taxis at any time - which was absolutely brilliant!

Nice choccies on the bed, everything clean and fresh - not super luxury but definitely nice enough. We had an Executive Room, which had a sauna, and a jacuzzi (which was actually just a bath with jets), and it was very nice... we even had a single bed in our room as well as the king.

Breakfasts were great - nice selection of croissants, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, fruit, juices, etc... but no hot Irish breakfast, which was what we were expecting.

Overall - I think this is a great place to stay while visiting Dublin, very reasonable for what it is, I would definitely recommend to others and go back myself!

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — Can't fault it
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    210
    75
    29
    31
See reviews for
78
230
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

The website of this Guesthouse looks fabulous, and i'm sure that it is representative of some of the the rooms; but not room 107!

Room 107 is in the basement of the building (below ground level) and has no natural daylight. It has a very small window that opens on to the inside of the curb above. As a result the room is baking hot even without the radiators on and has no fresh air. The room is very small almost fully taken up with a small double bed. All this makes it feel more like a prison cell rather than a relaxing haven. Also the room is next to the breakfast room, toilets and staff room. This all adds to what was a very noisy and sleepless night!

The room does have a jacuzzi and sauna though.

The guest house is clean, as are the rooms. We asked to be
moved after the first night and room 118 was on the first floor and much better.

The location was very good, a 5-10 min walk to both St Stephen's Green and Grafton Street where there were some good pubs and restaurants.

So overall I would say a good simple and clean guesthouse, in a good location - just avoid room 107 at all costs!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room 107 - Very small, no natural light, no fresh air and very very noisy - Avoid this room
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid room 107! No cooked breakfast on offer.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

Stayed 2 nites in sept with my wife. Caught bus from Dublin airport to the front door of this hotel (bus goes thru city centre first then on to Lesson St - get off at the far end just after you pass over the small bridge - ask the driver for help if your not sure)
Check in very easy (booked direct with hotel via internet) , Room was clean , reasonable size and the welcoming chocolates on the bedside were most appreciated. Very easy 5 to 10 minute walk to city centre (cut thru St Stephens Green park for a plesant walk) Good breakfast and front desk staff very helpful. Great value hotel for the location.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

if you want somewhere close enough to the fun, but far away enough from the hustle and bustle, this is the place to stay. i spoke to the lovely young man on reception a couple of days before our arrival to arrange for champagne on ice to be put into our friends room for her birthday- he confirmed our rooms would be executive, both with jacuzzi and sauna. everything was just as arranged when we arrived and we were delighted to find the continental breakfast was available til 12 noon - the choice was extensive and well prepared. the hotel is about a twenty minute walk to grafton street, lovely if you walk through st stephens park. we enjoyed drinking in the temple bar area and stayed for a late night at the club, rio, situtated a two minute stagger away from the guest house. the price was very reasonable and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. the woman on reception caused confusion as we collected our bags to leave for the airport which was annoying as we had a taxi with the meter running waiting for us outside. however, we would have no hesitation in recommending it and would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — excellent facilities in rooms
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

My hubbie and I have just returned from two nights at this hotel. Its very clean, BUT it was not made clear just exactly how far a walk it is from the main attractions of Dublin. I am not that mobile, and a '10 minute walk' is manageable - but a 25 to 30 minute walk to Grafton Street and the main part of the city centre is not. Had we known just how far away it was we would definately have booked elsewhere, particularly as the rates are advertised at 69 euro per room per night and we somehow ended up having to pay almost twice that amount (its ok but not worth that amount of money). The sauna and jacuzzi were nice, but very small. One of the three windows wouldnt open and one of the over bed lights were smashed. The receptionist was friendly, but the breakfast waiting staff looked as if a smile was an impossible achievement for them. The breakfast was ok. If you are thinking of staying here check the rate you are paying beforehand, and if you have any mobility issues then stay somewhere more central - you will probably end up paying slightly more but it would be worth it.
Jayney

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

With my job i spend an awful lot of time on the road and stay in a wide variety of accommodation throughout Ireland. A colleague of mine reccommended The Leeson Bridge Guesthouse to me and i am glad he did. From start to finish, i was looked after for my every need. The rooms are spacious and spotless, complimentry broadband and lcd Tvs in the room all for 69 euro including continental breakfast!! Its within walking distance of any where you need to go in the south city centre, which saved me on parking!! the luas is two minutes walk and the aircoach stopped outside. Thumbs Up!!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leeson Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeson Bridge House

Address: 1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeson Bridge House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeson Bridge House is located on Leeson Street Bridge, an exclusive and safe area of Dublin city close to St Stephen's Green and graciously over looks Dublin's Grand Canal on a street of Georgian Houses, in the historic Georgian quarter of Dublin. It is fine example of a Georgian House where the special architectural features have been preserved. It offers the guest stylish accommodation within walking distance of St Stephen's Green and all the attractions of Dublin city - concert and exhibition centre, theatres, lively pubs, restaurants and the main shopping areas of Dublin city. The Leeson Bridge Guest House is easily accessible by local Buses, Taxis, Luas and Dart train services with the Aircoach stopping outside our door. The Leeson Bridge Guesthouse offers guests a relaxing and stress free visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Leeson Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Leeson Bridge Hotel
Leeson Bridge Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeson Bridge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.