We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it was” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leeson Bridge House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Leeson Bridge House to your Saves list
Leeson Bridge House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-Free Breakfas
Ranked #40 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for what it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I paid a bit extra and sprung for the nicest room in the hotel. It had a Jacuzzi bathtub and a nice sauna. Unfortunately, it was a bit stuffy with a little fan to move the hot air around. I tried to open the windows (I was on the second floor) and they opened just a bit to provide some relief. Also, the seal around the tub was loose and the carpet could be redone. Otherwise, it was an enjoyable stay with a nice breakfast before I caught a train to Tralee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    210
    75
    29
    31
See reviews for
78
230
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection so my room at the front was noisy if you had the window open, hot and stuffy if you didn't. Perfectly comfortable bed, lighting etc but the tiniest bathroom with the shower in the same place as the loo, so you had to dry it with a towel afterwards. Most eccentric. Had arrived late by arrangement after reception closed (9pm). Internet very unreliable in my room so couldn't use it till reception opened at 8am when man on duty who could barely be bothered to look up, told me to try a different password which didn't work, then said oh well you'll have to go in the kitchen. No idea where kitchen was, no labels on doors. BUT having got that off my chest, I should say that I certainly had the worst room in the hotel (only one left when I booked), there were much nicer ones, a pleasant garden courtyard at the back, the place was clean, well located and very good value. Eight minute walk into town, lots of buses and the air coach stops outside. Main receptionist, Mary, was a delight - welcoming and accommodating. So actually I would go back but with a room upgrade next time.

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms if you like to sleep with window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed sadly only for one night. On a motorcycle tour of Ireland, it was great to have dry, secure parking. Our room was lovely; large comfy bed, sauna in the room and jacuzzi bath. Minutes walk from St Stephens Green, but far enough away for some peace and quiet from busy Dublin. Fantastic breakfast and plenty of it. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Would definitely stay again if we get the opportunity and would have liked to stay for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you travel hard and fast as my husband and I do, attempting to see as much as possible in one day using public transportation this location may be a bit far from the night time action. The accommodations are otherwise clean, relaxing, with a mature decorum. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Overall, Leeson Bridge Guesthouse is a lovely place. Thanks Beth

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Five of us stayed just one night, we went to the Aviva stadium for a concert.This guesthouse and its staff were really good from booking to check out.
Actual guesthouse is in a central location for all Dublin's attractions. The parking facilities are secure, if a little cramped. The house is full of character and our room was spacious, even had its own kitchenette. It was clean, well maintained, and, being on an upper floor was airy and no noise pollution. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and served until 11, which was GREAT!!
We would all recommend to others and are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for concert in RDS. Excellent value and location. Staff helpful and friendly and room for three adults was first class. Plenty of amenities near by, breakfast very good and well worth the price. Will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We travel to Ireland each year for our anniversary. This year we stayed the entire week in Dublin at Leeson Bridge Guesthouse. The accommodations were charming. The entire staff minus one, was extremely friendly and helpful. In fact they were more than helpful in giving directions, modes of transportation recommendations and local dining referrals. I'll let the minus one go, not worth the comment. Especially helpful were Mary and a young lady that had desk duty on weekends. I should have gotten her name since she was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The food was excellent and the ladies who prepared and kept the buffet stocked were the best.

There are however a few things you should be aware of. The basement room 105 can be quite noisy from the room/s above. Simple walking and door slamming can be heard at night as well as hearing water draining in the wall behind the beds.. While WiFi is advertised, it was non existent in the room we occupied. We had to go to the communal lounge whenever we wanted to go on line. The room closes at 9 P.M. so that could be a bit inconvenient. The lounge could use a an update. It isn't as comfortable as one would expect. It was the path to a Real Estate office. That didn't cause much of a problem but you could sometimes hear telephone calls coming from the office as you did your email, watched TV. It was also used as luggage storage for those coming or going that day.

We would leave each morning and return each afternoon around 3 PM. A number of days our room hadn't been made up as yet and we had to wait in the lounge while the room was being done. I guess not a big thing but there really aren't that many rooms that this should happen. We stayed for 7 days and they could see us coming and going so our return should not have been a surprise. Our room was never vacuumed our entire stay yet we could hear vacuums running in other rooms.

The area in Dublin is very nice. It is situated along a canal and it's a treat to watch the barges go from one level to another in a Panama Canal style set of locks raising the barge to a different level.

We don't want this to sound like a negative review. The items mentioned kept us from giving
four or five star rating. We think it has the potential to be much better with just a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: There is a lift so there is no reason to stay in the basement room unless there is nothing else avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leeson Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeson Bridge House

Address: 1 Upper Leeson Street | Dublin 4, Dublin D4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeson Bridge House 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeson Bridge House is located on Leeson Street Bridge, an exclusive and safe area of Dublin city close to St Stephen's Green and graciously over looks Dublin's Grand Canal on a street of Georgian Houses, in the historic Georgian quarter of Dublin. It is fine example of a Georgian House where the special architectural features have been preserved. It offers the guest stylish accommodation within walking distance of St Stephen's Green and all the attractions of Dublin city - concert and exhibition centre, theatres, lively pubs, restaurants and the main shopping areas of Dublin city. The Leeson Bridge Guest House is easily accessible by local Buses, Taxis, Luas and Dart train services with the Aircoach stopping outside our door. The Leeson Bridge Guesthouse offers guests a relaxing and stress free visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Leeson Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Leeson Bridge Hotel
Leeson Bridge Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeson Bridge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.