We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even bother coming here, awful experience!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Court to your Saves list
Abbey Court
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't even bother coming here, awful experience!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

OK....where do I even start, I booked this hostel for me & 5 of my friends about 6 weeks ago and after reading previous reviews it seemed a good, cheap, heart of the city centre, friendly place to stay & the reviews didn't sound to bad either, and to be fair we wanted some were cheap & cheerful well there was no-way I would even consider this place again. We arrived mid afternoon and we were looking forward to our 1st experience of Dublin & enjoy our two night stay, well turns out we had to spend all of 1st day looking elsewhere to stay as apparently they didn't receive our reservation even though I clearly had a confirmation email from hostelbookers.com to confirm i paid a deposit and to pay the balance on arrival, this was not the case! Instead they had sold our dorm to other people for double the price (because apparently Bobby the manager can, plus it seems a bit of a coincidence Ireland vs Germany were playing so they probably ripped them off...anyway because of their mistake Bobby gave us an alternative for 200euros...'The Hammock Room' which was not even a room as it didn't have any doors or locks even had a camera in there, and he was wanting to charge us 200euros for 6 young girls to stay in a communal room with two hammocks and he was even going to lay some mattresses down for us (aww how kind!) Well as you can imagine we weren't happy 6 girls sleeping in a room that any-one could just wonder in, don't even want to imagine what it would have been like if we stupid enough to accept this offer it's not worth thinking about!! In the end we decided to go elsewhere but before we did I just want to say how abrupt & aggressive he was and as a businessman he wasn't very reasonable with us and in his head he was just thinking about the extra money he was gonna make & put in his back pocket. Anyway turned out we stayed in The Arlington Hotel about 3/4 doors up and they sympathised with our situation & guess what...they even knew Bobby & apparently has a bit of a reputation for messing things up, well if I was any-one considering this place to re-consider & pay an extra 20euros to stay in a hotel least you know you will be safe in your room & have locks on your doors!! Looking at the recent reviews this hostel sounds dirty & not very clean so in a way I am glad they sold our rooms as we ended up getting bigger, better rooms at the Arlington, staff were lovely & can’t thank them enough for helping us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    131
    75
    40
    36
See reviews for
21
55
88
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When i arrived at Abbey Court they said my booking had not been confirmed. They made another arrangement for us to stay in the Hostel and told us we could stay in the Hammock Room. We were told by the owner that he would provide mattresses and bedding also and that we would be very comfortable when we arrived home after the night out the "Hammock Room" had people in it so we had to sleep on couches in the games room. This place is a joke do yourself a favour and stay away.

Room Tip: To choose a good rooom pick another hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a stag party, Droped my bag in,got my room key. Straight forward I thought for my first stay in a hostel. Had no problems. Came back drunk after the Temple Bar and went fast asleep. Woke up had a shower and left. Cant believe now at the age of 33 what a waste of money hotels are. I was in the mixed 10 bedroom . I was the only fellow in it. Nightmare,LOL.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Abbey Court Apartments had a lot of good reviews on Tripadvisor so I thought it'd be a sure thing to stay in there 1 bedroom apartments for two days. The apartments are located right in the city centre (probably the only good point about it) just a 2 minute walk from the Abbey Court Hostel, O'Connell Street and Temple Bar. Upon entering the block which our apartment was in we noticed a thick scent of cigarettes smoke/musty smell which lingered on right up to the third floor. On occasions the room would smell like it was wafting in from the corridor. The whole place had a network failure for Internet for the entire 48 hours we were there and the television wasn't working due to bad antennas which were located on the windowsill of the apartments. The shower fixture on the wall was barely attached so the shower head faced downward which gave the tiled walls a better wash than it did me. The heater in the living area was broken but thankfully the small one in the bedroom worked so we didn't dare turn it off for the duration of our stay in case it didn't turn back on. The Kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could need to cook two minute noodles but what I found weird was that there was no tea or coffee sachets provided. The table in the living area was sooooo sticky (I'm guessing from the previous tenants) that I sat a pamphlet I'd picked up somewhere on the table and when I tried to pick it up it stuck and half of it ripped off leaving the table with a permanent fixture of a Dublin tourist attraction. The washing machine didn't work which was the least of our problems because we didn't need it but I can imagine some people would like to do there washing without having to walk their way back to the main hostel to do it. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying in this place and its just a shame to have to give it one star at all. €160 for two night wasted as far as I'm concerned.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in Abbey Court Apartments recently. Location excellent, 30 meters from Abbey Court hostel. We booked a one bedroom apartment, with fold up bed in living area. Very clean bedroom, nice living area and kitchen with full cooker. The apartments are part of a large complex of residential apartments just at the back of Bachelors Walk and Litton Lane. It appears that the hostel own a few apartments in this complex. The enclosed garden is just heavenly,
The computers in the main hostel have no internet and look like antiques. The staff are friendly but do not expect them to attend to problems, No effort was made to fix the leaking shower or replace a missing television remote.
Excellent location, clean apartment but disappointing staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We (2 girls) stayed in Abbey Court Hostel for two nights in September 2012. We booked two beds in a 24 bed mixed dorm which was not a problem at all and all "disturbances" were anticipated.

On the positive side: the location, however, is great as it is a 5 min walk to Temple Bar and the hostel was relatively clean.

On the negative side:
* We booked the hostel on the internet, because it advertised free parking and free wifi. None of those have been provided. At arrival we have been told that a parking lot had to be booked in advance and that it was full now. Unfortunately we never had the chance to book and and have not been informed that we needed to book it via telephone. So we had to park in a multi-storey parking at Fleet Street. The very unhelpful member of staff was not able to give us right directions which led us being lost in Dublin City Centre. She tried to mark the route from the hostel to Fleet Street parking on a city map, but totally failed because she did not consider one-way streets. She also could not tell how much the parking was, but she thought there may be some reduction. (Tipp: For seniors and students it is only 10€ per 24 hrs)

* When we were back at the hostel after having parked the car, we checked-in and were given our key cards. It was quarter to two. We went up to our room to find out that we could unlock the door. After enquiring the reason at reception, we were informed that we could only enter our room at 2pm.

* Wifi did not really work. Smartphones and laptops had a signal in the computer room and in the kitchen, but is was very weak. So all in all, it was useless.
The alternative to using your own smartphone was going online at one of the five computers. If they would have worked. Only 3 out of 5 computers could have been turned on!

* Abbey Court Hostel is working with key cards. No problem at all, we thought, but when we arrived late one night, we could not open the door to our room. Back at the reception, another very incompetent staff member told us that the key cards are "very weak" and that they do not work when put together in wallets with ATM cards.
The night after, we did not experience this problem any more. Key cards worked in the evening. But when I went to the toilet at around 3 am and came back to the room, I was locked outside. Key card did not work! And it was not having been put together with ATM cards. Fortunately, someone woke up to open the door for me.

* Good reviews on this hostel at tripadvisor are probably just because people are encouraged to give 100% ratings in order to get 15% discount on the next booking (see picture!).

* Staff members of Abbey Court Hostel are unfriendly, incompetent and cannot cope with criticism. A complaint fell on deaf ears.

We have travelled around the world staying in backpackers and hostels and we have never experienced something like at Abbey Court!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Abbey Court for two nights over a weekend in Dublin. The price was very reasonable, location was excellent (right in the city centre, just a 5 min walk from Temple Bar) and the guys and girls on reception were very helpful and welcoming during check-in. We stayed in a 24 bed dorm and imagined it wouldn't be a fantastic experience but, the rooms was clean, the bed was comfortable, everyone was friendly (it was a great way to meet people) and everyone slept fine. The bathrooms and toilets are kept relatively clean but could be better signposted as they are rather hard to find. The breakfast offering was ok. Again, during check-out everyone on reception was very helpful, providing excellent advice on where to get a late breakfast and where to get a taxi. I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 24 bed dorms are slightly cheaper and they are a good way to meet people, although this will be depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court

Address: 29 Bachelor's Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court 2*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Court hostel and Apartments are located in the very centre of Dublin City, just at O'Connell Bridge and within walking distance of all the popular city attractions. It is a family-run business and we pride ourselves in the warmth of our welcome. With private rooms and dormitories ranging from four to twenty-four beds, we cater for lone travelers, couples, groups of friends and larger group bookings. Included in your stay is free breakfast, free skype landline calls and free WIFI through out. There is always something to do as there is a games room, cinema room, hammock room, large common area and plenty more. Staff are available 24 hours for any advice needed and there is no curfew. Its cleanliness, great friendly vibe, location and low prices make it the best hostel in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Dublin
Abbey Court Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.