We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOme of the best barmen in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Long Hall

The Long Hall
51 S Great Georges Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
1 475 1590
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 612 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Estd 1840, Authentic Victorian era traditional Dublin Pub, antique clocks and mirrors, warm friendly atmosphere. Sun-Wed from 4pm. Thurs-Sat from 1pm.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“SOme of the best barmen in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Go when its quite and enjoy the old atmosphere of a lovely old Dublin pub. Great pint as well At other times the crowd is out on the street but you wll always find some craic here

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    37
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Proper pub .. they way the should be !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great old pub the way pubs should be Phil Lynotts video for one of his songs was filmed here ..Old Town I think ...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classy service, great drinks, historic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm from Texas, where pouring a beer is viewed as a mundane task at best and an aggravation most often. The bartenders at the Long Hall view their work as an art. Beautiful pours, attentive service and an obvious sense of pride in and attention to detail -- the bartenders' quiet confidence left me with great respect for them.

The place is beautiful and takes you back to a different era. One of the more authentic Dublin experiences we had.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good pub... Actually really good pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i visited very recently to cath up with friends. It has been a number of years since I visited and I was delighted to see that the Long Hall still held it's charm.... It's a lovely old style pub in which you can actually hear what your friends are saying rather than being drowned out by loud music. This might not be to everyone's taste but it certainly was to mine. The staff are very friendly. if you are in Dublin city it's well worth a look...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Crowded...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice little bar in a busy spot but too crowded at weekends. Go on Sun - Wed evenings to get a nice space and enjoy a conversation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Long Hall also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Long Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Long Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.