We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough for a short stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hazelbrook House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hazelbrook House to your Saves list
Hazelbrook House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85/86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Co Cork
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent enough for a short stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have stayed here a few times since 1997. Back then, they were more friendly and have changed hands since then....but they are ok now too, I just enjoyed the staff more years ago.

The parking is very tight in a garage out the back.
The accommodation can vary from decent front rooms looking out on to the busy Gardiner street which I personally prefer to the more dark rooms at the back looking out on to a small yard or yard area.
Beds are not the softest in the world but will do the job.

I would stay here again if I was only looking for a quick place to crash for the night....no glamour here but as I say, quite decent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front, they are bigger and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Totalamnesia

All of our beds have been fitted with Memory Foam Mattresses (most of the 4 star hotels in Dublin do not have Memory Foam mattresses) so your comment about our mattress is rejected.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    77
    93
    51
    35
See reviews for
36
87
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night with three friends. We had a room with one double bed and three singles - and the smallest bathroom in the world! The room was clean and suited us for one night. The shower was awful, no pressure and no temperature control, it went from freezing to scalding every 30 seconds.....It's hovering on a fine line between B&B and hostel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Igloo

It was great to have your group stay with us, our large family rooms have bathrooms that are equal in size and quality to any hotel or guesthouse in Dublin of an equal star-rating, however, each person is entitled to their own opinion. As explained water pressure can vary depending on usage, we have a very clear eco policy that ensures that our water is used effectively and efficiently, equally our green policy ensures that our carbon footprint is kept to an absolute minimum. I have personally stayed in hotels that burn gas 24/7 and pump out boiling water 24/7, however, this is not eco/green friendly and we will continue to provide a good quality service that impacts as little as possible on our planet.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards

The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Reading the list of negative comments reminds me of the comment "opinions are like ar**holes....everyones got one!!" Yes, there may have been some minor problems if you like to nit-pick but overall this is a well run little B&B.

Simone and her staff made 10 lads aged between 25 & 57 very welcome upon our arrival. Check in was easy and the two rooms we had below street level were of a good size, clean and well worth the money we paid. The door of one of the showers was broken off when we arrived but was fixed by the maintenance man within 10mins of check-in. We were given suggestions where to go and treated very well throughout. The beds/duvets were some of the best i`ve slept in and this is comparing to the likes of Best Westerns, Travelodge and Premier Inn`s

The only negative from the room was that hot water was pretty sparse and the window didn`t open.

One word of warning if you are a single traveller, the single bedded, shared bath rooms at the annex at the back of the building are not worth the 59 Euro tag, so just plump a bit more for a double or twin. One of our party was late booking and went for that option and whereas the room was clean and cosy it did resemble a jail cell.

The premises itself is clean, central to all local ammenities and the airport bus stops directly outside. If like us you`re with a group, this is a wonderful B&B and we will be returning when we go to Dublin again in the future.

Room Tip: For group bookings of over 5, ask for rooms 1&2. Good little base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Matt

It was a pleasure to have your group of great guys stay with us at Hazelbrook House, we look forward to your return visit, we are constantly trying to improve our customer service and your feedback is very welcome. Our city centre location means that we are within walking distance of all major attractions including award winning restaurants, bars and places of historic and cultural interest.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arrived at hotel to find the accomadation had changed the 4 bed an 3bed turned into 4doubles the rooms were being used an meant one of us had to b on our own it had no wardrobes an cold water in most the price we paid was without breakfast an there was no facilities for food in saying that the beds etc were clean an staff all really helpfull an accomadating apart from the hiccups with arrival an rooms they did try to rectify wot they could the place was central enough an we all enjoyed our stay after our inticial hiccups were sorted wid have been nice if a recopppence of some sort was given bt wouldn't stop me going bk if this improved staff were lovely an the central location were bonus

Room Tip: Contact them before arrival make sure bking is still in order
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Rondo67

Firstly, we really enjoyed having your group of 8 fun ladies stay with us at Hazelbrook House, as you know, we made every good effort to keep your group together and I even gave you my own personal hair-drier when all the house hair-driers had been borrowed. I did explain that we had removed all of the out-dated furniture (including wardrobes) and new beds with memory foam mattresses had been installed and our new modern hangers (that will replace the old style wardrobes) are to be installed after 1st April when the manufactures will provide us with same.

Sorry about any inconvenience in relation to the wardrobes and we really look forward to your next stay.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self-drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

Regards
The TEAM at Hazelbrook House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Small rooms with terrible customer service and staff. Rooms overheat at night and the doorknobs don't even work. Toilets flush every 5-10 minutes and bathrooms are not clean at all. Messed up my groups reservation and are blaming us for the mistake and keeping our money. Save the stress and stay somewhere else

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Reyn

You have made false representations here on TripAdvisor in relation to your stay at Hazelbrook House and your comments are defamatory and libellous. You and your American buddies booked ONE-ROOM for 5 people on an OTA and then you proceeded to try and sneak another 5 people into the room, however, our Night-Porter stopped your breach of our Fire-Safety and Health and Safety regulations and your 5 buddies agreed to pay for a second room before the Gardai (Police) were called to address your illegal activity. This is the first time in my 20 years experience in the Irish Hotel industry that I have found Americans trying to get a room for free.

Your activity was shameful as well as illegal and it has all been captured on CCTV for posterity. If you want rooms for nothing you should try a trailer park.

While we are reluctant to exclude anyone from our premises, your activity would be at the higher end of the scale in relation to poor conduct and the names of your group have been passed onto the American Embassy.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 4 friends, all in one room, for a rugby weekend. Room was very clean, beds comfortable and bathroom adequate. The hotel is right in the centre of Dublin. For £60 each for two nights, you can't go wrong.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Racheal

It was a great pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us at Hazelbrook House, we remember your group well and we thank you for choosing Hazelbrook House for your stay in Dublin.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Very small room with very little space
Old-fashioned style inside
Not very clean and tidy
Staff didn't have a good level of understanding of the English language
Handy to center of Dublin
Area was dodgy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Hazelbrook House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Natasha

I am sorry that your experience was not as good as it could have been when you stayed at Hazelbrook House, I am not sure which room you stayed in and I am sorry if it was one of the rooms that had not yet been refurnished. We take great pride in our rooms and premises and it is disappointing that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I would ask that you give us another try and the information below will explain why we think you should give us another chance.

We have now completely refurnished our 53 bedrooms, these rooms range from our large family rooms to our small, comfortable budget singles. Our Room 23 has been restored to its original Georgian splendour with a modern twist. All of our bedrooms have been fitted with new beds including Memory Foam mattresses offering our guests a great night’s sleep in the heart of Dublin city. Our rooms have been painted, carpets replaced and new modern furniture and fittings installed.

Our new lobby area is now complete and our small garden areas are beginning to bloom as Spring breaks through the air. We have also completed our limited self drive car parking spaces that cost €10 per night.

Our large family rooms offer a double bed and three singles and are very popular with families visiting Dublin Zoo and other major attractions, stag and hen parties find our family rooms and our close proximity to Temple Bar a real bonus.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazelbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook House

Address: 85/86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazelbrook House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hazelbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelbrook House Hotel Dublin
Hazelbrook Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazelbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.