We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hazelbrook House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hazelbrook House to your Saves list
Hazelbrook House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85/86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
1 review
“Run away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This a cold place if carpets need to be replaced the wall sockets were fallen off the walls there was a smell of smoke im the room when i opened the door the breakfast was ok and the beds need some new mattress this places is not a places i would every bringing me kids i was sacred that one of them would touch the sockets will never stay at this places again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    79
    93
    51
    35
See reviews for
36
88
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed one night in Hazelbrook House. The room was small, a little dingy, but comfortable. Community bathrooms and showers were CLEAN (very important factor for me). The hotel was secure with 24-hour desk service. The location was conveniently located within walking distance to town center and the tourist center. Also, just feet from a bus stop. Breakfast was very good,and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We got this room really last minute at a good price. the room was small but comfortable and clean and warm. The showers were great and it was quiet enough and the location was pretty good for what we needed it for. We got breakfast included and that was fine too.
The girl at the front desk was really nice too. So no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The location is very good as bus stop from airport right outside the hotel and easy walking to central Dublin.
We had a double room which was quite small but fine for what we needed. Linen and towels were clean & fresh and room generally clean. The mugs however had not been cleaned from previous occupants and there was thick dust in some high areas (eg. top tiles in en-suite) which could have easily been removed.
Breakfast choice quite limited and not huge portions however very nice all the same.
In general it was a reasonably priced B&B in central Dublin and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this B&B for a weekend. The plus side - the location was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were great. The down side was that it was very old fashioned and could do with some modernisation. The bed was comfortable enough and the shower ok although there wasnt any hand towels provided. Also quite noisey outside as next to main road. All in all, it was cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Plus side - bus stop to airport outside the door, luggage room, some friendly staff trying hard. Otherwise an extremely unpleasant experience and wishing we'd stayed at the Abraham Hostel 2 doors down where friends stayed - that was cheaper and clean with a free breakfast. Hazelbrook House is shabby, run down, dirty, and extremely poor value for money. Everything cheap and nasty, falling apart, ancient mattress, grime in the corners, stained carpets, shower drain clogged with hairs, gunge in the soapdish, hooks falling off the walls (which were thin), lot of road noise. Had to pay in advance without seeing the room, would have cancelled if we'd seen it first. Annexe looked even worse. Breakfast ok but limited - no fruit, cheap flavourless tea, cardboard toast, squash instead of real juice. Hated it and felt ripped off, the low point of an otherwise fantastic trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in one of the annex rooms and yes, they are tiny. But if all you want is somewhere to sleep, it's okay. The main problem is that the walls are so thin that I could hear the occupant in the neighbouring room snoring quite clearly, and I could also hear his ablutions in the morning...

We stayed in room 3b, which had a terrible leak in one corner of the ceiling which dripped water onto the carpet all night and nearly drove himself insane. Also there was no soap in the shower, which he only discovered once he'd gotten into it.

I found the room very expensive for what it was, considering the maintenance issues which should have been noticed.

The breakfast was very good, but the coffee was awful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazelbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbrook House

Address: 85/86 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazelbrook House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hazelbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelbrook House Hotel Dublin
Hazelbrook Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazelbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.