We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and style done in a very friendly way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dylan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Derby, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxury and style done in a very friendly way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

This is a simply fantastic hotel - we enjoyed our stay immensely. The rooms are stylish and elegant, and with fabulously comfy beds. The bar is fantastic, with a great range of drinks and house cocktails (try the one called bramble!). As for the restaurant, what can I say - the food is GORGEOUS! If you want a bit of peace while you're there, take time out in the "library" - a very relaxing way to spend a few hours in the afternoon.
The most impressive thin about the Dylan is however, the staff - they are brilliant. Very friendly, very helpful, and very attentive - but not in an intrusive way. I couldn't praise them more.
The hotel is in a quiet, georgian area, only a 15-20 min walk (along a straight road) from the main shopping/pub-restaurants area off Grafton Street, so you're not too far away from all the nightlife if you want to spend the evening out, or shop during the day Overall we were very impressed, and we'll definitely be going again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    136
    43
    25
    9
See reviews for
24
384
33
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Just recently stayed in the Dylan for a weekend trip to Dublin from London. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful upon arrival. Our room was small, but it was not lacking in anything -- in particular the bed was very comfortable. The location was great off the main road and only 15 minutes walk to St. Stephen's Green. Also note that across the road is the Expresso Bar which has fantastic brunch. We also had a full Irish breakfast in the room one morning and it was top-notch too. Check out the bar downstairs -- although pricey (which is Dublin in general).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

On a recent stay we were initially apprehensive as our reception was a bit chilly and we were greeted with plumbing problems in our room. The problems were quickly resolved and we we given a new nicer room. The room design and layout was perfect, the bed and bath comfortable and the amenities top rate. While the hotel is a bit of a schlepp to the main attractions of Dublin, I would not hesitate recommending it. In particular, Madison Fox, the concierge/front desk staffer, was very helpful in providing spot-on restaurant and nightlife recommendations, even suggesting one or two very cool places which were so far off the beaten track that I was sure we were the only yanks in the place. Kudos to Madison.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Dylan for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. We chose the hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor and the rate (3 for 2) that we found; note that although the hotel claims best rates, we found that we could book the dates we wanted through tablet hotels but not through the website (arr Thursday dep Sunday).

The hotel is well located and as per other reviews, 10-15 minutes walk away from town. We arrived late at night and were shown to our (standard) room; the first impressions were generally pleasant, but I realised that the Dylan lets itself down on the smaller details. Arriving in early December, the heating in the room was c. 24C, so far too hot and stuffy for most people. The lighting is very modern / mood - unfortunately this means that there's no real lighting if you wanted to work or read in the room. Our room was located in the newer section of the building, and we could hear the bar noises from below at night, and other sounds from above during the day.

Our room was slightly on the small side (I think the bed was a small queen or large double) but it was the cheapest, so perhaps this is understandable. The room faced the street; however, as a first floor room it seemed a shame that we had to have the curtains drawn during the day - there was no privacy / sheer blind option to allow natural light to come through without being seen by people on the street. In general the rooms were decorated to a high standard, and felt clean.

The shower was pleasant and the products by Etro were nice but very strongly scented. Our bathroom would have benefitted from heated floors, and more storage around the basin - we hardly had room for our toothbrush by the sink, and ended up keeping everything else in the main room. The bathrobes provided were nice but slightly different from one another, and not as soft as I would have expected. Furthermore, whilst these were hung up each day by housekeeping, they failed to do the small things like re-tie the belt (which most boutique / top end hotels would). On the matter of the bathroom, we were unfortunate and found on two occasions that there was no cold water available (a rather bizarre twist on the norm) - not easy when brushing teeth! We did mention this to management on departure and they seemed surprised and said they would look into it.

The Dylan kindly provides small bottles of water at night; however, these are only replaced at turn-down service, which means that even after housekeeping has visited, empty glass bottles of water are left out! Note that there are no tea / coffee facilities in the rooms. On the subject of beverages, we were also incorrectly charged for an item from the mini-bar following departure.

On the plus side, the Dylan does some things well. Free wi-fi was available throughout the hotel. Breakfast was divine and included in our rate, although at c. EUR 30 per person it would be steep if not. There was also a thorough selection of newspapers and magazines (ie, the Economist) available in the breakfast room. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

I'm sure that this is undoubtedly one of the better hotels in Dublin; however, compared to other leading worldwide cities, it falls short. The Dylan should concentrate on refining the boutique details of the hotel in order to become truly world class.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We spent three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the Dylan,and we had a lovely time.The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable,nothing was too much trouble,they even lent us a suitcase scale as we were flying with the dreaded Ryanair.That was our only mistake we had never flown with Ryanair before and never will again,interestingly neither would anybody we spoke to in Ireland.However the Dylan more than made up for our awful journey both ways.W e booked through Mr and Mrs Smith and would also like to recommend doing this as we had breakfast included free as we booked through them.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

This is a fine hotel in a nice, big house about a 10-15 minute walk from St Stephen's Green. The location is probably better if you already know Dublin and are happy to be off the beaten track - it gets a little tiresome trekking it into town a couple of times a day if you want to go visiting things - but then the area itself has charm, right next to the canal and very well positioned for plenty of excellent restaurants. You could spend most of your time in the room though - it's very comfortable, cosy, and private, with a great Bang & Olufson sound system, etc.. They've clearly made a major investment in this place, and have made a point of the "design" - everything, from furniture to door handles, is what might be classed "funky", a bit like a VIP lounge at a club, which personally isn't to my taste and so was a little off-putting as I have a feeling it could date quite quickly (if it hasn't already). To me it started to look a little cheesy, but that's just my personal taste, as I like things a bit more classical - have a look at the website and if you like wavey, curvey, plastic extravagances, etc. then you'll love the place. We didn't try the food as we were out too much, up too late and had too long a list of restaurants to go to, but it has a good reputation. It did seem, for the size of hotel it is (very large fo a "boutique"), that the communal areas were pretty limited and the small reception doesn't seem to gel with the ambitions of the hotel. But as I say, you could as happily stay in the room. All in all, a comfortable place that, if you like this kind of design and don't mind the location, is a good choice. Nice staff too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

If you go to Ireland you MUST stay at the Dylan! It is beyond wonderful. I have trouble sleeping at hotels but this one was so lovely and the beds are so comfortable that I had three perfect nights of sleep. We had a huge room with fabulous decor and even the rollaway cots were great for my twin boys. Our first fantastic impression was how the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us when we arrived after such a long flight overseas- they let us check in early and we had a much-needed nap!! We thank Simon and Fiona, and all the staff were lovely!! Breakfast was delicious and the dining room is unique as is the very stylish bar area. The boys loved the brownies that were brought to the room each evening along with chocolates and water for the bedside. The staff also offered great places to eat and supplied us with a map of the city. We are very picky and this hotel just exceeded our every expectation!! We already want to come back just to stay at the Dylan again! Thank you to everyone at this unique and wonderful smaller hotel! We loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dylan is bright, vibrant and fun. This is reflected through the design & style of the hotel and the responsive personality driven team. Dylan bar will be upbeat, sensual and bordering on the decadent. The close space overflows onto the feature terrace. Still, the restaurant will be serving modern Irish food with boutique qualities. Chef, Padraic Hayden's highest standards will wow the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, HotelsClick, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.