We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trendy hotel, Awesome customer service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dylan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great trendy hotel, Awesome customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was excellent, the decor is modern quirky with every amenity required. Fine linens and super comfy beds made it a great place for rest in-between our tours. The bar and restaurant are top class, the breakfast was pricey but good. Peter (Barkeep) makes a perfect Hot Shot Galliano, Irish kid named Paul (barkeep) kept us laughing at the bar the whole night. Israel was the perfect waiter at every meal. And front staff Madison and Sultan went completely out of their way to make our stay spectacular, from fetching us taxi's and giving great restaurant advice and places to sight see, to helping us find a doc when my wife sprained her knee.
It is a 15 to 20 minute walk to most sights which was kinda nice to be in a quiet neighborhood, 10Euro taxi would have you there in 5 minutes. We will definitely stay at the Dylan on our next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    413
    138
    46
    25
    9
See reviews for
25
387
33
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed on a Monday evening on business so probably got a very good rate as a result. However the hotel has a nice individual feel to it and the staff were helpful and welcoming. I had a room on the first floor and it was lovely - I immediately though it would be a lovely place for a romantic break. The bathroom was lovely and warm with underfloor heating. The TV was not great, yes a flat screen, but a bit of an old model with not a great picture - but it did n't bother me as I wasn't here to watch TV. I eat breakfast in the hotel which was table service and of a decent quality. I did walk into the city centre and it took me about 20 minutes. Overall I would definately come back with my partner if I was staying in Dublin - I thought good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I found this hotel to be expensive by comparison to much nicer places available in Dublin.Also it is quite a way from the main tourist attractions, I had to pay for a taxi, or have a very long walk. The room on the third floor was no more than an attic room with a sloping ceiling and an arched window too high to see out of. The bathroom like, the rest of the hotel, looked wonderful but the shower was not very good, the bathroom lighting was poor, and the glass 'bowl' style sink had a large tap over it, so every time you tried to wash your face or clean your teeth, you soaked yourself and the bathroom floor. The room was very hot and I had trouble getting it to a decent temperature. There were no curtains, just wooden blinds, and one section was broken and let the light in first thing in the morning which woke me up.It was impossible to get housekeeping to part with more than two tea bags a day, very frustrating when you want a cup of tea in the afternoon, to find the two from breakfast haven't been replaced.The staff generally were very nice and helpful, but not an Irish person amongst them.The breakfast was good.I had one dinner at the hotel, again very over priced.I shall be returning to Dublin in a couple of months, but I shall not be returning to the Dylan.

Room Tip: I did not see any other rooms, but the third floor ones were really just attic rooms. So avoid the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

me and my fiance were looking for perfect place for our wedding. one of our favourites was dylan. we had a little tour of the restaurant, bar and terrace with the general manager Grainne. we liked the place very much and we decided that that is it! Grainne promised us to send all the info, menu options, prices,...to my email next day. We were so happy and decided to have lunch and try the food as we haven't eaten there in a while. that is where all went wrong. it was summer and we wanted to have lunch on the terrace. we waited for service for 15 mins....and as nobody was coming, we had to go inside to order. barman and two waiters were standing there, chatting and nobody had intention to go to take our order. we said what we wanted and went back. when our food arrived it was absolutely inedible. one was "dylan burger"...it had no taste, bun was kinda old and meat not cooked properly and so dry...tasteless!! we were disappointed but that didnt discourage us to have the wedding here. than we asked for the bill, food was almost untouched, waiter asked whats wrong, we said that food has no taste, and he did nothing, we paid for the full bill and hurry to leave that place. i was still hoping that when i get the email with prices and al,l we could talk to them about food we want on our wedding and all will be fine! well we never got that email. I was so disappointed, i would expect more responsibility and professionalism from somebody who is managing a hotel! especially that both of us working in hospitality, not to mention, management positions, so this was soooooo unprofessional and dissapointing especially coming from the general manager!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our short visit to Ireland. I joined tripadvisor just to share my thoughts of this amazing hotel. The staff were amazing from reception to the restaurant but most of all the bar staff on our last night (Fabrizio and Paul) were absolutely out of this world amazing. They werent your average 5 star statue server however they are so polite, friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. The food is good and an amazing selection of spirits at the bar. However one fault is, the drunk old man at the bar should be barred- extremely vulgar towards us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice mix of modern interior design and older conservative exterior, in good location. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I had the veggie breakfast - well done and very tasty.

One niggle - the room was too hot and the staff didn't seem to know how adjust the heating. Luckily the hotel is in a fairly quiet area so the open window wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean, well decorated, and ample size. Breakfast was excellent, and staff were all helpful. Great location also, about 10 minute walk to Stephen's Green. Bar looked to be very quiet so we didn't try it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#37 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dylan is bright, vibrant and fun. This is reflected through the design & style of the hotel and the responsive personality driven team. Dylan bar will be upbeat, sensual and bordering on the decadent. The close space overflows onto the feature terrace. Still, the restaurant will be serving modern Irish food with boutique qualities. Chef, Padraic Hayden's highest standards will wow the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.