We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, brilliant location, tea awful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place, brilliant location, tea awful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice modern hotel, gigantic bed as seems to be standard these days. Everything well up to standard one expects, and not vastly exposnsive for one night. Stayed here because we we were going to a concert at Whelan's which is a 5-minute walk away, but the place is also handy for the St Stephens Green park and other attractions e.g. Grafton St.

Be aware that Dublin is not a large market town like Manchester, it is definitely a capital city, and walking from Connolly station will take a long time and there appears to be no direct bus route. Get a taxi. The trams outside the hotel are part of a separate line which does not cross the city centre, although this seems to be being worked on.

The breakfast is good value for 13 Euro, except that the tea is *awful* and the coffee not much better - both are served by the cup from pots that have been standing around. Much better to be able to make one's own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear nwrail422,

Thank you for your comments - I would have to agree with the point you have made about our tea for breakfast.

We have changed our service standards, we now use a large flask for the tea - we brew it in the same way as a traditional pot of tea, however at times it can be sitting too long.

The team in the restaurant are working on Tea service to ensure they deliver the best possible cup of tea at all times.

Upon your next visit, I am hopeful you will see an improvement in this particular area of our business.

Best Personal Regards.

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    252
    90
    44
    22
See reviews for
49
235
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had 5 nights here in June 2013. Very comfortable. Clean room, maybe showing a bit of wear and tear in the bathroom. The staff were unfailingly helpful and efficient. The breakfast was good, though service was sometimes a tad slow. There's a nice bar on the ground floor, but it doesn't get noisy. The room was quiet and I slept well. I still object to paying for wi-fi on top of a not inexpensive room rate (you get half an hour free each day). Can't beat the location - walk out the door, across the road and you're in Stephens Green. 5 mins to Grafton Street. Close to tram and buses. Dublin looks good these days, despite the recession.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Ozcyclist,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in the hotel.

Your comments about the team are heartfelt and well received - I have spoken to the team in relation to service in the breakfast room - it is an area we continue to spend a large amount of time focusing on.

In relation to the Wi-Fi charges, we encourage all our guest to book directly through our own website - any bookings made via this site will receive complimentary Wi-Fi.

I am hopeful we will get the pleasure of your company on your next trip to Dublin.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the photos are misleading. Perhaps they were taken with a panoramic lens but the rooms are not as big as depicted and they all certainly do not have a sofa

The room had a desk with an armchair-like chair but its seat was slightly sloped and made of very slippery plastic which meant one couldn't sit comfortably at all on it.

No free wifi which is incredibly mean. Also the breakfast at 13 euros?? Come on. That's a rip off.

However the plus points were that staff were pleasant and rooms have aircon which was a godsend in the heatwave.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear citybreakjunkie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

I was happy to read that when you were dealing with team members you found them to be pleasant in handling any concerns you may have had.

In relation to our internet service, all bookings made directly through our own website receive complimentary Wi-Fi access. We also provide a 30 minutes complimentary Wi-Fi to all our guest. We also have a business centre in house for our guest to avail of.

All the images on line are of actual rooms here in the hotel, our sincere apologises if you feel they are misleading.

I welcome the opportunity to discuss in more detail any points you have - please contact me directly on dara.cruise@ocallaghanhotels.com

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here with my 9 year old for 1 night, Hotel definately not a 4 star standard more a low 3 star. We checked in smoothly enough and literally just put our bags in the room and headed off to explore the shops. On our return I noticed that there was stuff on the headboard (looked liked someone had a good nose cleaning and rubbed it all onto the headboard) Once I informed reception the came to clean the headboard and offered us an alternative room, at this stage i just wanted to check out after what we had seen. The receptionist reassured me that they had a very high cleaning standard and apologised again for what had happened. They upgraded us to a two bedroom suite on the same floor but I still felt very wary after our experience with the previous room. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cant comment on that, overall the hotels location is ideal but other than that it doesn't have much going for it, wont be staying here again !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear CorkGirl08,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am very sorry about the standards of housekeeping you experienced in our hotel.

It is certainly not the standards we strive towards, I along with all of my colleagues are working diligently towards ensuring each of our guest has a wonderful time with us here in our hotel.

I will be in touch via private message to discuss the matter further.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have stayed in the Stephen's Green hotel on a number of occasions for business and would recommend it. Staff are excellent, very helpful and friendly. Rooms very good also spacious and clean. Just a 2 minute walk form Grafton Street - will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear clarice100,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in the hotel, it is great to read such glowing reports about the team around the hotel.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter as we were going to a concert. Location is great, go out the front door turn left walk 3/4 mins and you're on Wexford/Camden St. Go out the front door cross the road walk 5/6mins and you're at Stephens Green shopping centre. Staff fierce friendly and helpful! Room clean and spacious. I would definately stay here again!!!! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Angiepangies,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted you and your daughter had a lovey stay with us.

Thank you for the recommendation, I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly if slightly disorganised staff, adequate breakfast huge bed, broken ironing board and scalding water from taps and shower. Yes it's clean and central but isn't warm and welcoming and it's expensive for what you receive back in amenities and service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Missile_Ward,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Naturally I am disappointed that your time with us was less than satisfactory.

I do hope I get the opportunity to discuss further your time with us.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.