We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 177 hotels in Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last night and was so pleased with the service that I had to comment straight away. We actually live in County Dublin and decided to stay in the city centre for my birthday. We chose O'Callaghan's Stephen Green for location and price and we weren't disappointed! The staff were extremely pleasant and efficient and the rooms were spacious and clean - lovely decor too. The bar also had a lovely ambiance. Overall a great night and it was lovely seeing Dublin as a tourist :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear RebeccaandNiall,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to post your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are all delighted you enjoyed your time with us here in the hotel.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    254
    90
    45
    21
See reviews for
51
238
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just checked out of this hotel after a one night stay.
I had been advised by staff to park my car in Stephens Green Shopping center, and have my ticket stamped at reception.
I was amazed that the car parking for 22 hours in Dublin City Centre came only to EUR14.!
The bedroom in the hotel was bright and airy , with a nice view of Stephens Green across the road.
Ideally located for someone visiting the city center on vacation or on business.
Little disappointed at breakfast, when I had some fresh fruit berries, and found that some of them were actually still FROZEN in the center!
Only eggs in the buffet were scrambled... I asked for poached eggs and they were presented to me within a few minutes.... that made up for the frozen berries!
I would definately use this hotel again in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear The_Festy,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate your comments in relation to the frozen berries on the buffet, they should have not have been placed on our breakfast buffet if they were frozen.

I am glad you enjoyed the poached eggs, it is also very good to read that you found the rooms to be more than satisfactory.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again sometime in the future.

Best Personal Regards,
Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel a few times with friends and its always been a really good stay. The rooms are really good and roomy and the staff couldnt be more helpful and friendly. The breakfast is always really good. I also stay in this hotel on my own for my work and always feel really safe and know if I have any issues the staff would assist me. The hotel is in a perfect location easy walking distance to anywhere we want to go. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and will be back again next year for another weekend !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Angela S,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted with your comments and will share them with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the near future.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time at this O'Callaghan hotel (I normally stay at the Davenport every month) but I shall definitely return! The hotel is fantastic; location is perfect, the staff are excellent and very friendly, the facilities are exactly what you need. It's clean, tidy and modern. The rooms are an excellent size. The bar is great and has a simple but good menu at reasonable prices for a hotel of this calibre. Located right in the centre of town on the green itself. Shopping and restaurant areas are all within a couple of minutes walk.

Really, nothing at all you could fault about the place. If you are looking for a hotel in the centre of Dublin - this is the best one!

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the main street and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Neil P,

Wow what a great review - thank you for highlighting your experiences on Tripadvisor.

It is very up-lifting to read your feedback.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Perfect place for the south side city center, two minute walk from Grafton street and across the road from the park. I've stayed for business and came back pleasure. Bar food and restaurant are both great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Ross_Williams,

Thank you for a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We were very happy to read your review and the comments about the food were particularly up-lifting.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

 Maybe 4 stars is something i need to understand...but i would say this property is more like 3*s, but could be five if the owners of this 5 hotel chain were more ambitious, because the location is perfect. Do some obvious upgrades and...duh, charge more money! Directly across from the hotel is the beautiful and historic is St Stephen's Green and all the five star hotels including the Sherbourne, where First Lady Michelle Obama stays! Here it is...the bad and the good...mainly the bad because its the easiest to note, right? Honestly, this place is pretty good for most...but I'm a huge pita, so...you hav to take a grain of salt!

Upon arrival, there is no help with a car (we arrived from Galway in a car). I was told to being my car around the corner and the person pointed toward a direction you cannot drive to easily from the cut out. You have to follow the signs which lead you way around the neighborhood and then to a scary parking structure. Im a female and maybe okay for many, but my hubs and I decided I was the driver so he checked in while I parked the car...not knowing the city, this was odd...and then (like the next day) when we were leaving the lot, we were told the parking was validated, but when we returned the car the following morning, we needed to pay 10.50 euros to get out. So, back to check in....

There are no "bellmen" and it feels awkward to have the manager help with the bags. The decor at reception and check in is ridiculously tired. There is no security AND anyone can get on the elevator without pass key. Our view of the alley we looked past and noted we weren't there to look at the view from our room but rather see the sites from the ground and the top floor of the Guinness brewery!

But...back to the review. The shower doesn't drain well, a personal pet peeve of mine. The walls are tile, but the floor is cheap plastic, not tile. The faucets and plumbing are terrible and in general the bathroom grossed me out...but I'm very, very picky about this...I would guess most people would be fine with this bathroom.

The bed is probably too hard for the majority and the pillows are done and done-er. They are uneven and feel like they've been through the washing machine!

Details, details...No luggage racks! The lighting is awful. There were 2 tv's in our suite, but the remotes are connected, so you have to manually change channels. I never saw the blow drier, iron...We didn't eat the breakfast...their coffee like much of Ireland is not great.

On the plus side: There is power available in both rooms and for all types of plugs. but there is a safe and a pot to boil water.

If you made it this far in this review, you would say I'm not recommending this hotel - but I probably would say this is a good choice for a budget conscious person but for someone with more resources, keep looking around. There are much better hotels nearby!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear j9lulu,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, I value the time you have taken to share your experiences.

You have highlight a number of areas that we can improve on immediately, some that will take more time and energy to focus on.

I along with the members of the team here in the Stephen Green have discussed your review and are working towards ensuring the points marked in your review are addressed.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, where you can witness first-hand the improvement your comments have made.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel
Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last year on our trip to Dublin. This was the 2nd hotel we stayed at in the Dublin area and we loved it! Not your typical small room in Europe, lots of room, comfy beds, clean and quiet. You couldn't ask for a better location. We were able to walk everywhere, didn't need a cab once. Right across from St. Stephen Green, cute park with music and ponds etc, you could walk to shops and the mall, the castle, the Liffy etc with no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dara C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear klokken,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

Dublin is a great city and has some much to offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you, back to the hotel in the future.

Best Personal Regards,

Dara Cruise
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel
Stephen Green

General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel
Stephen Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.