We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business and its a great hotel. Close to the shops and a short walk to Temple bar.

The gym is very good on site and the room was spotless.

I don't often say this but I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your very positive feedback. I was delighted to hear that you you enjoyed your stay with us, and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    318
    109
    50
    22
See reviews for
76
305
56
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Small room on an inside rooftop view. The hot water was scalding and hard to adjust. I finally had to wash my hair by using the spigot on the tub. There was the Notre Dame Navy game so we were down graded to this three star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your constructive feedback. All feedback whether positive or negative is constructive, and helps us to improve on the product and service that we deliver to our customers.

Thank you once again, and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for business. Great location and rooms large and clean. Staff friendly and helpful (especially when I broke a tooth and needed a dentist!). Bar area was lively and guiness/food really reasonable. Would come back with the family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be really good value, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Please read until the end! I stayed at this hotel last week,while atrending a conference in Dublin. The entrance,lobby and breakfast restaurant are somewhat dull and lack character. They need to be better lit and looked after,also adding a touch of class. First impressions are so important,Mr O'Callaghan!! :-P The people at the front desk were unhelpful and quite nasty on the night I arrived. I was cold,tired and felt they were being quite nasty. However, I got to my room and things changed SO MUCH! It was located at the renovated side of the hotel,and boy was it comfortable,clean,spacious, cozy and nice altogether! Already happy with my choice I had a very comforting dinner at the Magic Glasses bar (in the lobby) and had a great night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was ok,though it could definitely be better. Also,waiters and waitresses were really noisy clearing away plates while we were having breakfast,which was not very nice and could be improved. As I was so happy with my room,these flaws did not matter much,and the people at the front desk were nice in the end too. Overall,great value,great location at a stone's throw from Dublin's amenities. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your constructive feedback. We are planning to refurbish the hotel lobby and restaurant at the start of the year, so we hope to have this completed early next year.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced upon checkin, and the noise in the restaurant,, as i can assure you this is not the standards that we aspire too.

Once again your feedback is important to us, and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed @ the Stephens Green Hotel for the weekend of the ND/Navy football game, and other than paying an inflated price because of the enormity of the event, the hotel was an excellent choice. Stephens Green is centrally located to enjoy ALL of Dublin city center, the staff was helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable about everything in Dublin.
The rooms were large enough, very comfortable and spotless. The bathrooms have great showers!
This hotel was a good experience for the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A 4 star hotel would have enough staff for a bellman upon entry to help with bags and a much better lobby. I agree with the previous reviewer about the shabby experience overall when you compare to real 4 star hotels. The rooms we overall ok with nice comforters and decent sheets. Pillows were average. The bath shampoo was the lowest quality and worst smell I have ever seen in any 3 star hotel. No washcloths provided
Positives: very pleasant staff, good location
Recommendation: get rid of cheezy advertising on the glass window, improve lobby as is planned per manager, more bell staff, improve quality of breakfast (this was average at best), upgrade shampoo, provide washcloths

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your constructive feedback. All feedback is important to us whether positive or negative, as it helps us to improve on our product and service.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is horrible. My wife and I stayed there for four nights on the weekend of the Notre Dame vs. Navy football game when rooms in Dublin were impossible to find. The toilet in our room did not work properly at any point during our stay. Despite many complaints to the front desk, the toilet was never properly repaired. The paint was peeling off the wall in many places; the wood work was broken in several places, the tile floor in the bathroom was chipped. Management had an "I don't care" attitude. The hotel does have a good location, but staying here is a huge rip off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was most disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

When you reported the issue with your toilet on the first evening of your stay, the manager on duty tried to fix the problem, however he was unsuccessful in doing so, and therfore this was reported to maintenance the following morning, and as per the telephone call from reception the following morning, you gave permission for maintenance to access your room to repair the issue.

Maintenance reported back to the front desk that the problem had been resolved, however i believe the problem arose again that evening, and i can only apologise for this.

This is certainly not a true reflection of how the hotel operates, and i sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay, however we are the first to admit to our shortcomings, and we clearly fell short on this occassion.

I have passed on your commets to all concerned, and i thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.