We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Smithfield to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yulee, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overall Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed at the Maldron in late November 2013. Overall this is a good hotel. Rooms were neat and clean. Stayed on the 4th floor on first part of Ireland trip and the second floor on second half of trip. If you are a non smoker avoid the 2nd floor as some of the rooms are smoking rooms. As we exited the elevator on the 2nd floor the smell of cigarette smoke was very very strong. If you are sensitive to cigarette smoke ask for the 4th floor as my stay on the 4th floor had no trace of smoke sent. As for my room on the 2nd floor it was a non smoking room but still had faint traces of smoke from the adjacent smoking rooms. The price was very good for the location. It is across the street from a bicycle rental rack, the hop on hop off bus stop, and the tram stop. Also across from the Jameson Distillery. Grocery store right next door with a great selection of fresh produce and a deli all of which is of reasonable price. A few restaurants are also right next door. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker avoid the 2nd floor as some of the rooms are smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    539
    152
    49
    16
See reviews for
196
448
95
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here on business trip. Good sized room - comfy beds. Pillows a bit in-betweeny for my tastes but found a way to make them work for me. Older CRT in room but doesn't really matter. Wifi available and hotel was generally quiet for good sleep. Bathroom in reasonable order and clean. Problem draining water from bath/shower - okay because it was only me but if I was sharing with my wife then would nearly be swimming by the end of the second shower. Fair selection available for breakfast which is buffet-style. Have to swipe your keycard for lifts/elevators which is fine when card readers work but is fiddly when they don't (took me about 10 swipes to get it moving one night - doors didn't seem to want to open either which seems odd). Hotel close to Luas and Lighthouse cinema and easy walk to Northside City Centre. Easy walk to train station also if you don't want to take Luas. Can't comment on value as booked through work but would stay here again if location suited my needs for the stay. No real complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne; Co Antrim
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel and I was as pleased with it the second time as I as the first. As other reviewers have mentioned it is in a quiet area so that plus a comfortable bed helps ensure a good nights sleep. I whole heartedly agree with Marika H regarding the area - it isn't touristy but has a certain charm. The Luas (tram) is only a few minutes walk from the hotel and the trams run frequently and cost €1.70 - but if you are fit for walking then is a pleasant walk into the city and you can pop into the Jervis Centre on the way past.

The staff at the Maldron, Smithfield are friendly and helpful; rooms are clean and comfortable and the ones on the 6th floor offer a terrific urban landscape. WiFi is free and the connection was good. Shampoo / soap is via wall dispensers. Breakfast is what is normal for 'buffet' type breakfasts. In my view the hotel offers excellent value for money and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor this time and the room (a suite) was excellent - it appeared to be recently r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

When you take a first look at Smithfield it doesn't scream tourist friendly. But when you get to know it, you'll grow to liked (just like I did). So, I liked the location of hotel. Near the city centre, if you like to walk it takes about 15-20 minutes, by tram about 5-10 minutes.

Staff was friendly, ready to help if needed. We actually go to into our room before the official check in- time, wich was nice.

Our room was on the 2nd floor by the inner courtyard side. On night time you could hear noises from outside really good even tough you had your windows closed. The other bed that we had made a squeaking noise, wich actually bothered my friend who is a light sleeper (I slept fine on the squeaking bed).Otherwise the room had everything you would night for a five night stay.
Breakfast was good and the waiter was really friendly.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room that is NOT located in the inner courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was very impressed by the warmth and friendliness of the reception staff.

The room was clean, well heated ( and not too hot) and the bed very comfortable .
Area surprisingly quiet - I had a very good night's sleep.
Bathroom large and spotless.
Only minor quibble was that no shampoo provided and soap dispenser rather stiff.

all in all, a good value commercial hotel which I have no difficulty in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Well located with a short walk along the river to everything you may want to see. I was here only one night and had a short stroll, took about 20 minutes tops and I was only mooching about.

As far as the hotel goes.

Good points - Warm welcome, Good WiFi throughout, facilities to make a hot drink

Bad points - My room smelt of smoke, if you are front facing and keep the window open you will hear lots of noise, the TV and channels were like something from the ark.

Finally, it seems if you haven't booked breakfast prior to arrival you can save a couple of Euros by saying you will book for the following morning. I did that but what happened at breakfast was I had the staff demanding my voucher, which I wasn't given. The guy telling me that I would be billed 10 Euros rather than the 8 Euros I had agreed to.

Fortunately the receptionist who booked me in was on duty and resolved the matter quickly.

Breakfast.... average by the way.

Room Tip: Room at the back or the upper levels to avoid noise from pedestrians and people using the bike rack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I will be fair with my review of this hotel.
Pros:
Good size rooms
Friendly and helpfull staff
Good location, close to good restaurants, supermarket, pubs and bars, gym, Luas tram, movie theater

Cons:
I was given room 207, across from the elevator. It was noisy due to drunk and loud people using the lift. The commotion happens between midnight to around 3:00 am. Needless to say, I did not get a single good night sleep during my 9 day stay at Maldron Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
#69 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Smithfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.