We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoluely the BEST of dozens we've visited!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollybank B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollybank B&B
Save
You added Hollybank B&B to your Saves list
28 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
“Absoluely the BEST of dozens we've visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We've traveled England, Wales, Scotland, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, etc..etc.. and almost always stayed at B&B's, enjoying meeting the 'real people', instead of the plastic statues at most hotels. Hollybank House was the most pleasant of any, to the point that we stayed for seven days. Only one B&B in Scotland has ever been close to this nice, and the owners have since retired.

Siobhan was most gracious and helpful, suggesting the best sights and mode of travel, breakfast was always cooked and delivered to perfection. In addition, Fagans Pub is only a few steps away, and the beer/ale was cold, and the food was excellent, far above average for 'Pub food'.

If we travel to Ireland again, you can be sure that this is the place where we will be staying!

Thanks, Siobhan for a great visit!!

The McDowells

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kansas city, mo, usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed at Hollybank House for the first 3 days of our honeymoon, as well as our final day before returning home. We stayed in two different rooms. Both were very comfortable and had good storage space, along with a TV with remote and wireless internet service.

Siobhan welcomed us warmly, through our jet lag at 6:30 in the morning, and then let us rest. When we were awake and functioning again, she gave us great recommendations of things to do and places to eat (specifically, Fagan's, which was just up the street a bit), and even gave us correct change for the bus. Her breakfasts were fantastic, with eggs, bacon, toast, brown bread, cheese, tea or coffee, grilled tomato. Even my vegetarian husband was well-fed!

The location of Hollybank House couldn't have been better for us. The bus stops on the corner; although we most often walked into City Centre, which was a nice walk. There is a Budget rental office right up the street (a very short walk), which was handy for us. It's also a mostly straight shot between Hollybank House and the Dublin Airport, which was very convenient for new-to-Ireland drivers.

We would absolutely stay at Hollybank House if we ever get the opportunity to go to Dublin again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

My wife & I arrived from Sydney, Australia around 10.00 pm, and were given a very warm welcome. Siobhan helped us with our bags to the double room that overlooked the back of the house. The room was en-suite and a good size. There was plenty of storage space with a wardrobe and a chest of drawers. The room and en suite were spotless. The water pressure was very good and the hot water plentiful. Soap and shower gels were supplied. The bed was very comfortable and neither of us had any trouble sleeping during our stay.
Breakfast was great - enough food to set us up for the day. Cereals, juice, coffee or tea, and a full hot Irish breakfast followed by toast & soda bread with various spreads. If you don't put weight on, it's not Siobhan's fault :-o)
Siobhan supplied us with literature of places of interested and suggested the Fagan pub just around the corner for an evening meal. The pub was a cheery place and the food inexpensive. We ate there a few evenings during our stay, as it saved the trip back in to town.
The local bus service for the city is at the end of the road, and the buses were frequent. Siobhan even loaned us the correct money to get in to the city, as the bus driver would not give change. We found that it was cheaper & easer to buy a three day Hop on Hop off pass for Euro 25. This gave us 72 hours of using the hop on hop off bus, as well as free transport around the city. The free transport ticket allowed us to use the bus service to & from the accommodation.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hollybank B & B to my friends and if we ever return to Dublin I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
A short walk from the Hollybank is a small restaurant called the Cheese Pantry - they sell deli type food & wines and have a small eating area in the back. The food is cooked to order and went down very well with a good bottle of Argentinian wine. The staff appeared to be from everywhere except Ireland - but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Due to our positive experience with our B&B's last summer we have decided to stay again in B&B's while our Ireland round trip this year. We have chosen the HollyBank House B&B because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and we can definitely confirm the reviews for the HollyBank House which were absolutely spot on. We have spent 3 nights in Dublin and we have really appreciated our time in this comfortable and quiet B&B of Siobhán and George Moore. Apart from the en suite bathroom our charming room was also equipped with TV and WIFI for free. Siobhán prepared a delicious breakfast every morning and had always some good advice for us. The B&B is very close to the city center (a bus ride of about 10 minutes to the Trinity College) and only a few steps away from Fagans Pub which we can highly recommend for dinner.
We really enjoyed our stay in the HollyBank House B&B and can definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

OK, we walked right past the place (twice) at first because the sign had been removed temporarily (to allow maintenance of the front of the house), but when we eventually rang the bell we received a warm Irish welcome from Siobhán and were shown to our twin room. The room was I suppose medium-sized, nicely decorated and with a large window to the front of the house. Hollybank Rd is fairly quiet and the window double-glazed, so noise was hardly a problem. Storage space was good (although a bit dusty here and there), nice bathroom with useful shelving and a good shower (cubicle). Beds were quite comfy and there was a remote-controlled TV. The room didn't have the typical 'hospitality tray', but that was no problem as a good range of teas and coffees (including decaf) are available in the breakfast room for use at any time (there's a hot water machine, milk in the fridge and biscuits on the side). Coffee there is instant, but if you order coffee at breakfast you get a nice full cafetiere (/french press). Speaking of breakfast... the usual cereals are available to start, but more importantly Siobhán does a delicious cooked breakfast with tasty ingredients, cooked nicely, including good-quality bacon, sausages/chipolatas, tomato, mini black pudding & white pudding and a really nice scrambled egg (or fried if you prefer). She also brings some toast and we had soda bread too. The house is just a few minutes' walk from the bus stop on Drumcondra Road, so it's really easy to get a bus into the city centre (about 10-15 mins, various buses go - ask Siobhán or get a Dublin Bus guide from the tourist office). There's a pub and some cash machines just round the corner on the main road, and some cafes (and a Tesco) a short-ish walk up the road. All in all we had a really enjoyable stay, Siobhán was friendly and chatty (but not excessively so :) and I think if we go back to Dublin we'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano - italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

i stayed with my girlfriend during san patrick festival days
aboslutly perfect!
she is wonderful and nice
great breakfast
beautiful house
good room and bathroom
very near bus stop (20 minutes from airport - 5 minutes from city center)
very near city center (30 minutes by foot)

when i return in dublin i'll sure stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We had a great time at Dublin, especially because we stayed at Hollybank B&B. Staying there made us felt at home, we have a 1 year old baby and we were really confident btecause of the meticulous cleanliness of bedroom and bathroom. Siobhan was very helpful when we needed something for the baby, such us , to warm his food or poor some water for his bottle.
Breakfast was delicious an copious (our baby loved the sausages! and he is not a very good eater), excellent for providing energy for the rest of the day. The place is very well located, we even walked to the city center from there (with the baby!). Also there is a train station and lot of buses very near from the house.
We loved Dublin! thanks Siobhan for a wonderful say!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollybank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollybank B&B

Address: 28 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollybank B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.