We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience on my vacation in Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollybank B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollybank B&B
Save
You added Hollybank B&B to your Saves list
28 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best experience on my vacation in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in hollybank house both before and after touring the country and couldn't have been happier! We were hosted by George and Siobhan who are extremely friendly and helpful people, amazing hosts. They had so much information and suggestions on what to do while in Dublin as well as when we left for the country. It made planning our vacation so much easier. We stayed in bedroom 3 which is a twin room ensuite. The room had a tv, alarm clock, wifi, and a wonderful
hairdryer (not a cheap crappy one like in hotels at all). The sheets were so nice and warm (which I was worried about going to ireland) but I fortunately didn't have one cold night thanks to hollybank. The bathroom had a really nice hot shower which was great to not have to worry about the shower ever. Since it was a small b&b with 3 rooms we didn't feel like they just any old guest they really took care of us individually. It Was also nice at night that it was small because it was very quiet. The breakfast room was so nice. There was coffee and tea available all day and for breakfast there was a large selection of cereals and a full Irish breakfast which was wondeful. Siobhan is an excellent cook. The location was great it was a minute was to a bus stop where there was 4 busses that took you right into the main part of town in minutes. There was also a variety of restaurants and pubs nearby that Siobhan was kind enough to give suggestions on where to go. As well as banks, a post office, a grocery store, a bakery and a lot of other little shops. A place that was a short walk away was the national botanic gardens which were absolutely beautiful. We also rented a car for touring Ireland and easily dropped it off at the budget rental a block away from the b&b which was very convenient. Everything about the hollybank b&b made Ireland an amazing experience. I recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin. Thanks so much to George and Siobhan for making it so great!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I chose this B&B specifically because of the great reviews. The hosts are friendly, warm and helpful and the house itself is immaculately clean. However just a couple of minor quibbles: We were the only guests staying in the house for the 2 night stay (george told us they are feeling the effects of economic downturn & of hotels rooms now considerably cheaper).The room at the front of the house was very small and compact, so I wondered if the rooms were any bigger elsewhere in the house. Though it is a quiet residential area, we did hear passing traffic and wondered why they did not give us a quieter room at the back? The breakfast was disappointing. No fresh fruit or yogurts, just he option of a fry-full Irish or rhe usual boxed cereals.Im vegetarian and cant eat bread, so I had scrambled eggs and tomatoes. No other options for veggies.Apart from that, it was a pleasant stay, with great bus links into city centre and airport and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Sioban was a wonderful host. Breakfast was wonderful. The first day my husband and I took the bus to town but after the short ride we walked and saved the money. It took about 20 minutes and we felt very safe on the walk. The only complaint that I had was a bit of a cigerette smell. I woudl stay here again and you should to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere In
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We had a little difficulty finding Hollybrook House because it did not have a B&B sign but we were able to locate it by asking around. After a few wrong doors, we tentatively knocked at number 28 and was greeted by a very welcoming Siobhan.

Siobhan is genuinely warm and friendly. She gave us a few pointers on where to go and what to see and suggested we go to "Fagan's" the nearby pub for a casual dinner before we set out to explore Dublin on a Saturday night . The neigbourhood is about 20 minutes walk to Dublin centre and is quiet and safe at night.

Hollybrook is very clean, tidy, nicely decorated, and well-cared for. The bedroom and bathroom were both clean but if I had to find any fault it was that the king-sized bed was too large for the bedroom making it difficult for two people to move about the room to get dressed etc. It was also unfortunate that the satin bedcover was worn and unevenly faded giving the room an undeserved tired look. A fresh bedcover would easily remedy this situation because the bed's mattress was firm and the sheets crisp and spotless and we both had a good night's sleep.

Hollybrook offers a breakfast that is well-cooked, generous, and beautifully presented. It was my first experience with an Irish Breakfast and Siobhan set a very high benchmark.

Thank you, Siobhan, I would happily come again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We've traveled England, Wales, Scotland, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, etc..etc.. and almost always stayed at B&B's, enjoying meeting the 'real people', instead of the plastic statues at most hotels. Hollybank House was the most pleasant of any, to the point that we stayed for seven days. Only one B&B in Scotland has ever been close to this nice, and the owners have since retired.

Siobhan was most gracious and helpful, suggesting the best sights and mode of travel, breakfast was always cooked and delivered to perfection. In addition, Fagans Pub is only a few steps away, and the beer/ale was cold, and the food was excellent, far above average for 'Pub food'.

If we travel to Ireland again, you can be sure that this is the place where we will be staying!

Thanks, Siobhan for a great visit!!

The McDowells

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo, usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed at Hollybank House for the first 3 days of our honeymoon, as well as our final day before returning home. We stayed in two different rooms. Both were very comfortable and had good storage space, along with a TV with remote and wireless internet service.

Siobhan welcomed us warmly, through our jet lag at 6:30 in the morning, and then let us rest. When we were awake and functioning again, she gave us great recommendations of things to do and places to eat (specifically, Fagan's, which was just up the street a bit), and even gave us correct change for the bus. Her breakfasts were fantastic, with eggs, bacon, toast, brown bread, cheese, tea or coffee, grilled tomato. Even my vegetarian husband was well-fed!

The location of Hollybank House couldn't have been better for us. The bus stops on the corner; although we most often walked into City Centre, which was a nice walk. There is a Budget rental office right up the street (a very short walk), which was handy for us. It's also a mostly straight shot between Hollybank House and the Dublin Airport, which was very convenient for new-to-Ireland drivers.

We would absolutely stay at Hollybank House if we ever get the opportunity to go to Dublin again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

My wife & I arrived from Sydney, Australia around 10.00 pm, and were given a very warm welcome. Siobhan helped us with our bags to the double room that overlooked the back of the house. The room was en-suite and a good size. There was plenty of storage space with a wardrobe and a chest of drawers. The room and en suite were spotless. The water pressure was very good and the hot water plentiful. Soap and shower gels were supplied. The bed was very comfortable and neither of us had any trouble sleeping during our stay.
Breakfast was great - enough food to set us up for the day. Cereals, juice, coffee or tea, and a full hot Irish breakfast followed by toast & soda bread with various spreads. If you don't put weight on, it's not Siobhan's fault :-o)
Siobhan supplied us with literature of places of interested and suggested the Fagan pub just around the corner for an evening meal. The pub was a cheery place and the food inexpensive. We ate there a few evenings during our stay, as it saved the trip back in to town.
The local bus service for the city is at the end of the road, and the buses were frequent. Siobhan even loaned us the correct money to get in to the city, as the bus driver would not give change. We found that it was cheaper & easer to buy a three day Hop on Hop off pass for Euro 25. This gave us 72 hours of using the hop on hop off bus, as well as free transport around the city. The free transport ticket allowed us to use the bus service to & from the accommodation.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hollybank B & B to my friends and if we ever return to Dublin I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
A short walk from the Hollybank is a small restaurant called the Cheese Pantry - they sell deli type food & wines and have a small eating area in the back. The food is cooked to order and went down very well with a good bottle of Argentinian wine. The staff appeared to be from everywhere except Ireland - but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollybank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollybank B&B

Address: 28 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollybank B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.