We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtney,U.K” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ABC House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ABC House to your Saves list
ABC House
57 Drumcondra Road Upper | Dublin 9, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Courtney,U.K”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I recently stayed here for 3nights!Lovely staff all very friendly and welcoming,rooms clean and beds made every day.Nice choice of breakfasts.Great location,can get a bus to anywhere from rite outside the b&b. Would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    125
    49
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
177
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

we booked 2 nights for our Garth Brooks concert. even though the concert was cancelled we decided to go ahead with our trip. Mary gave us a lovely warm welcome, even though we were early she let us use our room to change our clothes and leave our luggage. the accommodation is spotless, nothing flash but lovely and clean. we were lucky enough to get hot weather which made our room uncomfortably hot, Mary immediately gave us a fan and even gave us our breakfast free of charge!
very conveniently located with bus stops outside the front door. we bought a 3 day 'freedom' bus pass, at the airport, which meant we could use any Dublin bus and included tour bus, all for 30 euro, which we thought was good value for money. Mary recommended Fagan's pub for food and she was right, it was lovely! we also ate at 'The Duke' in Dublin and Sheehan's, all of which I recommend. of course, no trip to Dublin is complete without shopping in Grafton street and a hearty breakfast at Bewleys!
as with all cities there are a lot of beggars on the streets, very heart breaking to see, especially the younger ones
the people of Dublin are a lovely lot, always made us feel more than welcome,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The B&B was clean, the staff were friendly, and breakfast was everything you'd expect from a B&B. What is really handy though is the location! For first timers to Dublin, this B&B is on the main drag between the center of town and the airport, so almost all buses pass by it, making it extremely well located!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolores, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I and our adult son spent two nights here and found the accommodations adequate and the location excellent for our visit to Dublin. Our triple room was clean, nothing fancy. However, the first night our upstairs neighbors were loud, coming and going well into the night. Thankfully, we were tired and managed to get some sleep in spite of the noise. The second night was much better. The room was in the rear of the building and quite quiet. The nearby bus stop worked great for getting to and from downtown. We also walked to the city center once (about 40 minutes). We ate at a neighborhood restaurant and drank at a nearby pub. Both were good. The staff was often "out" during our stay, so a few questions went unanswered, but that didn't cause any problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The room was very nice. The location was great. Getting a cab was super easy - just stand outside and wave. Parking was odd - out front on the curb between the trees. Breakfast was good. The staff were great. All and all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We chose this B & B based on the excellent reviews, and were disappointed. We would have paid double to stay somewhere with a larger room and updated bathroom. Very small, basically just enough room for 3 beds. Tiny bathroom also. The light never worked in bathroom, neither did TV. The location was OK. It's easy to catch a bus or cab out front. The breakfast was reasonably good and filling, but not included.When we could find someone in the back, they were helpful with directions to a few places.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Secure parking available at rear of property, which is on a bus route - not walking distance to town. Room was clean. Breakfast was good, but at 7.50 I probably wouldn't do it again. Staff (and Mary) were really good - friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ABC House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC House

Address: 57 Drumcondra Road Upper | Dublin 9, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the ABC House. ABC House provides comfortable, quality accommodation for visitors to Dublin City Centre, Ireland, with a friendly welcome and free private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Budget Places, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your ABC House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc House Hotel Dublin
Dublin Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABC House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.