We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go there!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Citi Hostels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Citi Hostels to your Saves list
Citi Hostels
6 Charlemont Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Venissieux, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never go there!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Staying at this hostel was an incredibly unpleasant experience. The small room and especially the bathroom was very dirty!!! And there were no warm water. I had to push constantly the faucet to get water. The sheets were not clean too.
We told the reception guy to clean the room but nothing happened. He was the worst receptionist I've met in Ireland so far.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    23
    34
    56
See reviews for
8
35
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

"a leak" meant we had to spend our first night in a twin room, A twin in this place is bunk beds, very narrow small ones at that. Not a great first night, a leak not really they're fault , but they weren't very apologetic about it either, more like we lost them the money from a room as they had to re-locate us.
The new room was fine, the over powering smell of bleech meant it was clean, but hard to handle at first. The heating was way too hot compared to very windy and cold outside.
At hostels i generally have always found staff to be friendly and fun, these guys were the oposite, more like we were getting in their way of doing something else, it didnt endear the place to us. The breakfast (included) wasn't much more than some cerial bread and cheese.
The location was ok, about a 20/25 minute walk to the main grafton street, a couple of minutes walk to a tram stop and a wonderful park area.
On the whole this place tries too hard to be a hotel and as a result fails badly at being a hostel its not the kinda of place that i felt comfortable staying in as it lacked that your away from home have fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Upon arriving we found out that we couldn't check in until 2:00. They held our bags for us while we were gone which is when we got our first look at the maze of a place it is. We came back later that night and retrieved our bags from a nonchalant employee. The room was fine, pretty spacious and clean. The service was not as good. No one really seemed like they could be bothered to help us with checking in, retrieving our bags, laundry, checking out, etc. It seemed as if it were a chore to them. They didn't explain anything upon checkin (any rules or curfews) but instead just told us our room number and left it up to us from there. Normally, that would be fine but this place looks like an Escher painting. There were more doors and stairs to go through than we had the rest of our 2 week trip! Other than the service, this hostel was fine for the price and in a decent location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed one night at Citi Hostel in Dublin in the summer of 2009 and it will likely be my last.

Citi Hostel was clean and conveniently located, but that’s about all it has going for it. There is a kitchen, but not even a simple breakfast was offered. The charge for a towel was quite steep and if you’re trying to sleep, you’ll need ear plugs to silence the constant squeaking of floorboards.

As for the staff, they seemed indifferent and actually where nowhere to be found while I stood outside alone waiting to be buzzed in late at night. The building itself is like a maze (good luck finding your room), and the atmosphere is head wrecking.

I've seen worse (hostels in London are a nightmare), but I've also stayed at far better hostels in the Dublin area. Keep looking.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

After reading the reviews I was a bit worried about staying at the hotel. My friends had organised my Stag weekend / Bachelor party in Dublin and we stayed in 3 rooms.

It's very conveniently located, just 10 minutes stroll from the Temple Bar are, and right next to the hostel there're pubs and clubs.

If you don't have to share rooms and you're the noisy group is great. If you're with your partner or family, you can get a group like us. We didn't misbehave but we got at the hostel at 4am every night and I we were probably noisy.

Oh... and the staff was great! The guy at the night shift was really helpful and cheerful!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Our stay at Citi hstel was one of no choice, all hostels were booked for the weekend. Right... where to start...
Room ok i guess, clean, pollows, matress and doona looked yuck yuck yuck!!!
TOILET.... uhrm.... no words to discribe it and believe me, i have seen and stayed at a lot of dodgy hostels...!
Shower; no idea; it looked that dingy and dirty that i'd rather be smelly, besides a roommate told me there was no warm water anyway.
Storeroom: be aware; dont leave ur stuff there for long water dripping from ceiling onto bags and big puddle on floor.

walking through the hostel i found other rooms with sheets covering the floor as the roof was leaking; looked like something from a horror movie.
kitchen: hada quick look and stuck some bottles in the fridge, fridge had obviously not been cleaned for QUITE a while... YUCK!

Staff; haha LOVELY!!!! not
I couldnt sleep due to a snoring person i the room and watched tv in the pretty well set up loungeroom. I decided to buy a coke from the vending machine situated in the kitchen. BUT it wasnt quite working. i asked the receptionguy to help and he plainly said: NOT MY PROBLEM< I JUST WORK HERE MACHINE NOT FROM THE HOSTEL. i cracked the poops and finally got the can i already payed for and he turned to me and raised his voice; ITS ALL GOOD NOW OKAY?
the next morning he was outside talking to other guests pointing at me and my mate waiting for the cab saying how there were crazy people last night and how the Aussies are so picky and worst for it and then started talking (not very nice sounding words) in Polish, still pointing his finger en givin me the evil eye. I ignored it coz the poor rude bugger..... imagen being representative of THAT hostel!!! tragic

Also i spoke to about 8 guest from non Chechz and Polish backgrounds, German mostly, and ALL OF THEM SAID its the worst hostel ever and they would never ever stay there again....

Man i'd rather sleep in the MacDonalds toilets...

  • Liked — the tv room was OK not great just ok....
  • Disliked — toilets, noise, showers and staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

The hostel isn't so good but you are just ten minutes walk ffrom the city centre.
You can also have a free brakfast.
It's a good hostel if you want to visit dublin in a cheap way: you don't have to use buses to visit it and in the end it's cheaper than stay in a hostel not in the city centre and pay tickets for buses

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citi Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citi Hostels

Address: 6 Charlemont Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citi Hostels is located in the highly fashionable " village quarter" in the heart of Dublin city and only 10 minutes walk from Grafton Street - the shopping centre of Dublin and 15 minutes from Temple Bar -Ireland's Culture Capital with its lively pubs, restaurants and festivals!We are also located at the edge of old Georgian Dublin, which boasts the finest example of Georgian architecture anywhere in Europe. Our reception is open 24 hours as is our fully fitted kitchen!Don't want to cook? No problem -breakfast is included in the price Stay in our en suite dorms from €10 per night or book a private twin/double room from €16 per person per night Nowhere else will you get such competitive rates for such high standards!-All our rooms are en suite, except the Double Rooms shared bathroom.-Free use of Hostel Computers & free WIFI-We have Double, Twin, and Double/Single private en suites as well as dorms-Did we mention the free breakfast?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Citi Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citi Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.