We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for! Take your own bathtowel.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Citi Hostels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Citi Hostels to your Saves list
Citi Hostels
6 Charlemont Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for! Take your own bathtowel.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

.....because there is not even a towel! I was travelling quite a way to go to Dublin for St Patrick's Day and had booked the accommodation 12 months in advance. At the time I did not have a lot of options to choose from, so I was stuck with it. I went with the double/private bathroom and was put out in the boondocks (yes, I did question my safety, it was dark and creepy). It was also noisy because of slamming doors and gates late at night, as right beside the extremely inadequately insulated walls was the rubbish dump/collection area, it would have been appropriate to have a sign on the door that the room was occupied. The bathroom was the size of a postage stamp and the heating was inadequate, as I experienced sleet in March.
Fortunately, I had a bed (broken springs and one blanket) to sleep in and a dry roof over my head.
The 'locals' (I assume they live there) smoke like chimneys and the second hand smoke filters throughout the entire place.....I'm not a smoker and I couldn't get out of the place quick enough.
However, most of the staff were helpful and breakfast was included....the only bonus! Oh, and the shuttle bus pick-up to the airport, that went smoothly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    23
    34
    56
See reviews for
8
35
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First off, the men who worked at the front desk were extremely helpful and kind. They would show us our room (we stayed in three separate types of rooms) before they had us pay. The place can be a little confusing and feels as though its a maze. Breakfast is included. The private rooms were nice and well worth the low price. The dorm bathrooms were pretty nasty. There have quite a big number of individuals who live at the hostel and all seem to know each other. Although the bathrooms were cleaned, they weren't cleaned well. The sheets had most likely not been cleaned in a while- all in all it was just okay, Although the staff was nice, next time visiting Dublin...we will most likely try somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff is friendly,the bedrooms and the kitchen are okay, but the bathroom is just horrible!
Its totally disgusting, the showers are in the middle of the stinky toilets, so its always smelly.
But i dont know what you can expect for that price...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Creepy crawlies, dirty rooms and staircases, "bathrooms" that haven't been cleaned in months with doors that didn't lock and broken showerheads. STEER CLEAR! We needed to book somewhere cheap and fast and didn't look carefully enough at other reviews. This is the worst kind of hostel. The only redeeming feature was that the room was warm (it was March and freezing still). You can find better for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My partner and I went to Dublin for 5 days over new year. We wanted the trip to stay as cheap as possible so we booked to stay at this hostel in a double room with shared bathroom for 4 nights and it was £104. Thats £13 per person per night. We didn't expect much for that and it's a good job because it brought a whole new meaning to the term 'basic'. But the location was excellent, 20 minutes from the centre. There was very little noise disturbance and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The showers were clean enough. Breakfast was non existent so don't get up for that. The staff were friendly. It was a great base for our 5 day trip. If I returned to Dublin and this was still hundreds of pounds cheaper than other hotels, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Well organised hotel, Staff are great. Perfect for a visit of Dublin. Location is the main plus. Overall value for money really good. Very hospitable towards stag & hen groups. Booked online with no issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The only good thing I have to say about this hostel is that the members of the staff were mostly friendly.
Showers are awful, it's not clean, rooms are really small, lockers are located downstairs, heaters frequently don't work, you always have to ask for toilet paper at the front desk, mattresses may be 100 years old.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citi Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citi Hostels

Address: 6 Charlemont Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citi Hostels is located in the highly fashionable " village quarter" in the heart of Dublin city and only 10 minutes walk from Grafton Street - the shopping centre of Dublin and 15 minutes from Temple Bar -Ireland's Culture Capital with its lively pubs, restaurants and festivals!We are also located at the edge of old Georgian Dublin, which boasts the finest example of Georgian architecture anywhere in Europe. Our reception is open 24 hours as is our fully fitted kitchen!Don't want to cook? No problem -breakfast is included in the price Stay in our en suite dorms from €10 per night or book a private twin/double room from €16 per person per night Nowhere else will you get such competitive rates for such high standards!-All our rooms are en suite, except the Double Rooms shared bathroom.-Free use of Hostel Computers & free WIFI-We have Double, Twin, and Double/Single private en suites as well as dorms-Did we mention the free breakfast?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Citi Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citi Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.