We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines to your Saves list
Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Rathmines Road, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
liverpool
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights last week. Arrived early couldn't book in 'til 2pm but left cases in secure room. Friendly staff. Went to room and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room 204. The room overlooked a lovely garden of the adjacent apartments. It's in a very lively area with a fitness centre and swimming pool opposite ( which guests can use). Lots of cafes and shops in the vicinity. Room clean, good shower, clean towels. Try Graces pub (about 300 m away) for a lovely breakfast. A bargain of a budget hotel

Room Tip: sk or a room overlooking the gardens on the side, I would imagine they are quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Greyst,

Thank your for taking the time out to write this great review on our property. It is very encouraging for both the staff and myself to read reviews like this one. We hope you will visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    74
    42
    34
See reviews for
34
89
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Simple accomodation but room was large with large bathroom( incl shower). Very clean room. Stayed 2 nights. It was well placed for our visit as we were able to walk to city centre and UCD in 30 mins. Some places to eat pretty close in up market Ranelagh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear minycoedpeter,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Basic Budget hotel, if on a budget and want to stay near City Centre this should suffice. Ten minute walk to Stephens Green , to get to O'Connell St is a further 10 minutes. But plenty of buses outside you can get. Also plenty of bars etc in teh area where you can meet the locals and are not as much of a tourist trap as Temple Bar. Staff on check in were friendly. Rooms were spacious, amenities were basic. Only issue I had was the toilet was too close to the shower wall, bit of a squeeze if you are a around 6ft I'd guess.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear FinnianOD,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

For just one night the hotel was ok. You get what you expect for a room that is less than 100 €. However, i expecteded the hotel to be closer to the city center. From a hotel with the word city center in its name i expect something different. To walk to temple bar it took me nearly 25 min! At least there is a bus stop right in front of the house which was ok. The room was clean but very small and it had a stong smell of an air refreshener spray, which was way too intense.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Saendu24,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having stayed in many travelodges in the past we thought we would stay safe and book this travelodge, we stayed for two nights and paid a reasonable amount, the size of the room was impressive with two single beds next to each other bedside tables a desk wardrobe and bathroom, the bed linen was disgustingly dirty I found numerous hairs on mine, bits of dirt my sister had a yellow stain on her sheet, the carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in months, the ceiling had dead flies on!!! The room was very noisy at night with traffic and people, the Hotel is not very central and takes a good half hour walk to get into the centre the bus is 2 euros but a taxi back will cost around 10 euros! I would not stay here again I would rather pay extra to stay in a room that is clean and closer to the city centre nobody wants to sleep on dirty bed sheets no matter the price of the room!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Kikiannie

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were staying for just one night ready to go to the airport the following day.
Mixed feelings about our stay at this Travelodge, it was neither good nor bad, it was just OK and as the title says, it was OK for just one night.

The check-in was quite stressful as we had to park out on the busy road and then go in to reception to obtain an electronic key to gain entry to the secure parking which apparently we should have pre-booked but luckily there was a space. Parking cost €6 per night.

The member of staff on check-in was not at all friendly or welcoming but did answer any questions we had with regard to buses into the city centre etc as the Travelodge is situated about a ½ hour walk from the city centre.

The room was the smallest we've ever seen at a Travelodge and we've been to quite a few. There was only enough just enough room for a double bed which could only be accessed from one side. No bath just a shower, a rather large TV took up most of the room on the dressing table/desk. Kettle and tea/coffee were provided and the room was clean but our room faced a side street which was quite noisy and the nearby clock tower chimes kept us awake - every 15 mins throughout the night! The bed was very uncomfortable and lopsided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear ThePurpleScorpion,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements or refurbishment efforts which may be required at this hotel.

We do hope that all of our customers get a good night sleep when staying with us. Due to the central location, some noise might be heard, however we will try to tell our customers by putting details on our website. We also try to reduce the noise from outside the hotel by having double glazing and insulated walls.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution that will hopefully benefit yourself and our future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stopped for one night and didn’t have any problems.
The reception were friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and surprisingly large as was the bathroom.
They had parking which at 6 Euro I thought very reasonable.
Only a 30min walk to the centre with pubs, shops and cafes on the way.

Room Tip: The corner room 116 was very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi Simon A,

Thank you for your very kind review on our property.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines

Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin City Centre Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin City Centre Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Dublin City Centre Rathmines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.