We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ardmore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Cork
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a fine hotel if you need to be in the area. The rooms are basic but are a decent size with a comfortable bed and are well maintained and clean. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is good. Underground parking and wifi are both free. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am happy to hear that on your stay with us you found that we exceeded your expectations. I hope that you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    227
    70
    23
    15
See reviews for
60
190
37
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had the afters of a funeral here in mid December. The hotel was busy but it did not impact on the service we received. This was second to none. The staff here is terrific. They are all very pleasant and could not do enough for us all. They went out of their way to ensure all our guests were accommodated, even the fussy ones who wanted peppermint tea. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was hot, tasty and plentiful. Can highly recommend the Ardmore.
A friend stayed at the hotel the night before the funeral. Her room was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable and again she commented on how nice the employees were.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and your experience at the funeral which you attended. Also for passing on the comments that your friend made about the overnight stay. I hope that when you visit us next time that it will be for a happier occasion.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Wanted to stay just outside Dublin and found this hotel, only €55 for a double room, no breakfast, very clean, everything you'd need. Nice bar, candles on tables, friendly staff. Great FREE underground parking.

Room Tip: Ask fir better pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the free parking, the room and the cleanliness of the hotel.
I hope that you will return to us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ringgold PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ardmore Hotel in the Finglas section of Dublin is every traveler's dream: location, convenience, amenities, dining, pub, underground carpark, friendly helpful staff, reasonable price, modern comfortable rooms, Internet access. We started & ended our tour of Ireland at Ardmore: two days in Dublin, then by rental car to Cork, Killarney & Dingle & back to Ardmore on the M50 Motorway from Limerick for 4 more days in the Dublin area. Frequent busses into Dublin right in front of the hotel so we didn't need to drive into center city, & only a short trip to Dublin Airport. Tasty Smithwicks (Smit-ix) Ale & many others on tap @ Premier Bar where 'locals' frequent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us at the Ardmore Hotel. It is not often that people choose the Smithwicks over the Guinness, you definitely must have been speaking to our friendly local clientele if they were recommending that you drink it. As you mention the hotel is very suitable for guests travelling around Ireland as we are only minutes from the M50. I hope that you decide to return to Ireland to visit other parts and that when you do the Ardmore Hotel is once again your base.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel kept in good condition, clean spacious comfortable rooms. Free Wifi, secure free parking, good food, good bar, good prices. I have used this hotel several times now and will continue to do so. Locals seem to use the bar and it adds to the atmosphere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is very nice to hear that you stay with us on a continuous basis and that you are pleased with the hotel and Premier Bar. Thank you for taking this time to review the hotel and I hope that you continue to choose the Ardmore Hotel to stay in when you are in Dublin.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very Nice Hotel, well located not far off the M50, excellent value, friendly staff, free secure underground parking for guests, Room was nice, I can definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again.............

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ardmore Hotel for your recent business trip to Dublin. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the Ardmore Hotel again soon.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Did not spend very long in this hotel - was literally just a place to sleep, but was pleased with the choice. Clean and tidy, only problem was getting the lift to work, took three times before it accepted the room key to let us choose the floor. The noise from the street outside, despite being on the 5th floor, was quite detrimental to our sleep however.
Well located, the IKEA bus stops literally outside it and goes into the city centre which is very convenient. Not so great for getting to the airport the next morning - we were not running late but certainly did not have time to traverse into the city centre and then out to the airport again, so we took a taxi instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty with using your key with the elevator and that you found your room at the front of the hotel to be noisy.
As you mentioned sometimes it is just as easy to take a taxi to the Airport for our set rate of €19.00, alternatively guests can take the bus to the City Centre where they can get on the Airport Link.
I hope that you are in Dublin again soon and that you will stay at the Ardmore Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.