We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel next to stadium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Croke Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Croke Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Croke Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jones's Road, Dublin D3, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel next to stadium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over the QF weekend which was fortunately as we hadnt planned this. We ended up going for yhe Dublin game which was lots of fun! The hotel is really nice and modern, the rooms were large and clean and we got vouchers for breakfast for €10 which is worth is as there isn't that much for breakfast nearby. It's a 20min walk or so to the city which isn't too bad. During the weekend the hotel was PACKED with people havin drinks at the bar and lobby, making things a little chaotic. However the staff handled the situation very well and there was always someone to help you get served at reception. Also breakfast got very busy after 9:30am so it was lucky that we woke up early! There isn't much directly around the hotel except for the stadium which is why I scored lower on location, also it was a long weekend and with the games being on everything seemed a bit dearer than usual... Oh yes one more thing the shower didnt seem to stop the water leaking through but it wasn't so as long as you put a towel out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your most positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Croke Park Hotel.

As is the case with all businesses, the greatest advertising we can aspire to is that of word-of-mouth from satisfied customers. Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service. I can thus personally assure you that the feedback you have provided us will definitely assist my team in becoming better at what we do.

We hopefully look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    713
    144
    17
    12
See reviews for
552
1,190
123
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights while we visited Dublin. As stated by other reviewers, the area in which the hotel is situated doesn't inspire much confidence. However, once you go for a walk around it doesn't seem too bad.

The welcome we received at reception was professional and friendly, it was a great first impression. We booked the superior room, and it was just that. The room was lovely and clean and had all the facilities you would expect such as tea and coffee, toiletries and local area guides. The bed was huge and very, very comfortable. There was an ice machine down the corridor and a fridge in the room. The only flaw with the room was that the shower cubicle didn't seem to seal properly around the door and leaked water all over the floor when in use, but we managed to wedge some towels against it and seemed to help.

The view from the room wasn't the best, but that's a very minor point. The area looked questionable, but the transport facilities (cheap buses into Dublin city centre, for example) made up for it. It's not a very long walk to the city, and it's quite a pleasant one, provided you avoid the dog mess strewn canal path alongside the hotel!

Food and drink at the hotel was of fantastic quality, but that is reflected in the price. Both breakfast and dinner were very expensive. Bar food was again pricey, but you could eat in the bar instead of the restaurant, as we did once, and still feel satiated. If money is an issue, there is a lovely independent pizza place around the corner which served good portions at fantastic prices, with great service.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Dublin, but keep an eye out for offers on room prices, and book with meals included if possible. Don't be put off by the appearance of the area, we had no problems day or night.



Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

this was a return visit and it certainly did not disappoint. Had slight problem with the water in the bathroom and we were immediately transferred to another room which was even nicer than our original one. Good sized room with very comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. Had one of the nicest meals for a long time that evening in the bistro and were looked after by a very pleasant and helpful waiter called Andrew. All the food was absolutely delicious and very well presented. After a great nights sleep buffet breakfast was lovely, as were the staff who made sure everyone knew where everything was. The hotel was very busy with a number of teams staying for cricket matches but all the staff were most attentive and pleasant. We left with regret but will certainly be back again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a really nice stay. The hotel has some really nice benefits. We were upgraded and had access to the lounge with free coffee, water, fruit, biscuits, fab orange juice and even free continental breakfast till 11.30ish! There are also some books so I exchanged the one I finished for another.

In the room they had a iPhone charger with speakers so we could listen to our own music.

On the negative side there was a Gaelic footy match on Sat and as the stadium entrance is exactly opposite the hotel it was mayhem. Still I guess you expect it. We didn't watch a concert but picked this hotel because of the good feedback. The walk into the centre takes around 10-15 minutes, longer if u want to go to Trinity area. We hired the city bikes for a few Euros and that was worth it as you can explore further afield. The bike park is just around the corner, at Mountjoy square park but you need a credit card to hire them.

We also went to the local pub on both nights and it was a good crack with a great pint of Guinness. We'd stay here again. If you don't like crowds it's not for you so check for match or concert days.

Easy to get to from airport, take either the 18 or 41 to Drumcondra station. From there walk back slightly and turn right into Clonliffe Road then right at next light into jones's Rd and the hotel is on your right opposite the stadium. €2.40 fare but you must have exact change!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to record your valued comments regarding your recent stay at the Croke Park Hotel. As is the case with all businesses, the greatest advertising we can aspire to is that of word-of-mouth from satisfied customers. Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service.

Our Executive Floor is definitely a great option as guests benefit from exclusive access to the lounge where complimentary refreshments are available throughout the day. Guests can also available of a complimentary evening drink. All executive bedrooms and the Executive lounge have access to complimentary wireless Internet access and turn down service. All bedrooms are well-appointed with plasma TV screens, stereos and under floor heating in your 4-piece bathroom suite

I look forward to hopefully being able to personally welcome you back to the Croke Park Hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards
Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3

russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a large modern hotel with good-sized, comfortable rooms and excellent public areas (dining rooms, bars, open seating areas). Staff are excellent - very professional, helpful and friendly. We found the beds comfortable and the breakfast buffet delicious. Being adjacent to the stadium it's not right in the centre of things but it is possible to walk into the city if you don't mind a 20-minute+ walk. The open-topped tour bus does pick-ups, but it doesn't drop off at the hotel so it's necessary to walk from the closest stop. There's not much choice of eateries or pubs nearby but we didn't find this a problem and would happily stay a the Croke Park Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Croke Park Hotel. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and ensure they have a truly enjoyable and relaxing stay. I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay with us.

The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also a perfect, relaxing haven far enough away to guarantee a peaceful nights’ sleep away from the city revellers.

Again, I greatly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist my team in becoming better at what we do. It is my desire to retain you as a satisfied customer and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future. Please contact me personally before your next visit to the Croke Park Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of our renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Our return visit was just as comfortable as our first. The location is not in the city center, but I don't find that to be an issue. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathrooms on the executive level are extremely nice, as is the lounge. The only sign of wear is the carpeting in the hallways, don't let it put you off. The breakfast buffet was as excellent as I remembered.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your most positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Croke Park Hotel.

As is the case with all businesses, the greatest advertising we can aspire to is that of word-of-mouth from satisfied customers. Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service. I can thus personally assure you that the feedback you have provided us will definitely assist my team in becoming better at what we do.

We hopefully look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We liked this hotel. It was very comfortable and clean, and the restaurants and bar were lovely. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent, and staff was extremely helpful. It is a bit of walk into downtown, but it doable. Additionally, it is right across the street from the stadium which can be a disadvantage when there are big games in town if you are not planning to attend. It can add to traffic around the area. (our boys did attend the games though which they thoroughly enjoyed!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay with us here at The Croke Park Hotel Dublin. Our aim is to continually provide high standards of service that have become synonymous with The Croke Park Hotel.

The Croke Park Hotel, just across from the home of Gaelic sport, is a luxury Dublin hotel that aims to capture the hearts of all its guests, whichever part of the world they are from, and whatever the reason for their visit.

It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. If there is anything else I can be assistance with, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Russell


Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager
The Croke Park Hotel
Jones's Road
Dublin 3

russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Croke Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park Hotel

Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D3, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service, aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert , Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Doyle Collection, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Croke Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Croke Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.