We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Given the price I paid it was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Gate Hotel
80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Given the price I paid it was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed here for 2 nights (friday and saturday) and paid an aver. room rate of 40 € p.n. incl breakfast.

The room (no. 305 in the attic) was ok: spacious, yet not very bright, bathroom was ok as well, although the shower could have been with more pressure and a bit cleaner

Location: Location was great, very centrally located, 5-10 min walk from temple bar, trinity college and pedestrian zone.

Breakfast: was included. As the hotel currently renovates the breakfast room, I recevied a voucher for a fry up in a pub around the corner.

Noise: The hotel is surrounded by pubs (with garden areas). Therefore it was really noisy till 3 in the morning. I personally didn't mind as I didn't have to work the next day, but if you are noise sensitive you might want to look at a different hotel.

Overal: The hotel was not great, but given the price I paid I think it was ok. It slightly cheaper than a single room in a hostel, and therefore acceptable. However, I wouldn't have paid more for this hotel , as it is dated, it is noisy and rooms are not amazing. SO if you are on a budget, and you just need a central place to crush, go for it. Otherwise you might want to look at some alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    43
    8
    28
See reviews for
10
30
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from Temple Bar and central Dublin. Staff is somewhat friendly though on my first night of arrival I asked for directions for Temple Bar and was sent the wrong direction. I also recommend staying in one of the higher floors as the hotel has a bar on the main floor with music playing past 2:00 am. At least on the higher floors you won't hear any music, however the stairs leading up can be somewhat steep and dangerous. Overall not a bad place to stay, their complimentary breakfast and lounge are nice (only place with Wifi in the hotel is the lounge area)

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed in the Gate after New Year, and was welcomed warmly by the Reception staff. I stayed in one of the refurbished third floor rooms which are excellent. At present, the hotel is undergoing a refit programme, and the same high stardards will be in the second floor rooms in early spring. Breakfast was substantial as always, served quickly. I was asked if I wanted anything many times, which was nice. If you want a friendly, value for money, central hotel, this is the one for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had an unexpected stay at the Gate in March 2013, thanks to poor connections by United Airlines. Always wondered who used the in-airport tourist booking services until this trip, and ended up by the luck of the draw at the Gate Hotel for a few nights. I found the hotel to be a good value for money. Based on the room rate I was not expecting much. On arrival I noted the metal bar next door and figured I was in for a few nights of not sleeping, and the tatty decor didn't raise my expectations. However, the desk staff was friendly, the room was adequate, there was tea and a kettle, and the location is pretty good. Street noise on the second floor was noticeable but not bad, and the bar's music wasn't too loud. Breakfast wasn't too bad, eggs cooked to order, and the service was pleasant.

Downsides? The place is due for an update. While it's now a non-smoking hotel now, decades of smokers have clearly left their mark. I didn't notice til later that I'd been charged in USD, without being consulted, at a pretty bad rate - if you're coming from outside the EU be sure to check on this.

Overall, though, an entirely decent stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are, unsurprisingly subject to street noise. Higher is better to remediate bar musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It is surrounded by 3 popular bars, is across the road from the ambassador and just off O connell street. The building itself is quite old and a bit worse for wear but the rooms themselves are nice and have really comfortable beds. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was great, full irish with tea or coffee and juice. The main problem with this hotel is that, due to it's location, it can be very noisy until about 2:30am. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone looking for a quite stay but for a lively weekend it's a great spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The receptionists were friendly and welcoming, the room was basic and clean (no hairdryer as advertised but we borrowed one from a member of staff)

The Irish breakfast was eaten in Ireland but it certainly wasn't very Irish. 3 rashers of fatty bacon, a highly processed no meat content sausage, beans, a quarter of a tomato, egg cooked to order and toast that was chewy as if it has been reheated. Certainly didn't set me up for the day but it wasn't the reason why I stayed so all in all I got what I paid for. Oh and be careful if you sit near the kitchen, a member of staff swung the door open into ours.....good job the hot tea was on the other side!! It is Travelodge standards ie "you wouldn't got for luxury/romance but as a very affordable overnighter it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during the recent World Cup Qualifier. Not exaggerating i can't imagine how it could of gone anyworse. Awful from the outside and worse inside. Room was filthy dirty, no hot water available (we got a brief apology when leaving), crowds singing outside the downstairs bar until 4am meaning sleep was impossible, and to top that two rowdies were banging on the door at 3am screaming 'you have visitors!!'. All i can say for this so called hotel is it is well located. We didnt dare go to the restraunt. All and all i wouldn't reccomend it to anyone, i've stayed in hostels that are much more inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Hotel

Address: 80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gate Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.