We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location for theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel is situated just across the road from the theatre and we were able to purchase tickets for a performance as part of a package, when we were unable to get the tickets independently.

The hotel staff were very helpful indeed, it was probably the cleanest hotel I've stayed in for a long time and both breakfast and evening meals were very good indeed.

I would be happy to stay here again - possibly not in very warm weather though as there is no air conditioning at all in the hotel and we had to sleep with the balcony doors open on one of the night's we stayed - in December.

Overall, a nice, modern, clean hotel with well trained and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Adele B,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you enjoyed your experience in Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Please be assured I will pass on your lovely comments to the team here. I am sorry you found the room too warm, unfortunately we do not offer Air Conditioning in rooms but we do have the availability of portable fans on request, which is something you might consider on your return. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin on your next trip to the theatre.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    834
    287
    103
    42
See reviews for
484
671
91
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very nice hotel located beside the Grand Canal (Bord Gais Energy) Theatre and 5 mins walk from there convention centre. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Good Leisure centre with pool (one of the few hotels in the city centre with a pool).

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear fourcourt,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team here made your stay a memorable one. It is wonderful that you made use of the leisure facilities we have to offer. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed 2 nights with my 2 teenage daughters and watched the musical 'Wicked.' The hotel is a 1 minute walk away from the theatre which was so convenient. We usually stay and like Premier Inns in Uk but this hotel is definitely better than any premier Inn I have ever stayed in. The room (620) we had was very spacious and we asked for a room in a quiet location and certainly got this. The bathroom was big and clean and the beds were big and comfy. The breakfast (10 euros each) was plentiful and tasty but we can't comment on any other restaurant food as we ate out.
We visited the Christmas markets which were 10-15 mins walk away, , did some sightseeing and shopping and overall thought Dublin was lovely. The people all seemed helpful, warm and friendly. We did a lot of walking whilst we were away but if we hadn't wanted to do this then the buses and taxis were plentiful.
We had a swim whilst we were there in the 22m swimming pool and we were the only ones in at the time so this was pure luxury.

Room Tip: We were in room 620 and were delighted with it. It faced the back so there was no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Sid90,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful to hear you and your daughters enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you enjoyed Wicked. I am glad you found the team here friendly and helpful and that you were able to make use of our leisure facilities. It is always great to hear such positive feedback and that our guests enjoy what Dublin has to offer. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next venture to the theatre.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you're after a great affordable hotel in Dublin, then the Maldron is the place to stay. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very attentive without being intrusive. The cleaning staff in particular are delightful - some of the cheeriest in the world.

The breakfast was great, but you need to pick your time if you're there on the weekend as it can become very busy.

What let's this establishment down is the decor. It's very dated, but not dated enough to be retro. The TV in my room was one of the old style CRTs and the furniture and fixtures looked rather worn - very clean, but a little tired. That said, I'd definitely stay there again as all the other positives more than make up for this one flaw.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Brad A,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was attentive and friendly. I will pass on your warm comments to the team, especially to our accommodation team. You will be happy to hear we are replacing all of the older TV’s in the coming months. I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the décor and I will take this into consideration. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just stayed one night,on 21st Dec. Good deal for show, in the Bord Gais Theatre, and hotel. Check in was effordless. Rooms are good size,only complaint, no toiletries! Soap & Shower Despenser stuck to wall, hate that. Because we planned to Xmas shop next day we travelled light, so no shower cap. Little things make life easier huh! Anyway, comfy bed and clean. Also tea & coffee in room, machines in corridor with chocs and soft drinks, bit expensive, 2.65 for a water! Lovely pool area,so bring your togs!
Breakfast, was good, seemed to be loads of staff, all very attentive, and well organised. Its so handy for the theatre, just over the road. Taxies are available outside the door and a lovely bar, (The Ferryman) on the corner. As the hotel bar is one of those modern ones, not a big fan of them. All in all a lovely hotel. ENJOY!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Tammy G,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. Please be assured that I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team here. I would like to thank you for the useful feedback and it will be utilized fully. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the New Year.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent staff, rooms were well appointed. clean and of a high quality. The rates are value for money. Had a bottle of Prosecco as part of the deal as well as breakfast. Cannot complain, truely a great hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear macire,

I would like to sincerely thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I assure you I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the New Year.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The gym is excellent and the staff was extremely helpful!
The rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
The gym is very big and has lots of equipment (there's even a swimming pool)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear siivane,

Thank you for giving feedback on your recent experience at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the facilities we have on offer. Please be assured I will pass on your lovely comments to the team in the gym. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson’s Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone’s throw from the city centre.A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square metres. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.