We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, service and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Save Saved
You added Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Feeny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, service and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in the Maldron recently on a "Girls Only" weekend and have to say we were not disappointed. Staff were so helpful; nothing was any trouble from getting us a table for dinner at short notice to giving advice and directions on were we should visit or simply just booking a taxi for us, we were certainly not disappointed. The hotel itself is modern, spotless and in a great location, just a 10 to 15 minute walk to Dublin centre. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel and both were of excellent quality, again I have to praise the staff on duty in the restaurant, they just couldn't do enough for us. All in all we had a very enjoyable, relaxing break at The Maldron and will most definitely be back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    986
    804
    275
    92
    39
See reviews for
432
621
76
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for five nights while at a conference. It was an updated, conference type hotel. Rooms were basic and what you would expect at a business hotel. Wifi worked fine in the rooms. Generally quiet. The first night was poor quality sleep due to firmness of the mattress, but with several folded duvets as padding, the balance of the stay was okay.

This hotel had no dedicated concierge and it was only at slow check in periods that you could speak with someone at reception about sights, restaurants or other necessities. I appreciated the assistance I got with transportation to Newgrange, but was shocked when the front desk clerk read the credit card number and expiration date aloud in their echoing lobby. There is nothing private about conversations in their lobby. The design seems to amplify conversations and those seated on the mezzanine above, while not in visual sight, can hear conversations as well.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and consisted of buffet with cereals, pastries, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, beans, fruit, yogurt, cheese and juice. Unfortunately, all decaf coffee was instant.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant for any other meal.

This hotel is just a couple of blocks from the convention center. There are only a few restaurants in the immediate area and taxis are generally at the front door on Cardiff Lane. If in Dublin for a conference or program at the Convention Center, we would consider a stay here again, but be alert to the public nature of conversations and information shared in the lobby area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I just returned from Dublin and we stayed at the Maldron for our last night. This hotel was just average. I know 4 star can be a very broad category but I found it a bit surprising to find this would be considered 4 star. I felt it was comparable to a best western or run of the mill chain hotel you would find in the states. We did a hotwire deal so I can't complain but even at our deal price, I was disappointed. Pros- the hotel is clean, the staff is attentive, and the location is good. Cons- beds were uncomfortable, pillows flat, and not enough towels.There weren't many cons, but nothing stuck out about the place. The decor was very "meh". Reds, oranges, and fake wood colors fill this hotel. I feel like the best way to describe it would be "gets the job done". Since we were only here for one night, during which we spent almost no time at the hotel, I was not upset that we chose to stay here. I would have been disappointed if we had stayed there during our time in Dublin earlier in our trip. One of the things I love about Europe are the unique hotels you can find for a reasonable price. Even the Radisson Blue hotel we stayed in in Dublin at the beginning of our trip had much more personality. I feel that this hotel was more akin to a holiday Inn Express. If you're looking for a clean, chain hotel, the Maldron will be right up your alley. If you're looking for something with a little more personality for 250 a night like we paid, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stay in Dublin often, but had never stayed here before. We popped in early to see if we could leave our bags, but in fact a room was ready for us right away. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the road, and a side view of the Liffey. The room had a balcony which was nice; great to be able to get some air. The hote is right opposite the Board Gais theatre, so excellent if you are going there. It's a bit of a walk to town, but not enough to put you off probably 10-15 minutes to O'Connell bridge. Pearse Street & Tara Street Dart stations are not too far away, with a number of pubs and eateries in the vicinity. Breakfast was fine; nothing out of the ordinary, but everything was there, we were seated quickly and the staff were doing a fine job of clearing tables. We didn't visit either of the bars, or eat in the hotel other than breakfast. All in all a good comfortable modern hotel with easy access to the business district, conference centre, O2 etc. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked this hotel as a special birthday present for my partner who had never visited Dublin before so wanted it to be perfect! We were not disappointed. From the moment we were welcomed by Christian reception staff to seeing our room to the breakfast on offer it was all perfect. I had booked a double room but wonder if it was in fact executive as it had a big balcony which was nice for having a drink before you went out. The room itself was spacious and nice.The breakfast was fabulous buffet style hot breakfast and range of breads, croissants etc. All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We were certainly impressed by all aspects of the hotel. My partner did enjoy his first experience of Dublin especially The Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and we can't wait to get back for another visit! Good value hotel for that 'something different' experience. Well worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here one night at the end of 10 days in Ireland/Scotland where we stayed in a number of amazing hotels. While the room was clean, there was nothing to set it apart from any run of the mill large chain hotel. The decorating was very bland-it felt as if you could be in a mid-level hotel room anywhere in the states.

We booked this on a hot deal through Hotwire and once we found out the name of the hotel I tried not to be disappointed based on the reviews I saw on trip advisor, but sadly the experience left a lot to be desired. The staff was impersonal, the room was bland and overall disappointing. The two benefits of this hotel were its location in the city center and the fact that it had a 3 person room available on short notice. I would not stay here again and feel that it did not live up to its four star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Maldron Hotel as part of our Trafalagar tour during August. The hotel's amenities were very nice and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. We had the misfortune of my husband becoming very ill while there. The hotel manager, Martin, was of much help in securing medical attention for him. His efforts were outstanding in getting a physcian in short time and assisting us during this difficult time. The cooperation of the remaining staff was equally as supportive . I am grateful to Martin and the staff at the Maldron for their help and support during a difficult time. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson’s Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone’s throw from the city centre.A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square metres. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.