We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane to your Saves list
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good choice in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Rooms: large, confortable bed, free wifi. The room could have more ilumination and also the bathroom. The towels could be bigger too.
My room was in front of a noisy street and the balcony door didn't block all the noise from the street.
The breakfast has plenty of options suitable to all tastes.
It's not that close to Temple Bar area, about a 20 minutes walking, which is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Renata3012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked a stay to attend an production at the Bord Gais Theatre. Pre theatre dinner (3 course with a bottle of wine per couple) bed and breakfast deal. Very comfortable, modern hotel ideally situated beside the theatre.Both the evening meal and breakfast were very good.Could have but didn't get to use the leisure facilities. We have already booked a theatre break for the musical Wicked. All of the above plus the event tickets. Enough said.

Room Tip: Top floor balcony room quiet even on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RDaveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear RDaveC,
Thank you for taking your time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to see that you have already booked in to visit us again. Wicked looks set to be another sell out show! I look forward to welcoming you back again. Maybe next time you will have a chance to use Club Vitae.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in June for concert at aviva. Well located for town and the aviva. Nice walk to both. Rooms really decent, all mod cons and clean. Only downside was the water pressure in shower. Ate in the restaurant, breakfast very good, dinner was average with overcooked steak. Would def stay again but might venture elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 901eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear 901eire,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am pleased to see you had a good stay for your concert. I am sorry to see that your steak was not cooked to your liking, I will ensure your feedback is passed on to our Head Chef here in the hotel.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I use this hotel regularly when in Dublin on business. The staff make me feel at home and they are helpful and friendly. The restaurant produces wholesome, fresh food. Good value. The location is great for the grand canal theatre and a nice area for a walk, there are activities to watch in the canal and boats to see in the river.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseybean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear jerseybean09,
Thank you for your great feedback of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, and your loyalty. I am pleased to see that we continue to impress you here when you stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel & found it very convenient for the stadium & town. Sure it's prob a 15 min walk but it's a nice one &you get to see a bit of the city. The food was really good & staff friendly. Woke up pretty thirsty & one member of staff went two floors to get me some water which was nice. Beds were comfy. Showers clean & music available on Tv. Didn't get to use pool or gym but looked great. Parking across road when pre booked 15 euro over night. Would go back & would recommend to friends!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just home from a one night stay at the Maldron and I have to say about the excellent service we received. The staff here were very helpful, friendly and child friendly. On arrival we were greeted and had only a short 5min wait for our room to be read as we hav arrived early. The rooms were lovely. fresh and clean. We went to a show at the Board Gais Energy theatre and on return to the hotel later that evening, we received excellent attention where the children were treated with special care and attention, given complimentary colouring books and ice cream! A special word of thanks and praise the lady mangeress (?) on the night, feel terrible we did not get her name (she was quite petite, blonde hair, spoke with a local accent and had a thirteen year old brother), as her care and attention was very refreshing, taking time to speak to the kinds and made them feel so special, making our stay enjoyable and memorable! Thank you for a lovely stay, we will definitely be back x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jenni W,
Thank you for your lovely review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to see that you had an excellent stay and that you and your family were treated so well. I know the young manageress you are referring to, and I will ensure that your feedback is passed on.
Hopefully we can welcome you back again very soon for your next trip to Dublin or the theatre.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The check in staff were great, I had booked a triple room by mistake and needed a room for 2 adults and 2 children. They happily changed it for me and charged no extra as I had booked for 3 adults.

We got the tram into the main shopping area, as we had a 3 and 5 year old with us, but it is a nice easy walk too.

The bar is a little soulless and the bar staff are a little surely but service is good.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied.

great stay - i would go again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the lifts as there is an ice / vending machine there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Trazie,
Thank you for taking your time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the team took care of your requests. We hope to welcome you and your family back on your next trip to Dublin.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#11 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#57 of 171 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,667 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#40 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing