We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Frankfurt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I rarely write reviews, but we had such a great experience at this hotel. The hotel itself is very nice, with very comfortable rooms and elegant common areas. The breakfast was good, and a great value. But what really stood out was the amazing customer service provided by the friendly and helpful staff. When we arrived, my mother was given a room that was still being cleaned. A very small hitch, but the staff were totally on the ball- the manager was already calling my room before my husband even got back downstairs. They upgraded my mother's room, and called to make sure that she was comfortable. The day we left, we got word that a close family member had passed away unexpectedly. The hotel let us stay past check out in our room at no charge, which let my mother and I make phone calls in privacy- a real blessing given the circumstances. Every encounter we had with hotel staff, from managers to housekeeping, was great. I would definitely stay again, and recommend the hotel for anyone visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Frankfurt James,

Thank you for taking your time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, it is a pleasure to see you all had an enjoyable weekend with us.

I am proud to see that even though a slight issue arose with your stay, this was dealt with in a prompt and professional manner.

I will ensure that your feedback is passed on and utilised correctly.
We hope to welcome you all back very soon.

Conor O' Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    817
    278
    100
    41
See reviews for
474
656
89
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Went back to stay at Maldron, as we thought we would, since we were so impressed last time. Brought along two extra friends with the expectation of the same friendly service and high standards. Thank You! Thank You! for making our stay so cosy, comfortable, clean and convenient. This is the most convenient location for concerts and just what we were looking for - will be back again :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hello Dolores M,

Thank you for your review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and thank you for your loyalty.

I am very happy to see that both you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the friendly service and and the level of high standards you received during your stay.

I will ensure that your positive feedback is passed on to my team. I look forward to welcoming you both back again to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in the very near future.

Conor O' Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend - was booked as a treat but was disappointed.

Thought the price of the room would reflect the hotel room, facilities, service & spa but it was a let down. Price was of a 5* star but would rate it 3* nothing special.

Hotel looks much better in the photos.
Was booked as a relaxing weekend but didnt sleep well as could hear guests in the next room due to internal door. Spa was open to public, poor standards, cold showers, full of kids.

Best thing about this hotel was the location - walking distance from the Luas (tram) - 15mins from temple bar or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Once again I booked in for my weekend shopping trlp to Dublin with my two friends. From the moment we arrived the reception we received from the Manager and his staff was unbelievable. The room service was excellent, the food was first class, I will recommend this hotel to any of my friends who visit Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Annie M,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and for recommending us. I am delighted to see that you and your friends were so well looked after by the staff here. I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto the excellent team I have here in the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Conor O' Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Prior to arriving at the hotel, I emailed the hotel manager asking for a quiet (and non-adjoining) room with strong internet as I was required to conduct business the day after arriving. I arrived late (around 10 pm) and the front desk clerk really wasn't too interested in my request nor did he mention the email I had from the manager confirming a quiet room. That said, the room actually was very quiet all night. That changed the next day when, right around the time I was starting my conference call, a group of workers (not part of the hotel) began drilling through metal sheets directly beneath my window, disrupting my call and creating quite a bit of noise. I brought it to the "Junior Manager's" attention immediately and then went out for a bit. When I returned, he told me he personally investigated and found no indication of noise - more or less making me feel like a complete fool who was either imagining the noise or making it up. I shot off an email to the general manager, who then called me later that night. He explained that the original desk clerk was new and apologized profusely for my situation. His kindness made what could have been a very bad perception of the hotel into a very positive one.

The noise issue aside, the hotel facilities are terrific. The rooms are large and clean; bathrooms have great water pressure and tons of hot water; and the bed was quite comfortable. Most hotels don't have air conditioning in Dublin and they do tend to get quite hot even in the winter, so during the day I kept the window open to cool the room down for the evening. The maintenance staff were great and even brought a small fan to my room as well.

The health club facilities were very impressive. The pool was very large, heated and very well maintained, and the jacuzzi tub was a nice treat after a day of walking in Dublin. The gym was also very well equipped.

I didn't have breakfast in my package but I did have an outstanding dinner in the hotel restaurant the last night. I started with a salmon tartare and ended with a sirloin steak that was grilled to perfection. On top of it all, the wait staff couldn't have been nicer.

The location is along one of the quays and about a 15 minute walk to Temple Bar or Grafton Street. I enjoy walking so this was good excercise for me, but I was told there is a trolley nearby that is an affordable option to taxis (which cost about 6-7 euro) to Temple Bar.

I think if the front desk staff were better trained and more service focused, I would have given this hotel a five-star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Matthewfromct,

Thank you for taking your time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, it is a pleasure to see you had an enjoyable stay with us, I am proud to see that even though a slight issue arose with your stay, this was dealt with in a prompt and professional manner.

I will ensure that your feedback is passed on and utilised correctly.
We hope to see you back very soon.

Marianne McSharry,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my 3 young kids in this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was a good size with a double, single, camp bed & cot. I ended up sleeping on the camp bed & I couldn't complain about it. Cot was very clean which i find isn't the case in most hotels. Free wifi in the room was great. Loads of towels as well.

The reception staff were very nice & gave little colouring in packs to the kids she they loved.

The leisure centre was lovely, spotless clean. The kiddy pool is a little small but it was quiet when we were there so it was fine.

Bar was nice, staff weren't as friendly as the rest of the hotel but were fine. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on it.

Parking is in the theatre across the road. If you intend checking into the hotel & then driving somewhere don't use the car park as the reduced rate is only for overnight (€12) I got charged €9 for 3 hours. You're better off parking on the street up from the hotel although there aren't many spots.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and intend to return in the new year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Caoimdee,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear that you and your children enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear that my staff played a part in making your family’s stay a delight.
Do remember to check out our website for special family packages when making your next booking.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Cardiff Lane in the near future.

Conor O' Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in the Maldron for two nights in November 2012 as we were going to a concert in the Point. It's a great location for concerts there - or for a show in the Grand Canal Theatre, which is only down the street (and is over the car park that the hotel recommends using). Lots of nice restaurants on Grand Canal square too, even if you're not going to a show.

Car parking was 15 euro for 24 hours if you pre-book - but when we got to the hotel they mentioned that we could have got it for 12 if we had booked the parking through the hotel - so: lesson learned for next time!

The hotel itself is clean, bright and spacious, if a little dated. Standard breakfast buffet, served until 10 a.m., with complimentary newspaper. As we were just using the Maldron as a base for the concert and because it was a 5-minute walk from the excellent 'Luas' line tram, we didn't use the bar, restaurant or leisure facilities - so can't comment on those.

There was no issue with moving rooms though - the hotel were fine with that and gave us a room at the front (Cardiff Lane) side with a little balcony - much appreciated. Overall - no complaints, and anytime we're going to the Point or the Grand Canal Theatre, we'll be back to the Maldron.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello Dave Galway,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are perfectly located for both the Point and Grand Canal Theatre. Keep an eye on our website for our special concert and theatre packages.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Conor O' Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#25 Family Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson’s Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone’s throw from the city centre.A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square metres. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.