We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with one negative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Save Saved
You added Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 177 hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good stay with one negative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break here. Booked this hotel for the location to the O2.
Lovely, clean hotel. Food was excellent. Staff helpful and friendly. Nice, quiet room.
Only negative was when i went for a swim i was told a hat was compulsory, i have no problem with this but after paying 2.5 euros for a swim cap i found out this was not enforced, there were many swimmers without one. When i mentioned this to Leisure Centre staff i was given a filthy look - not what i expected. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    938
    753
    257
    91
    39
See reviews for
435
623
80
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel twice now and on both stays the hotel were great. The food was execellent and rooms comfortable and clean. The staff were always on hand for anything you needed. Martin was always willing to go out of the way to help make your stay that much more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hello Noel H,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us again and very happy that you enjoy the food and the level of customer service delivered each time you visit.

I will ensure that your positive feedback is passed on to my team especially Martin.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Conor O'Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a great stay at the Maldron with my husband and son for a concert at the o2, hotel was fabulous, staff friendly, beds very comfortable, breakfast had loads to chose from, short walk to o2 and luas line.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hello Iamdiva,

Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending a concert.

I will ensure your positive feedback is passed on to all the team here.
I look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future for your next family getaway

Conor O'Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great family orientated hotel. Rooms were very spacious (we had a family room which consisted of a double, single and camp bed) and clean, as was the entire hotel. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Their offers for family getaways are superb. Ours included tickets for the Dublin Bus Tour and a 30 min swimming lesson for the kids also. We can highly recommend staying Bed and Breakfast as the buffet breakfast is second to none and really set us all up for the walk into town (about 15 mins)! We used the pool and found it and the changing rooms very clean also.
Overall, we can thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson,Ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and found the accommodations to be quite adequate. Friendly staff, decent breakfast and nice little bar downstairs. Close to pubs and within 15 minutes to center of Dublin. Cabs were plentiful if you don't care to walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We three dined here last night pre-theatre. Our waiter made the meal with his easy manner, great smile and superb service. I think his name was Atid, regrettably I cannot be certain but he held sway over the dining room and appeared to be explaining restaurant standards and practices to another waiter who was shadowing him in between serving meals and taking orders. My dining companions were not aware of the shadowing but I tend to notice most details around the periphery. All was very relaxed and very discreet - a notch above what I would ordinarily expect of a 4 star hotel restaurant. Breads were delicious, freshly baked and good variety. We had duck and lamb followed by desserts. Our request to pay the bill as the desserts arrived just in case we ran out of time for the theatre was accommodated seamlessly. My mother missed the bill being paid to her chagrin and later asked him if he could provide her with the bill :) Nothing was any trouble to Atid. We were left with a pleasant glow as we strolled across the road to the Bord Gáis Energy Theatre in good time to see "Anglo, the Musical".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hello Emeralds,

Thank you for taking your time to leave such a great review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane and recommending our restaurant. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team that I have here.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Conor O' Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for two nights. arrived in the morning from the airport, letf our bags at the hotel and walked into town. Checked in fine later in the day, we had three rooms on the top floor. Rooms on the Cardiff lane side have a large verandah, rooms on the other side are larger with a double & a single bed, but no verandah, although some have a 'juliet balcony'.
The verandah rooms would be wonderful in warm weather and a drinkie !

We all found the beds comortable, the rooms warm with plenty of cupboard/drawer space. Basic tea/coffee, ironing board, large mirrors, three chairs and an old style TV.
The bathroom was quite large, modern and clean. A soap dispenser by the basin and shampoo/body wash dispenser in the bath/shower. I can't decide if I prefer separate bottles or not as usually I can't read what is what and have been known to wash my hair with body lotion. At least with the dispenser it doesn't matter, just slap it on !

Breakfast was fine, a selection of cereals, fruits, yogurt, meat, cheese, bread & croissant. The cooked breakfast was 'standard' although there was only scrambled eggs, no tomatoes or mushrooms. But more than enough to keep you going for the day.
The staff were friendly with nothing too much trouble.
Ideally situated for the Aviva stadium, theatre and convention centre, but a bit of a hike into the city centre. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#26 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson’s Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone’s throw from the city centre.A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square metres. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.