We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complimentary Breakfast..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northern Cross, Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #73 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Complimentary Breakfast..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel is good to stay ...Nice Gym ....no Complimentary Breakfast....No swimming pool..Stayed for almost 3 weeks...

In house food is good. Good Staff Behaviour.

Hotel is Cheap to stay compared to other Hilton Hotel in the City.

Room Tip: Rooms are good on Higher Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Husainbaj,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor. It's nice to know that overall you enjoyed your long stay with us and thank you for your feedback. With regards to the breakfast, please feel free to send me your reservation details so I can have a look on your rate & find out why the breakfast was not included. My e-mail address is eva.szakacs@hilton.com.
I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Eva Szakacs
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    459
    230
    81
    40
See reviews for
204
389
129
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I usually stay at a Marriott but none close to the airport and my husband had Hilton points that need to be used !!
Early December I traveled from Belfast to Dublin airport by bus arriving 6.30pm and had great difficulty in finding where to pick up the hotels shuttle bus in the dark, but as a previous reviewer has stated this is due to airports lack of signs rather than the hotels fault.
It was a busy night so the wait in the cold was rather long ! and I was rather surprised to find that instead of the hotel being on the airport perimeter we were headed back up the motorway I'd just come down !
However despite the 15- 20 min ride the drivers are very professional and friendly and will advise which shuttle to book for a return journey depending on your flight time.
The check in was fast and welcoming and they sorted out a phone query I had for international codes graciously. (there was no phone book in room.)
King bed and huge room , wonderful view 4th floor , Very pleased with the accommodation. Clean and large bathroom.
I ate in the bar as the dining room was fully booked,(the hotel appeared to be full of overseas athletes )
Fish and chips plus Guinness was excellent and plentiful. The bar manager asked if there was a problem with the meal as I had not eaten all the fish and seemed concerned and asked if he could replace with anything else despite me assuring him that the food was very good. ( I'd had a large lunch )
I had an early flight the next morning and as I was flying to USA ( you have to clear customs as well as security and this adds to the normal time you need to make your flight, allow at LEAST two and a half hours ) I hate the alarm connected to the TV as I am always worried that it won't work ! so I called down to reception for a 4.30am call
.At 4.30am exactly the call came and it was the receptionist not an automated call....very impressed ,wish the Marriott would take note!
Driver waiting to load luggage in reception and the shuttle left promptly at the advertised time
( I believe they now charge for the return journey,be aware if you are low on euros !)
All in all I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear bbduncan,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and I am delighted to read your comments. I am happy to see that overall you had a very nice experience here at the Hilton Dublin Airport and we are very much looking forward to seeing you back in the near future. Kind regards, Eva Szakacs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed on business recently. Tried it instead of Radisson at airport which is poor. This is a better than average Hilton. The hotel is a couple of miles from the terminal, but there is an efficient shuttle bus with friendly staff on both trips. 10 minute drive. Pick up point took a bit of finding adjacent to T 1, but that's due airport signage, not the Hilton

Good and spacious room, €95 for B and B with newspaper mineral water and chocs in room. Good breakfast. Comfortable bed, good bathroom

Would recommend

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Jerseyman1,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that we were thrilled with your comments. I am glad you found a great deal and everything was to your satisfaction. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Eva Szakacs
Guest Relations Manager
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

coasting along on the name recognition. The underground pay parking was hostile, you had to park the car and get out of it, in order to contact reception by intercom to open the gates to let you in. The signage down there for the hotel entrance, and then again for the exit was hard to find and poorly lit.

The superior room was large and overfurnished, but the bed looked cold and uninviting, covered as it was just with white sheets We had to snuggle under the supplied dressing gowns to feel cosy. There was only one easy chair. It took up loads of space with its footstool but there was only room for one person on it.

The bar food was lacklustre. I thought you couldn't go wrong with a Beef and Guiness pie plus cooked vegetables. The pastry was good, but the meat tough and the gravy very thin and overly greasy. The cooked vegetables were cold and crisp.

On the plus side, the bathroom and toiletries were nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Needed to crash for a few hours before early morning flight. Free shuttle van to/from the airport is a good thing. Small room is very clean, but with two twin beds makes for a very crowded space. Hotel boasts free wireless internet, but that's only if you're in the lobby or the restaurant. If you want to use WiFi in your room, it costs 5 euro. Someone will have to explain that one to me. I guess they want their lobby filled with irritated people looking at iPhones. We checked out before breakfast hours, so the kitchen prepared brown-bag breakfasts for us. Fruit and coffee and cheese and granola bars. That was a nice touch. The lack of free in-room WiFi bothers me. 3/5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

These review concerns 3 separate stays in 2012. Our observation as follows:

Our stay in November was slightly disappointing. The room we received on the fourth floor was renovated, but the mattress was lumpy and the duvet too short, one of us was sometimes partly uncovered. Our sleep wasn't as deep and restful as usual.

We noticed some other changes.

The furniture went from light to dark brown.

There were new elegant dark blue folders containing the Hotel Directory and the new In Room Dining Menu. The key cards had also different prints - instead of brown they were now also dark blue.

In our opinion that had changed for the better.

The breakfast the next morning was disappointing and not up to the high standards we were used to at this property. The smoked salmon looked as if it was over the use before date, the scrambled eggs were watery and the coffee too bitter for my taste.

We weren't exactly looking forward to our following stay.

It was a prepaid rate, and we had requested an e-standby upgrade to a Hilton Suite.


To our delight the upgrade was confirmed at check in. A late check out at 2 PM was granted without quibble.

The suite was large and located on the third floor. The colors were all kept in brown and the lightning was mellow. When entering there was a small visitor's toilet to the left and a dining area with a table and chairs to the right. At the entrance wooden floor was used. There was also a huge sofa, a big chair and a smaller one, a writing desk and large flat screen TV with international and regional channels. The credenza contained the mini bar. The living room area was carpeted.

The bed room was large with a king sized bed. This time around the mattress, pillows and duvet was fine. We slept like babies with the new Serenity Bed. There was also a writing desk, wardrobe with a safe and a large flat screen TV.

The bathroom was large with a separate bath and shower, sink, toilet and a weighing scale.

We soon realized that the door to the mini bar wouldn't open, so I called reception. Normally the mini bar lock can be released from there, but unfortunately it didn't work. Somebody from maintenance was sent. He arrived within minutes and made it work again.

We tried the Burnells Bar this time around for dinner and were pleased with the new menu. It contains a healthy section, and we choose Tia Maria, tea, hot chocolate and orange juice, the Grilled Aubergine (eggplant) with rice, ratatouille and mixed salad, penne pasta with pesto, chicken and cherry tomatoes and sticky toffee pudding. All was very delicious.

The breakfast had improved again and was back to the old high standards.

Check out was quick and to our surprise the drink we had from the mini bar wasn't charged.

Overall we had a relaxing time and were looking forward to our next stay on the Thank you rate - a bargain of 37.50 Euro / ca. 50 USD - at the end of December. Again we had an e-standby for the Family Room and the suite. We didn't expect an upgrade, because the hotel was fully booked. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Room. To our surprise it was a corner room on the fifth floor. The interior has changed a bit since the renovation, and the rooms have been reclassified.
We were happy and comfortable as in the suite, so there was a big improvement compared against our stay in November.

Other changes we noticed.

The Diamond welcome amenities have improved. On our first stay we received four bottles of (still and sparkling) water, fruits and mint chocolate. In our opinion the mint chocolate tastes awful. During our last two stays the unbranded mint chocolates were replaced with Lily O’Brien’s chocolates. Much better and very much appreciated.

The shuttle bus drivers and reception staff are still the same. The restaurant and bar staff has changed. They are much younger. There is no cocktail menu available in the bar. Asked if there were any available, we were told there were three choices. I remember two, the Cosmopolitan and Sex on The Beach. On the other side the bar offers a wide variety of liquors and beer.

The problem with the water (too hot, too cold or change in temperature while taking a shower from scalding hot to ice cold) has been nearly eliminated. There are still some minor temperature fluctuations.

Another change we don't like but grudgingly accept is the charge of 2 Euro (ca. 2.65 USD) per person from the hotel to the airport when using the shuttle bus. It is still free from Zone 14 at the airport. Children under 12 can also use the shuttle free of charge. The explanation why the surcharge was introduced on 01.01.13 is that the costs of running the shuttle are very high and to offset some of them customers have to pay. We understand this, but it's very unfortunate in our opinion.

The overall experience has improved for us, so we are going to be very happy in future to stay again more often at the Hilton Dublin Airport.

Would we stay at the Hilton Dublin Airport again? YES!

Would we recommend the Hilton Dublin Airport? YES!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very friendly staff, comfortable, safe, lovely food, excellent customer service. Close to airport, parking facilities. Only down side is you have to pay for wifi in the rooms, free in the bar and lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Address: Northern Cross, Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dublin Airport by complimentary shuttle, the Hilton Dublin Airport hotel has 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access and a ballroom for up to 350. De-stress in the gym or wind down in the newly refurbished Burnell Bar & Grill, or visit nearby Dublin attractions, just 5 kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.