We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairly typical Hilton hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northern Cross, Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €73
Ranked #72 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A fairly typical Hilton hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

coasting along on the name recognition. The underground pay parking was hostile, you had to park the car and get out of it, in order to contact reception by intercom to open the gates to let you in. The signage down there for the hotel entrance, and then again for the exit was hard to find and poorly lit.

The superior room was large and overfurnished, but the bed looked cold and uninviting, covered as it was just with white sheets We had to snuggle under the supplied dressing gowns to feel cosy. There was only one easy chair. It took up loads of space with its footstool but there was only room for one person on it.

The bar food was lacklustre. I thought you couldn't go wrong with a Beef and Guiness pie plus cooked vegetables. The pastry was good, but the meat tough and the gravy very thin and overly greasy. The cooked vegetables were cold and crisp.

On the plus side, the bathroom and toiletries were nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    409
    208
    73
    37
See reviews for
180
330
117
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Needed to crash for a few hours before early morning flight. Free shuttle van to/from the airport is a good thing. Small room is very clean, but with two twin beds makes for a very crowded space. Hotel boasts free wireless internet, but that's only if you're in the lobby or the restaurant. If you want to use WiFi in your room, it costs 5 euro. Someone will have to explain that one to me. I guess they want their lobby filled with irritated people looking at iPhones. We checked out before breakfast hours, so the kitchen prepared brown-bag breakfasts for us. Fruit and coffee and cheese and granola bars. That was a nice touch. The lack of free in-room WiFi bothers me. 3/5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

These review concerns 3 separate stays in 2012. Our observation as follows:

Our stay in November was slightly disappointing. The room we received on the fourth floor was renovated, but the mattress was lumpy and the duvet too short, one of us was sometimes partly uncovered. Our sleep wasn't as deep and restful as usual.

We noticed some other changes.

The furniture went from light to dark brown.

There were new elegant dark blue folders containing the Hotel Directory and the new In Room Dining Menu. The key cards had also different prints - instead of brown they were now also dark blue.

In our opinion that had changed for the better.

The breakfast the next morning was disappointing and not up to the high standards we were used to at this property. The smoked salmon looked as if it was over the use before date, the scrambled eggs were watery and the coffee too bitter for my taste.

We weren't exactly looking forward to our following stay.

It was a prepaid rate, and we had requested an e-standby upgrade to a Hilton Suite.


To our delight the upgrade was confirmed at check in. A late check out at 2 PM was granted without quibble.

The suite was large and located on the third floor. The colors were all kept in brown and the lightning was mellow. When entering there was a small visitor's toilet to the left and a dining area with a table and chairs to the right. At the entrance wooden floor was used. There was also a huge sofa, a big chair and a smaller one, a writing desk and large flat screen TV with international and regional channels. The credenza contained the mini bar. The living room area was carpeted.

The bed room was large with a king sized bed. This time around the mattress, pillows and duvet was fine. We slept like babies with the new Serenity Bed. There was also a writing desk, wardrobe with a safe and a large flat screen TV.

The bathroom was large with a separate bath and shower, sink, toilet and a weighing scale.

We soon realized that the door to the mini bar wouldn't open, so I called reception. Normally the mini bar lock can be released from there, but unfortunately it didn't work. Somebody from maintenance was sent. He arrived within minutes and made it work again.

We tried the Burnells Bar this time around for dinner and were pleased with the new menu. It contains a healthy section, and we choose Tia Maria, tea, hot chocolate and orange juice, the Grilled Aubergine (eggplant) with rice, ratatouille and mixed salad, penne pasta with pesto, chicken and cherry tomatoes and sticky toffee pudding. All was very delicious.

The breakfast had improved again and was back to the old high standards.

Check out was quick and to our surprise the drink we had from the mini bar wasn't charged.

Overall we had a relaxing time and were looking forward to our next stay on the Thank you rate - a bargain of 37.50 Euro / ca. 50 USD - at the end of December. Again we had an e-standby for the Family Room and the suite. We didn't expect an upgrade, because the hotel was fully booked. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Room. To our surprise it was a corner room on the fifth floor. The interior has changed a bit since the renovation, and the rooms have been reclassified.
We were happy and comfortable as in the suite, so there was a big improvement compared against our stay in November.

Other changes we noticed.

The Diamond welcome amenities have improved. On our first stay we received four bottles of (still and sparkling) water, fruits and mint chocolate. In our opinion the mint chocolate tastes awful. During our last two stays the unbranded mint chocolates were replaced with Lily O’Brien’s chocolates. Much better and very much appreciated.

The shuttle bus drivers and reception staff are still the same. The restaurant and bar staff has changed. They are much younger. There is no cocktail menu available in the bar. Asked if there were any available, we were told there were three choices. I remember two, the Cosmopolitan and Sex on The Beach. On the other side the bar offers a wide variety of liquors and beer.

The problem with the water (too hot, too cold or change in temperature while taking a shower from scalding hot to ice cold) has been nearly eliminated. There are still some minor temperature fluctuations.

Another change we don't like but grudgingly accept is the charge of 2 Euro (ca. 2.65 USD) per person from the hotel to the airport when using the shuttle bus. It is still free from Zone 14 at the airport. Children under 12 can also use the shuttle free of charge. The explanation why the surcharge was introduced on 01.01.13 is that the costs of running the shuttle are very high and to offset some of them customers have to pay. We understand this, but it's very unfortunate in our opinion.

The overall experience has improved for us, so we are going to be very happy in future to stay again more often at the Hilton Dublin Airport.

Would we stay at the Hilton Dublin Airport again? YES!

Would we recommend the Hilton Dublin Airport? YES!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very friendly staff, comfortable, safe, lovely food, excellent customer service. Close to airport, parking facilities. Only down side is you have to pay for wifi in the rooms, free in the bar and lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great hotel close to the airport and business parks. Modern, clean, friendly staff, small gym but good for a quick run or cycle. Restaurant best for breakfast but OK in a pinch for other fare. Also close to a few restaurants. Only issue is that taxis take long time getting there, call well in advance.

Room Tip: HIgher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and can't really complain as room was clean etc. however this was wasn't really the Hilton standard I expected. We extended our stay.by another night as it was such great value and close to the airport. My only advice would be that the room decor is brought in line with the standard that is synonymous with the great Hilton brand. another little quibble is the breakfast had been left out for ages, therefore it was dry! I know it was a buffet but it would save a lot of money and taste better if smaller batches were made and replenished when the need arose?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The room - large, bright and airy with plentiful desk space. There was good quality bed linen & duvet and there were tea and coffee making facilities together with the largest flat screen TV I've seen in an hotel room.
The bathroom - gleaming black and white tiles and chrome fittings, good toiletries (nice soap!), everything spotless.
The service - excellent everyone was helpful and informative - from the shuttle bus driver to reception and bar staff.
The food - Although it was incredible busy (I stayed over New Year) no small detail was missed - the expresso cup of sweetcorn salsa served with the burger, the mini jars of mustard and mayonaise and at breakfast the wide choice of conserves/marmalade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Address: Northern Cross, Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#58 Business Hotel in Dublin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#66 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dublin Airport by complimentary shuttle, the Hilton Dublin Airport hotel has 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access and a ballroom for up to 350. De-stress in the gym or wind down in the newly refurbished Burnell Bar & Grill, or visit nearby Dublin attractions, just 5 kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.