We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional business hotel-very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northern Cross, Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #76 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
geneva
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Functional business hotel-very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Special thankyou to the extremely courteous shuttle bus driver whose name escapes me.

Great value, clean and well appointed public areas and room.

Restaurant just above mediocre.
Overall friendly and welcoming.
Wi fi at €20...rip off!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    504
    257
    83
    45
See reviews for
224
425
144
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights. Hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The AC didn't work in one room but worked in another. The parking is under ground and is 5 euros a day with in-and-out privilege, there is an elevator from the garage to the main lobby. The breakfast was the best we had in Ireland. The evening meals are not good and very expensive. The hotel is a little way from the airport about 4 miles, they have a free bus service but you must book it the night before and it only goes at specific times not always convenient. There is very little to do outside the hotel unless you want to go grocery shopping or gas stations. The hotel is what it is, an airport hotel. Would stay here agian if I had an early fight but wouldn't eat lunch or dinner at this hotel. if you have a car go to Swords a small town with lots of good cheap restuarants. One tip if you take anything out of the mini bar (even to make room for something else) the hotel has an automatic way of charging your room, even when you put the items back. So check your bill.

Room Tip: There is no interesting view from this hotel so ask for a room that has AC working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarecurran, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Northking,

Thank you for taking the time to update trip advisor with your review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
I have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage manager for review.
Our complentary shuttle bus runs to Swords and Malahide every evening should you avail of this service on your return visit.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Clare Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mil Anus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I booked two rooms two times (using a total of four different rooms, on the 5th & 3rd floors) in August. One of my daughter also stayed four nights (on the 2nd floor) during August 2011. The worst problem is that the air conditioning at Hilton Dublin airport is not tuned for external temperatures above 22 degrees Celsius (71 degrees Fahrenheit), which is not exceptional during the summer in Dublin. All windows are locked and cannot be opened, so it was quite bad with no cool air availability and without the possibility of taking fresh air from the outside, at least during the night. Room temperature was always around 25 degrees, and very heavy and unpleasant. The large window area in most rooms on both street fronts facing the mall does indeed contribute to increasing the room temperature.

Having tried 5 different rooms on 3 different floors, including a suite, within a 20 days time frame this is definitely an unhandled hotel problem, not a problem related to any single room. Quite likely a bad design problem in the air conditioning system.

When the hotel manager was informed we were offered to change room because we were told that it was a Sunday and maintenance would be able to deal with the problem only on the following Monday. We refused to move, and said that we would wait until Monday for them to fix the problem (knowing that our daughters had the same problem in another room, and moving room may have not solved our problem). Needless to say that maintenance did not solve the problem on Monday, nor did they solved it on Tuesday, in both rooms.

At the customary question "How was your stay" at checkout I repeated that we had an air conditioning problem on both rooms, the lady took a note that she would pass to maintenance (again!), and seemed quite annoyed that I mentioned it.

One year ago, I had a similar experience at a Hilton in London: my assumption is that some Hiltons in the region may not have air conditioning designed to stand the usual Irish or English weather, as they fail above 20 degrees Celsius. What hurts most is the attitude of Hilton staff, that is apparently instructed to play fool about this problem, and does not even acknowledge it.

Also on the bad side, wired or wireless Internet at €20 Euros/day, was outrageously high. If you need Internet for a few days, you're much better off buying a Meteor or Three SIM data card for anything between 10-30 Euros of free Internet for a month (they work with unblocked Iphones as well). Check on the web which offer suits you best. The phone shop in the Mall just in front of the Hilton has only some voice+data SIM cards available, or better check with Meteor or Three shops at the big mall in Swords (10 min drive).

Otherwise we got good value for B&B on extended week-ends packages (this may be a seasonal offer, though), Euro 10 upgrade to a two room suite when we chose to select the upgrade online, good full English breakfast, and convenient (€5.00/night with unlimited IN/out privileges) parking. Do not forget to validate you parking ticket with the hotel desk each time you leave the parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed one night at the hotel (before an early morning flight) and found the service to be excellent - prompt airport pickup, fast but courteous check-in leading to a spotless and spacious twin room, no problems there at all. I ate a quick meal at the bar and found the food to be good and waiting staff were really frendly and efficient. The Hilton lays out coffeee if you have an early morning start (before scheduled breakfast) which I think is a nice touch. Note the shuttle bus driver was really helpful in assisting a passanger load a very bulky package onto & off the mini-bus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night. Firstly, the car park is conveniently located in the basement which means an easy transfer to the hotel in bad weather. Overnight charge was €5 which was acceptable for the peace of mind. There is also a 24-hour Tesco Express across the (busy) road which sells just about everything. Next thing to impress us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the young gentleman who checked us in. All other staff that we encountered were equally friendly. The hotel is a standard, comfortable, airport hotel and the room was fine with all the usual features including a large LCD TV with a good selection of channels. Wireless internet access in the room, however, was a complete rip-off. The minimum charge was €20 for a 24-hour period which is crazy if all you want to do is check emails, etc. Thankfully, I had a USB 3G modem for such eventualities, which only costs €3 for the same period.

We ate in the bar and found this to be acceptable (nothing special) and, again, the staff were very pleasant. There was a group there playing music which was a bit loud and with slightly painful vocals.

Back to the room and, unfortunately, this was let down by a very inefficient air conditioning system. As someone had previously mentioned, the controls took a bit of fiddling to get the desired response despite what appeared to be simple instructions on the wall. Without the aircon on, the room was unbearably hot, even though the outside temperature was quite chilly. With the aircon on, the room was only slightly cooler (still too warm) and now noisy, even at lowest fan setting! As there was no opening window, the air in the room also felt very dead. We had a very uncomfortable night. Breakfast was the usual buffet-style and we found this to be good.

We both agreed that we would give the hotel one more try as there was a lot to like about it but,if we have a similar experience with a warm room, we will unfortunately have to cross this one off our list as, quite frankly, if you can't get a good night's sleep, it doesn't matter how good everything else is.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I didnt stay here, but I had a meal and a night out with friends here recently.
The food was really bad, we had our number of people booked so they knew how many was coming, and they were an hour late serving the starters. The "homemade vegetable soup" was vegetable stock with cream in it, it was revolting, really watery and tastelss.

The waitress had to count the people on the table about 7times, and then kept getting flustered about who had ordered what, and retook our orders a few times.
when the main came, the children were served a full 15 minutes before the adults got theirs. I thought this was incredibly unprofessional.
Also, the potatoes and veg that came with the meal only came out when the meal was fully finished, and there was also no bacon in the "bacon ceasar salad"

After spending a fortune on a terrible meal, we all sat in the bar, and spent another small fortune, where when it was closing time, the bouncer was very rude to us, shouting at us to "move out now!" (my poor grandmother nearly jumped out of her skin)
Overall, it was an ordeal of a night, and I would not send my worst enemy there for a meal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Although the hotel looked very nice, the was not enough hot water for our showers, and the air conditioning never cooled off the room. We had terrible service in the restaurant, as well; the food was not good, and the service started out terrible--and only improved after we complained.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarecurran, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Missus C,

Thank you for taking the time to update the TripAdvisor with your comments on the Hilton Dublin Airport.
I was very concerned to read your feedback and see how you scored our hotel. I am truly sorry that on this occasion the standards which you had come to expect from our property had not been met. Please contact me directly at clare.curran@hilton.com with the details of your stay as I would like to investigate the source of your dissatisfaction further.


Kind regards

Clare Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Address: Northern Cross, Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#58 Business Hotel in Dublin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#63 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dublin Airport by complimentary shuttle, the Hilton Dublin Airport hotel has 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access and a ballroom for up to 350. De-stress in the gym or wind down in the newly refurbished Burnell Bar & Grill, or visit nearby Dublin attractions, just 5 kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.