We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historical Walking Tours of Dublin

Historical Walking Tours of Dublin
Trinity College front gate, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 (0)87 6889412
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$15*
and up
Ranked #16 of 285 Activities in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin's longest established walking tour business (1986). In just over 2 hours this award-winning and entertaining 'seminar on the street' conducted by history post-graduates explores the main features of Irish history—Dublin's development, the influence of the American and French Revolutions, the Potato Famine 1845-49, the 1916 Rising, the War of Independence, partition—and concludes with the Northern Ireland peace process and the rise and fall of the 'Celtic Tiger'.Cost: €12pp, €10 students/seniors
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been living in Dublin for four years and joined a guest on the tour. I wasn't expecting much as I thought I knew and saw every thing worth while in the city center. I was happily surprised. The tour was great fun and shed a lot of light on the history of Dublin. The guide was a young history major and he was as passionate and enthusiastic. I plan to take all my future guests on this tour. Highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    37
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A brilliant tour full of interesting info and Dublin humour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Really great tour, loved every second of the walk. Our tour guide, Donal Fallon was an excellent speaker who gave us a really informative history of Dublin as well as some funny anecdotes on the side. Highly recommend this tour!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“What a great way to get your bearings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We (group of 6) took this tour the afternoon that we arrived. Our guide Donal Fallon was interesting and full of all the important facts. You could tell he loved his job and it showed. I highly recommend this tour!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“2 great hours, funny and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Donal our guide for the day was very impressive in his knowledge of Dublin and Irish history. He presented a very entertaining 2.5 hour tour that will teach you a lot and help you get your bearings for the city. I would definitely recomend this for the first day in Dublin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great way to feel part of Dublin - go back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went on this 2.5 hour walking tour yesterday (Friday, Jan 4, 2013, 11 am to approximately 12:30 pm).
The cost is 12.50 euros and worth every euro.
Our guide was 'Peter', a very knowledgeable and fun guy - he will cover many centuries of Dublin's past, a tour that will thrill you each minute.

This is the second time I have taken the tour, the first time was back in 2008. The tour has changed, adding more history about the Viking settlements and a brief tour of the Temple bar area - so take the tour again!

NOTE: there are different times and days depending on the season (summer and winter)... so check with the local Irish Tourist office before making your plans.

NOTE: if you take the evening 'Literary Pub Crawl tour' , keep your ticket and receive a 20% discount for this tour (Historical walking tour).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historical Walking Tours of Dublin also viewed

 

Been to Historical Walking Tours of Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.