We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for Beacon Hospital” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beacon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Beacon to your Saves list
The Beacon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beacon Court | Sandyford Business District, Dublin 18, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Handy for Beacon Hospital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here while getting my eyes lasered in the Wellington Eye Clinic. I arrived about 10am and requested an early checkin which was not possible but the receptionist was helpful and stored my luggage. The rooms were large, well appointed. The car park was free. I had room service - an excellent green curry. Breakfast in the restaurant was really very good, not the usual pile-em-high fry up, but a quality breakfast with plenty of cooked / fruit / pastry options. Theres not a lot to do in the vicinity, but very close to Sandyford industrial areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review.
We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed all the aspects of the Hotel, especially our amazing ‘Healthy Lifestyle Breakfast’. Your great comments will be passed to our team. We are really looking forward to welcome you back in near future for another wonderful stay.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    226
    53
    28
    22
See reviews for
54
323
45
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

lovely hotel, cool and funky. The city centre is reachable by luas which is about a 7min walk. The luas takes 25min approx. A taxi tp hotel from city centre is about 20 euro. Hotel is in a good location for the dublin mountains and there are nearby supermarkets and some shops. its also about a 20min walk from the dundrum shopping centre and cinema complex. Food is good with an onsite thai restaurant and a bar food menu.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing review - it’s great to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.
We have also new offer for Valentines weekend which will include glass of prosecco on arrival, followed by an exotic 4 course set menu at our authentic Thai restaurant. You’ll also enjoy an overnight stay in a plush Contemporary Queen Room and a leisurely buffet breakfast the following morning. Complimentary parking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Got the Dine Out Stay Out package which was great. it included bed breakfast and a meal in the restaurant. Room was fabulous and spotless. Pity there is no pool but saying that I will be returning for sure. Thai meal was fab and the Mojitos even better! Decor is stunning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
we’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience amazing stay in The Beacon Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contribute to making a stay at The Beacon such a special experience, from the amazing décor to the delicious dinner and cocktails, We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Got a brilliant deal on a suite here on Booking.com. Stayed on 8th December as we were going to a Christmas party nearby.

Check-in was smooth and efficient. We were offered the option to pre-book breakfast at a cost of €12.50 each, and we're glad we did! Great value.

On arrival at the room, we were taken by the size. Quite large. The bed was a superking, set against a well lit feature wall. A leather couch/day bed sat along the floor to ceiling window. Unfortunately the couch had cigarette burns in a couple of spots.

The bathroom was large, with a huge tub and a very good shower unit in the corner. A quirk here was a solitary bathrobe. Very strange.

There was a small LCD tv mounted on the wall, however given the size of the unit (a 22" widescreen) was completely out of proportion with the room, far too small. A secondary issue was screen-burn, which was very disctracting while attempting to catch some rugby!

Other minor issues included a lack of sockets. There was one in the corner behind the vanity mirror (only discovered on the morning of departure) and one in the opposite corner alonside the couch. It meant that a charging phone was nowhere near the bed. Lastly there was a circle of damp in the ceiling.

I know all that sounds like a bit of a moan, but given the normal rate for the room, one would expect better.

It's not all bad though. The room was exceptionally comfortable, tastfully decorated and the bathroom well appointed.

Breakfast as I said, was great value. It is served as a buffet with an astounding selection of hot and cold food, artisan baked breads, cheeses, and juices/smoothies.

Service was great, staff attentive and eager to please. Don't be put off by the location, nestling as it does at the edge of an industrial estate!

Would definitely stay again.

As a footnote: A survey came by e-mail a day after checkout and I made the remarks above. To their credit, the manager responded within 24 hours to advise that he had reviewed my survey, noted its content and told me that the TV was being replace and the damp on the ceiling repaired. I was very impressed and will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mikedragon32
Thank you for your lovely comments on so many elements of the hotel. Whilst it is disappointing to note that there were also some elements which didn’t make your stay complete satisfactory. We are in process of installing new TV’s in the Hotel with IP system, which will also provide our Guests with High speed internet.
Please do let us know when you’re next staying so that we can oversee your reservation to ensure you will have enjoyable stay with us in The Beacon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is amazing! i have stayed here numberous times it is so good. the rate per night can be expensive but so worth it. the staff are lovely and very helpful. the food in the Thai restaurent is brillant food always good. Breakfast is cooked to order which is very fresh and is cooked very quickly.

The rooms are very funky and the layout is different but brill. The view generally is very good. There is large amount parking at the hotel. The hotel is on outskirts of Dublin but close to M50. The luas is within walking distance so easy access to town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It’s always lovely to read positive comments and thank you so much for the amazing feedback. We have a wonderful packages for all our Guests, one of the most popular packages is ‘Dine Out Stay Out’ which includes amazing Dinner in My Thai, overnight stay in one of our spacious queen rooms and delicious healthy lifestyle breakfast following morning. Our Crystal bar is also offering incredible cocktails. We really look forward to continuing to welcome you back in the Beacon Hotel for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

really enjoyed staying at this hotel so relaxed friendly staff and the food was amazing would recommded to anyone we will be staying here again in the future bar staff couldnt do enough for you and was so helpful and the cocktails were out of this world

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous comments, we delighted that you had a memorable stay and had an opportunity to enjoy not only the great cocktails that our mixologists create but also our Delicious Thai dinner in My Thai restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back, please let us know when you are next visiting so that we may oversee your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A groups of 8 stayed in The Beacon Hotel over Christmas as we were attending a party at the venue. The girl at reception was extremely friendly and welcoming. We had finger food in the bar which was delicious and of a higher standard to the regular finger food served at some venues.
The rooms were big with a large bathroom, amazing shower and TV.
The breakfast offered the following morning was great. There was fresh fruit, cereals, granola and hot food served.
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review.
We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed all the aspects of the Hotel, especially quirky décor and service. Your great comments will be passed to our team. We are really looking forward to welcome you back in near future for another wonderful stay.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacon

Address: Beacon Court | Sandyford Business District, Dublin 18, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#66 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.