We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Thai Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Beacon to your Saves list
The Beacon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beacon Court, Dublin 18, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“My Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Last week with couple of friend went to My Thai Restaurant in Beacon hotel. I'm not a big fan of Thai food, but after dinner I changed my opinion about Thai cosine. We been nicely greeted by waiter Vijay whom was very nice, pleasant and professional to us all night long. He helped us with the menu and wine.Thank you Vijay.
For starters I had grilled shrimp it was mouth watering most delicious starter that I have ever had. For main course I had breast of duck that was superb all I can say you have try it yourself. I finished my dinner with beautifully presented cheesecake.
Presentation of food, service and restaurant all together perfect place to enjoy good food and have great time with your friends. I would recommend My Thai Restaurant as great place to dine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Eugene S,
Thank you for your great review.
We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyable dinner in My Thai and you enjoyed all the aspects of the Hotel, especially service and food. Your great comments will be passed to our team. We are really looking forward to welcome you back in near future for another wonderful dining experience.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    202
    49
    26
    19
See reviews for
48
284
44
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I live less then a mile from this hotel and while having lunch there in early December I heard about the Dine Out Stay Out deal. We usually go out for a meal on a weekend night so I booked my wife and myself in for last Friday night and got a babysitter to look after the kids. We stayed in a very modern clean and spacious room, had a fantastic meal, a lie in on Saturday morning followed by a great breakfast....all for €140 plus the cost of an extra bottle of wine and a few beers!! That’s what it would normally cost me for a dinner out and a taxi home in Dublin city! We arrived home on Saturday afternoon very chilled and relaxed. The long journey home took 5 minutes! The staff are very attentive, the bar is very modern and the whole place is very funky.... I'll most definitely use this again. P.S the Monkfish Tempura was the best I’ve ever had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
What a great review.
We love great comments and we are very pleased that we got opportunity to make your stay such a great experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed most elements of the Hotel especially service provided during your stay, our luxury décor and delicious My Thai food, your kind comments are passed to the team. Im delighted to hear that you got opportunity to try out our amazing Dine out Stay out package and found it being a great deal. On your next visit you can try our fantastic cocktails in Crystal bar.
We are so looking forward to welcome you back for another great experience in The Beacon Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review of this hotel for a while having stayed there a number of times in the last 18 months. It is excellent value for money, with fantastic rooms, very spacious and well kept. The bar and restaurant are also both of a very high quality. I appreciate this is little out of the city but if you need somewhere to stay in this location I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
It’s lovely to know that you have become a regular guest at The Beacon and that you enjoy so many aspects of the hotel, including My Thai with its delicious Thai food menu. We also have a great bar team in Crystal Bar where they love to create new or traditional cocktails with a twist. All your kind comments are passed to our Team. We are really looking forward welcoming you back in The Beacon Hotel in near future.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a lovely funky hotel. When you enter the lobby there's a four poster bed in the centre and the centre of the bed is actually a table so you can sit with friends and have a relaxing cocktail. The hotel is a 7 min taxi ride from the Dundrum town centre.Be warned that if you fancy a late drink in the hotel that there isn't a residents bar. Another BIG warning if you are using the hotel car park. The hotel and the Beacon hospital share the same carpark and you need to ensure that if your staying at the hotel that you park in the hotel spaces as if you make a mistake and park in the hospital section you will be charged €20 for an overnight stay. The hotel can do nothing about this and you need to really ensure you are in the correct carpark space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for so detailed review,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our stylish décor of the Hotel, as well as location.
On your next visit you can try our fantastic ‘Dine out Stay Out ‘offer which includes overnight stay, healthy lifestyle breakfast and amazing dinner in MyThai. We are also offering free parking to our guests.
We are so looking forward to welcome you back for another great experience in The Beacon Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

this hotel is super when my partner and i need a break away where we can just chill out and be together!!!
the hotel is so close to the dundrum shopping centre that its a great girls retreat too!
to be honest the baths are my favourite part of the hotel, they are massive and soo deep i just adore it!!
the restaurant is UNREAL i got the soft shell crab tempura as a starter and it was homestly the best thing i have ever tasted!!!!

Room Tip: always go for the king
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Wow, what a fantastic review.
We love great comments and we are very pleased that we got opportunity to make your stay such a great experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed most elements of the Hotel especially service provided during your stay, our luxury décor, delicious My Thai food and amazing Bathtubs, your kind comments are passed to the team. On your next visit you can try our fantastic ‘Dine out Stay Out ‘offer which includes overnight stay, healthy lifestyle breakfast and amazing dinner in My Thai.
We are so looking forward to welcome you back for another great experience in The Beacon Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently stayed here on the hotels special offer package on the Leopardstown races. We got a warm welcome from Linda on reception who had our transfers ready for us as soon as we were ready. It was a great offer they were doing which included tickets for the races, transfers and B+B. We had dinner in the bar which was delicious and had us wanting more! I also love the seating areas around the reception and bar. The room was very spacious and very comfortable with a nice modern theme. I could not fault this hotel in any way, it has brilliant staff and i cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience amazing stay in The Beacon Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contribute to making a stay at The Beacon such a special experience, from the amazing décor to the delicious dinner. We are also located within short distance from the Dundrum shopping centre and Leopardstown. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on New Years Eve.we really enjoyed!we booked King delux room,which is very nice!when I saw a bathroom I was very impressed!Room was very clean.Staff was very friendly l!Reseption girl(sorry,dont remember the name)was very kind and .helpful.I would recommend for all my friends and definitely would come back!Food in the restorant was good .breakfast was excellent Full Irish breakfast,whith plenty of juice and fresh fruit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for recommending us to your friends
We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed all the aspects of the Hotel, especially quirky décor, food and service. Your great comments will be passed to our team.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed out Healthy lifestyle breakfast option which also includes fresh smoothie’s large variety of fruits and all other food you will need for healthy start of the day.
We are so looking forward to welcome you back for another wonderful stay.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacon

Address: Beacon Court, Dublin 18, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.