We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Beacon to your Saves list
The Beacon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beacon Court, Dublin 18, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Drogheda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight on Saturday 24th November and really enjoyed ourselves. Very lively atmosphere, great buzz, nice comfortable room and the staff were very friendly. Only criticism I would have was the car parking facilities very inadequate. Apart from that it is an excellent hotel. We did not eat there this time, but the restaurant looked inviting. Anyway we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We love great comments and we are very pleased that we got opportunity to make your stay such a great experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all the elements of the Hotel especially service provided during your stay, and décor of the Hotel. On your next visit you can try our fantastic ‘Dine out Stay Out ‘offer which includes overnight stay, healthy lifestyle breakfast and amazing dinner in MyThai.
We are so looking forward to welcome you back for another great experience in The Beacon Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    190
    47
    25
    17
See reviews for
46
267
42
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in the hotel on a Thursday night - got an excellent rate for a king room. The reception staff were excellent - very friendly. I had requested a smoking room when booking - was given a non-smoking room which was then immediately changed when I asked with no hassle.

The room was fantastic - large bed, fabulous lighting - the only downside for us was the small wardrobe space and I wasn't too sure about the frosted glass bathroom wall!! It took a bit of getting used to! The room was cold on arrival but we had it heated up within half an hour.

Our only major gripe we had was with the bar staff. They weren't the friendliest, it took quite a while to catch their attention when trying to order drinks, and when we returned to the hotel that night we were sitting in the bar having a drink when the lights were turned on and we were informed it was last orders. There is no residents bar! We were disappointed as it was a xmas night out for us! Otherwise the bar area is lovely - very romantic with all the voile curtains and candles!

I would highly recommend this hotel for pure value and the lovely rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear CiaraMc1975,
Thank you for your detailed review. We are very sorry that your enjoyment of the hotel was impacted by service received in the bar. it has been discussed with Bar team to ensure it will not happen again. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service at the front desk and hotel décor overall. Once again please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused
We hope you will have another opportunity to stay with us when you are next in Dublin and please contact me at that time so that we can oversee your stay.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early 2012 but didn't feel this hotel was up to the mark, we gave it another go and are happy to report that any concerns about the quality of the hotel and the food it serves where put to rest. The hotel continues to be an excellent base for shopping at Dundrum and a lively evening destination. What made it special this time was the excellent service received at reception which deserves a specific mention. Food now seems up to scratch with a good breakfast selection both hot and cold. Whole heartedly recommended and our hotel of choice in Dublin for here on.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
what a fantastic review.
We love great comments and we are very pleased that we got opportunity to make your stay such a great experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all the elements of the Hotel especially our service provided by reception during your stay, your kind comments are passed to the team.
We are so looking forward to welcome you back for another great experience in The Beacon Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Booked a deal for €70 pp to include dinner, bed & breakfast - great deal! It sounded perfect for 4 girls/ladies (!) to get away for a night without the hassle of taxis etc. The outside or setting of the hotel does nothing to give away what is inside. There is an underground car-park which is small and needs a good clean. However then you enter the hotel ... firstly the lift is cool and as for the hotel reception - I haven't seen anything like except in Miami - so hip and stylish. Staff were excellent at reception. Our rooms were on the 7th floor and this is definitley the best option as it a party-place. The rooms themselves are gorgeous. The mini bar is well stocked, beds are very comfy and the bathroom very well equiped. We ordered an ice bucket for our BYOB Prosecco and it arrived pronto. Our package included 3 course dinner. I did not expect it be full a la carte in the Thai restaurant! The food was amazing value! We had a variety of curries, prawns and delicious sea bass. 2 desserts between 4 was all we could manage. One criticism in the restaurant; we ordered house white wine (sav b) however they advised they had no house wine and recommended another sav however they would not give us any option at the same price as the house which in itself was pricey at €22. The party continued in the bar with great music and lovely bar staff.
The next morning breakfast was served until 12.30pm which was brilliant as one of my pet hates is a "breakfast bun fight" with a hangover! With late check out to 2pm it meant there was no queuing to check out and again the staff were lovely.
Would recommend for one night away and perhaps a trip to Dundrum SC via the LUAS, there is nothing in the surrounding area - just don't judge a book by its cover!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your great review.
We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us and you enjoyed all the aspects of the Hotel, especially quirky décor, food and service. Your great comments will be passed to our team. I am delighted to hear that you got opportunity to try out our ‘Dine Out Stay Out’ package and you found it being great deal, hopefully on your next visit you will get opportunity to taste our delicious cocktails in Crystal Bar. We are really looking forward to welcome you back in near future for another wonderful stay.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hotel is situated next to a hospital & in a fairly industrial area,however it is very close (5 min drive) from the Dundrum shopping centre.

We were pleasantly surprised by the interior of the hotel, it is stylish & comfortable with a very nice Thai restaurant & bar. The room was clean & large. Overall it is a nice hotel, but a little expensive given its location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for so detailed review,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our stylish décor of the Hotel .
On your next visit you can try our fantastic ‘Dine out Stay Out ‘offer which includes overnight stay, healthy lifestyle breakfast and amazing dinner in MyThai. We are also offering free parking to our guests.
We are so looking forward to welcome you back for another great experience in The Beacon Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Irelnd
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Travelled down to this hotel after reading the "great" reports about it for a birthday weekend/Christmas shopping trip. Arrived at the hotel roughly about 2pm we were able to check into the hotel straight away, as we entered the lift from the carpark and arrived at the reception area we were more than impressed.

The Room we booked was a Queen sized room but the bed turned out to be a double, this was the first problem. My boyfriend and myself decided not to complain as we were so impressed with the rest of the room. Turned on the TV to find it had a constant green tinge.. the 2nd problem.

We decided to ignore this also as we went to Dundrum town centre to make the most of our trip, this was the only good bit about the whole trip. Arrived back at the hotel to find there were 3 cars trying to find hotel parking spaces, there was one space left that was very narrow and our car just about squeezed in, the rest all tried and failed to fit. For the other people looking for spaces had to park in the Hospical carpark had to pay 2.50euro an hour. Problem number 3 there is no where near enough parking that you are not warned about on the hotel website.

Went back to the room to relax for the rest of the night to find the wifi was barely connectable, most areas only had one bar and quite often cut out completely. Gave up and climbed into bed for an early night at about 9.30pm only to hear music coming from the bar area, was loud enough to hear as we realized we were right above the bar smoking area. The music kept getting louder as we realized there were speakers outside playing the music, with the volume up full on the TV this music was still heard clearly over it.

Around 10.30pm all we could hear were drunk people shouting outside and the constant music. The outside speakers were eventually turned off around 11pm but the drunk people downstairs kept getting louder and louder, then the music made a reappearance.. not sure if it was the outside speakers or someone propped the door open but it was ridiculous.

This noise continued until we eventually cracked up, around 12pm, got dressed and headed to reception to complain as no one had answered the reception phone, as we entered the landing waiting on the lift the music was clearly heard.. it was also coming from the lift, I don't understand how this is acceptable with the bedrooms so close, not to mention the noise the lift makes when it stops at the floor your on, It was extremly loud in our room that was 3 rooms away so if we managed to sleep this would have easily woken us up. The lift arrived and the floor of it was absolutely covered in alcohol, it was disgusting.

Once the doors opened at reception we realized why no one answered the reception phone, the music was so loud no one had heard it. I felt like i was walking into a nightclub.. no where on the website does it state the reception area turns into what can only be described as a circus.

Asked the man on reception what time it ended at and his response was 1.30am. I was absolutely appalled by this, I had to shout directly into his ear for him to be able to hear me over the music.

Eventually he told us, not very politly may i add, there was a free room across the hall and if we wanted to move across, we accepted as we needed sleep. I also don't understand why we couldnt have been put in the room in the first place as it would have completly avoided this whole disaster. We were moved to a room facing the road which was alot quieter.. BUT altho the bed was bigger it was only 2 single beds pushed together, cheap way out maybe?

Finally got to sleep around 2am after the delightful drunks next door banged about like a herd of elephants. We were awoken the next morning at 8.30am by the TV of the people on the other side, just shows how ridiculously thin the walls are.

For a 4* hotel I was astounded at how they managed to get these 4 stars. Couldn't wait to check out as it completely ruined the whole weekend for us. Will NEVER be back in this hotel again.

It is a hotel after all is it not?

If you want any sleep DON'T stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay near any elevators, Don't stay in any room over looking the bar smoking area, Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Luce C,
It is always disappointing if our guests do not enjoy the hotel, I am sorry that your stay fell below expectations. I hope you will consider allowing us the opportunity to demonstrate a more accountable The Beacon experience and please contact me if you do make a future reservation – I would be very pleased to oversee your stay and hopefully meet with you to discuss any specific concerns relating to your first stay. We have taken the opportunity to write to you separately to address your concerns and we are really looking forward welcoming you back in The Beacon Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying for just one night in The Beacon in October 2012. It was a birthday treat by my partner. The moment I walked into the Executive Suite on the 6th Floor I felt relaxed and at ease.

The bath and shower were both big enough to accommodate the 2 of us and the King Size bed was very very comfortable. I really want to return to stay again!

Room Tip: Any executive room on the 6th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raja K, General Manager at The Beacon, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Paul B,
What a great review
It’s always our intention to exceed our guests’ expectations and we love to celebrate our guests’ special occasions, so your great comments really are a Treat for us.
I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel style and décor in particular; Hopefully on your next visit you will get opportunity to enjoy our delicious meals in My Thai and amazing cocktails in Crystal Bar.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional experience and please let us know when your reservation is in place so we can oversee your reservation.
Kind Regards,
Raja Kamran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacon

Address: Beacon Court, Dublin 18, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.